Ratings based on 703 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ecuador

The Best Hotel In Town

Posted Oct 11, 2017
Great location, great rooms, nice restaurant, beatifull decoración according to the town, great back yard. Excelent place to stay At Rothenburg.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Overrated

Posted Oct 7, 2017
I’m not sure why this is rated as the number one hotel to stay at in Rothenburg. While the lobby and hallways are kept up in vintage condition and are nice to see, the rooms are an odd eclectic mixture of eras. Bathroom fixtures appear to be from the 1970s. The shower is in a slippery bathtub with sloping sides that we found difficult to step in and out of. I did like the windows—our view was of the street. And our friends’ room had a small balcony with a beautiful view of the countryside. Beds weren’t particularly comfortable. The rooms are overpriced—another person in our group stayed less than a block away and had a nice, clean room for half the price we paid.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Hotel with character

Posted Oct 3, 2017
Pros: The old world charm and the beautiful staircase in the foyer was stunning.
Location: Everything is within walking distance- fabulous location
We loved our stay in such a charming hotel in the centre of Rothenburg. Straight across the road from the town hall in the middle of everything. We arrived by train and walked into town which only took about 15 minutes but there are taxis at the train station. Our room faced the street and was very spacious with a little sitting area. While not eating at the hotel we did have a drink at the bar which had an old world charm. The restaurant looked lovely and had we stayed another night we would have dined there. This hotel was one of our highlights in Germany.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Rothenburg gem

Posted Oct 2, 2017
Breakfast and dinners at hotel were delicious. Excellent service from all staff we encountered. Wonderfully situated central location and spacious room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 25, 2017
Good Hotel in centric location. The hotel is located in a historic building in the center of the city. Very nice!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Louisiana

Very good restaurant

Posted Sep 12, 2017
Pros: Within the old walled city-historic-
Cons: Nothing
Location: Valet parking- tricky for us to get to
A little hard for us to find but well worth the drive!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from kent coast uk

right in the middle of town

Posted Sep 11, 2017
Pros: It has a old historical look and feel yet has all the modern things you look for in a good hotel and the view from the hotel is stunning
Cons: nothing
we chose this hotel by luck we picked it from a list without knowing any thing about it.What a lucky find .Our American friends who we were travelling with were quite envious of us.It is situated in the heart of the town.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bogota, Colombia

Posted Sep 2, 2017
Excellent Customer Service, especially from Anastassia at the front desk. Memorable stay. Can't way to go back again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from newcastle on tyne

Perfect location Wonderful ambience

Posted Aug 29, 2017
Pros: Location ,staff,food and the building
Cons: Maybe room update but it was so unique as it was
Location: Couldn't be better placed in this magical town....your bang in the middle of all this town has to offer....and this town has a lot.
So glad we chose this hotel ....staff were fantastic over the 4 night stay....the breakfast was such good value and a must....we parked at P4 gallongator which is free 6pm-9pm and 5euros to leave there all day....it's about a 6 minute easy walk through this magical town to the hotel , which is lovely and old with wonderful restaurant and bar.....gorgeous views both front and back....our room was large with a large bathroom.....very clean and looked after daily......it was maybe slightly dated in furnishings and fittings but after you adjust its no problem and my wife loved its charm instantly ......I was a bit more used to modern hotel sterile look. The location is perfect for this wonderful town though......got to be one of the most beautiful places I've been.....would go back to the same hotel same room in a flash....loved it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect Location

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: WIFI
Hard to beat the location. In the center of town and everything is close. Staff is very good and helpful. Breakfast great. We were located in the annex which is still a work in progress. Updated bathroom but other areas were tired. Wifi was the biggest disappoint. It was slow to the point of unusable. Overall good and would consider it again.