Ratings based on 723 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Arizona

Close to Christmas markets

Posted Dec 12, 2017
Pros: Charm
Location: Center of everything
Could not be better, great location, great hotel, upgraded room without asking
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney, Australia

Like staying with grandma

Posted Dec 8, 2017
I say my title lovingly because as much as this does look like staying with nana (everything in our bathroom was pink!) or that uncle that hoards stuff from the Middle Ages, this is a very cool hotel. It’s showing its age in some parts, like how it takes a solid 5 minutes for the hot water to start making an appearance, but it’s charming in that way. You come to Rothenburg for the old town and here you get that but with super friendly staff (the guy who carried our bags up passed us twice in the street clearly outside his work hours and still went out of his way to say hi and ask how we were enjoying the trip) and the perfect location. Only thing I’d recommend is a shower curtain on the shower-bath. The first night we discovered that left on the hook, the shower drowns the bathroom, and from then on had to use it handheld. A shower curtain would have saved a lot of that flooding from happening.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CA USA

Charming Old World hotel

Posted Nov 26, 2017
We loved our stay at the Hotel Eisenhut! The outside looked fun, but the real surprise was inside the hotel. The decor was great and added to the ambiance. We loved it and the amenities. Everyone was courteous and very nice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rhode Island

A wonderful hotel

Posted Nov 8, 2017
Pros: Everything
Cons: I thought that it was just about perfect for my stay and can't really say that it would need any improvements to keep me from returning.
Location: A true Disneyland setting - hard to believe that the walled city is the real thing and not a movie set. Dozens of shops that sell wonderful souvenirs.
The hotel is right in the heart of the wonderful city of Rothenburg ob der Tauber. The Christmas museum and many shops are within an easy walk from the hotel. The breakfast was a real treat with many specialties that I haven't seen elsewhere.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ecuador

The Best Hotel In Town

Posted Oct 11, 2017
Great location, great rooms, nice restaurant, beatifull decoración according to the town, great back yard. Excelent place to stay At Rothenburg.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Overrated

Posted Oct 7, 2017
I’m not sure why this is rated as the number one hotel to stay at in Rothenburg. While the lobby and hallways are kept up in vintage condition and are nice to see, the rooms are an odd eclectic mixture of eras. Bathroom fixtures appear to be from the 1970s. The shower is in a slippery bathtub with sloping sides that we found difficult to step in and out of. I did like the windows—our view was of the street. And our friends’ room had a small balcony with a beautiful view of the countryside. Beds weren’t particularly comfortable. The rooms are overpriced—another person in our group stayed less than a block away and had a nice, clean room for half the price we paid.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Hotel with character

Posted Oct 3, 2017
Pros: The old world charm and the beautiful staircase in the foyer was stunning.
Location: Everything is within walking distance- fabulous location
We loved our stay in such a charming hotel in the centre of Rothenburg. Straight across the road from the town hall in the middle of everything. We arrived by train and walked into town which only took about 15 minutes but there are taxis at the train station. Our room faced the street and was very spacious with a little sitting area. While not eating at the hotel we did have a drink at the bar which had an old world charm. The restaurant looked lovely and had we stayed another night we would have dined there. This hotel was one of our highlights in Germany.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Rothenburg gem

Posted Oct 2, 2017
Breakfast and dinners at hotel were delicious. Excellent service from all staff we encountered. Wonderfully situated central location and spacious room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 25, 2017
Good Hotel in centric location. The hotel is located in a historic building in the center of the city. Very nice!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Wonderful stay in Heidelberg!

Posted Sep 16, 2017 on Hotels
Lovely updated hotel. Very friendly and helpful staff. Nice breakfast.