Ratings based on 91 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Ideal location

Posted Jun 9, 2018
Clean basic hotel in centre of Rothenburg. We had shared room for 4 adults. The room was separated into two private areas with one having a shower room with shower, toilet and sink, and the other having a toilet and bath with shower but no sink! No tea or coffee facilities in room and only paid parking available. If you’re looking for basic but clean accommodation I would give it a try. On the plus side the inclusive breakfast was delicious and the views amazing.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 2, 2018
Staff's attitude could stand to for some adjustment (front desk). Not very friendly. If you don't want us to visit your town, we won't.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 21, 2018
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location in Rothenburg

Posted Dec 9, 2017
But the breakfast was severely understaffed. Had to track down someone for coffee, and still had to wait 10 minutes after that since I had to track them down again. The buffet wasn’t kept up to the demand.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 16, 2018 by Hotel Goldener Hirsch, Hotel Management
Vielen Dank, dass wir Sie in unserem Haus begrüßen durften. Ihr Feedback ist uns sehr wichtig. Wir möchten uns aufrichtig für Ihre Wartezeit entschuldigen & hoffen sehr dies bei Ihrem nächsten Besuch zu begeistern.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Convenient 12 minute walk from train station

Posted Dec 3, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: Historic, antiques, good location
Cons: More staff are needed for the breakfast room during busy times
This is a lovely historic hotel with some comfortable, cozy public spaces. The breakfast room has beautiful views of the outer walls of Rothenburg and the valley below. It is very convenient to the Christmas markets. Everything was very nice although there were so few staff taking care of the breakfast room that items kept running out and taking time to replace. Other than that, everything was very nice and comfortable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 18, 2018 by Hotel Goldener Hirsch Rothenburg , Hotel Management
Vielen Dank, dass wir Sie in unserem Haus begrüßen durften. Ihr Feedback ist uns sehr wichtig.
1 out of 5
by Renee

BE CAREFUL NOT TO HAVE AN ACCIDENT

Posted Nov 4, 2017 on Hotels
City was amazing. But we had an accidental spill of wine in the very small room and at check out the attendant confronted us with photographs and the wine soiled towel and charged us 18 euros for the damage. Clearly the soiled towel was not valued at 10 euro Nor was the inexpensive wine glass valued at 8 euros. Accidents happen It’s part of the cost of doing business but not at this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Denver, CO

Perfect location to experience Rothenburg.

Posted Sep 21, 2017 on Orbitz
We had a huge room overlooking the hills outside of the city walls. Bathroom was in very good condition with separate shower and bath. Hotel is older, but that's okay! Free breakfast in the morning was adequate. Inexpensive overnight parking.
4 out of 5
by Amy

Short But Sweet Stay

Posted Jul 12, 2017 on Hotels
Perfectly pleasant stay - we were only there for one night. The only disappointment was that our reservation indicated a "furnished balcony" but our room did not have one and in fact was much smaller than expected. Due to our short stay and the busy front desk, I did not pursue it further. Hotels.com should check their room descriptions for future. Overall, it was a funky old place and was fun to stay in. Breakfast was lovely - great selection and of course the fantastic view from your table. I liked that you could purchase a drink or glass of wine from the front desk in the evenings, we enjoyed a little nightcap upon our return from dinner (at the fantastic Michaelangelos!).
5 out of 5
by Carlos

Posted Jul 12, 2017 on Hotels
Convenient, perfect location, good service.
4 out of 5
by Jacqueline

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 9, 2017 on Hotels