Ratings based on 168 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wiesbaden

Posted Sep 6, 2016 on Hotels
Very friendly hotel staff. The hotel was in a great location. It was a short 10 minute walk to the Markplatz. It also had free parking.
4 out of 5
by Colleen from Canada

Good value with a short walk to the walled city

Posted Jun 10, 2016 on Hotels
We stayed two nights at Hotel Goldenes Fass and were pleased with our stay. The room, while dated, was large and spacious and the bathroom was recently renovated and had plenty of counter space. We were delighted to see our room had a little balcony and the large outdoor terrace would have been a delight to relax on if the weather had been more cooperative. Breakfast was lovely, with prompt offerings of coffee or tea and staff working hard to keep everything filled up. We were just a short walk from one of the old city gates, in less than 10 minutes, we were inside the original city that is such a delight to explore. Overall, we felt the hotel offered good value for the money and I would recommend the hotel to anyone.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from y

Nice hotel

Posted May 7, 2016
Nice hotel that is cheaper than many of those within Rothenburg's walls
4 out of 5
by Jerome from Weeki Wachee, FL

Good Value

Posted Oct 1, 2015 on Hotels
Hotel met or exceeded all expectations
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Dubai

Great for the price

Posted Sep 24, 2015
Pros: Cleanliness, Parking, distance to city center, staff
Cons: Internet was slow
Location: Nearby was Petrol station with Subway...Rothenberg is a small city so everything is within 5 min driving.
This hotel was very spacious by German standards, compared to the hotels inside the wall (old city) it was super. Plenty of parking in rear of hotel in old city along the street is all that available.
5 out of 5
by Jesse from Grapevine Texas

Noise or no noise?

Posted Sep 16, 2015 on Hotels
Close to Old Town which was our primary destination. Only problem is that it is on a main street with lots of traffic. When the windows were closed it was very quiet but we needed some air to cool the room so it made for a question of quite night no noise or a cool night but noise. Staff was very friendly and helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Erik C.

Nice local hotel - minutes from old town

Posted Jul 28, 2015 on Orbitz
Comfortable hotel that was an easy walk from the train station and old-town Rothenburg. The staff were friendly and the breakfast buffet in the restaurant was great.
4 out of 5
by PIKYEE from hong kong

location is near train station

Posted Jun 1, 2015 on Hotels
room is large n water is hot enough for you to enjoy a hot water bath. The improvement is the reception service, if not cool, the better.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Noisy Rooms

Posted May 30, 2015 on Hotels
Rooms were on the street side rooms were hot stuffy with no A/C and noisy hotel was nice and friendly.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Excellent location and value for money

Posted Apr 27, 2015 on Hotels
Clean, comfortable and family style atmosphere. Has all you need and would expect from a decent 3 star hotel. 15 minute walk to the historic centre with sights and restaurants. Excellent value for money, can't fault anything. The restaurant was quite nice, too.