Ratings based on 129 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by Rhonda

Posted Jun 12, 2017 on Hotels
I went to get a clean washcloth and it was dirty!!!! The bathroom counters had hair on them and dirt. Very disappointed
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 16, 2017
Dear Guest, I am sorry to hear about your experience with the cleanliness of your bathroom. I will be sure to speak with my housekeeping staff to ensure these types of problems do not occur again in the future. Thank you for bringing this to my attention. Best Regards!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Avoid if possible.

Posted Jun 7, 2017
Booked for a week had to leave a few days early do to a family emergency didn't refund anything even though we didn't stay the last four days. Absolute thumbs down and on my NEVER STAY again list. Sorry but you did it to yourself.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 4, 2017 by Hydee, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, While we do apologize for not being able to refund you, we also didn't have many options available being that your stay was booked through Expedia at an Advance Purchase Rate (which is non-cancellable and non refundable) and not booked directly with the hotel. We apologized and notified you of this when you came to check out. We had also given you an huge upgrade form our cheapest room to our King Suite and no additional cost at check in and when you came to check out, we also waived the pet fee. You stated that you understood and were ok with this. Pleas accept our sincerest apologies for the saddened family emergency. We wish for the best. We would really like to have the opportunity to accommodate you again although you have stated you would not return. If you happen to change your mind please call or email us and we will be glad to accommodate you. Best Regards!
4 out of 5
by Janet

Overnight stay

Posted Jun 4, 2017 on Hotels
Clean and obviously trying to update. Bathroom tile caulk clean but in sad need of repair, tub did not drain while showering. But for a decent place to sleep and with a Denny's Restaurant next door it was good.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 16, 2017
Dear Guest, We are pleased to hear that you had an overall enjoyable stay. We will be sure to address the maintenance issues in which you have stated. Thank you for informing us of these problems We sincerely appreciate your business and the time you took to leave us a review. We hope to see you again soon. Best Regards!
5 out of 5
by William

Econo Lodge Excellent Value.

Posted May 15, 2017 on Hotels
Best under $50 room ever. Roomy, clean, big bathroom, good bed. Better than average breakfast. Convenient location close to food, shopping center. Convenient guest computer in lobby. Free internet. Coffee in lobby as well as mini-brewer in room. Downsides to consider .. no in room microwave or fridge, no elevator to second floor. Would definitely stay there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 25, 2017
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking time out of your day to leave us a review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to accommodating you again soon! Best Regards, Econo Lodge Management
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not horrible but not great either - okay

Posted May 15, 2017 on Hotels
Our stay was okay. Room was clean, beds were too soft for us. Very limited breakfast. Hallways smelled of smoke even though we were in a non-smoking area. Not a horrible experience but not all that great either, very middle of the road. Probably would not stay there again
Comment from Hotel Management
May 25, 2017
Dear Guest, Thank you for your valuable feedback. We do apologize for the smoke smell in the hallways. Unfortunately during your stay we did have one of our entrance ashtrays start smoldering and it filled most of the hotel with a horrid smoke smell. we tried to air it out and freshen the hallways as best as we could but due to safety measures we couldn't keep the outside doors open as long as we would have needed. We hope that you will give us another chance to provide you with a satisfactory stay. Best Regards, Econo Lodge Management
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice hotel for the price

Posted Apr 30, 2017
Pros: very friendly staff
Cons: showers need updating, and the bagels at breakfast bar were hard.
Location: close to highway and food
hotel was nice, food and bars close by. close to highway.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 1, 2017 by Management, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you kindly for your review. We will be sure to address the issues you had mentioned. We hope to see you again soon! Best Regards!
1 out of 5
by Angela

Don't waste your money. Better choices nesrby!

Posted Apr 29, 2017 on Hotels
This hotel is very old and outdated. The carpeting is disgusting and smells of must and mold. The assistant manager working there was kind, professional, helpful and polite. She was wonderful- it's not her fault the hotel is ancient. They decided to close the pool down for routine maintenance on Easter Sunday. The basically ruined my niece and nephews day. Then when I called in and complained - they responded that it was an urgent cleaning because of the cloudiness of the pool. Wow. Sadly the pool was cloudy for 3 days prior and they didn't care. There were several unhappy customers! Really ruined the trip plans with the kids. Afterwards, management there just lied and covered up their poor decision to shut the pool down on Easter. Sad. Obviously will never go back. Motel 6 is new and across the street. Stayed there before. It was not smelly and pool was clear. All in all- a terrible decision for me to go there.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 1, 2017
Dear Guest, Thank you for providing us with a review. We appreciate your feedback. We apologize for failing to meet your expectations. The pool water was displaying only 50 percent clarity resulting in us having no other option but to shut it down. We needed to take action immediately because we couldn't see the bottom of the pool at that clarity. In order to correct the problem, we had to add special chemicals to the pool that required us to shut the pool down and have no water circulation for up to 24 hours. Safety is of our greatest concern for our customers. When the pool is not clear and we cannot clearly see the bottom, that is a huge safety factor and we felt that we needed to take action at once to correct the issues we were having. Sundays are generally the slowest days of the week in the hotel industry which results in it making more sense to close the pool for that day of the week. We needed to correct the clarity problems and found this time best to also complete our routine pool maintenance as well since the pool was already going to be shut down. We followed proper safety procedures to keep our customers safe and were able to still offer the spa for use with out any interruptions and were able to open the pool back up right away Monday morning giving the ability to utilize the pool prior to check out at 11am. Again, we apologize for failing to meet your expectations and hope that you can understand our reasoning. We hope that you will give us another chance to accommodate you. Best Regards!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Nice unexpensive hotel.

Posted Apr 16, 2017
The staff us very helpful and friendly. The room was clean. The location is good, it's nearby a waterpark, restaurants and the hwy. The lack of an elevator is a minus. But i would definitively recommend it as a nice, cheap place ti stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 1, 2017 by Management, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. We sincerely appreciate your feedback and look forward to seeing you again! Best Regards!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 11, 2017 on Hotels
Friendly service. Condition was not good. Ceiling in bathroom had mold. Air conditioning did not work well. No towels in pool area.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 1, 2017
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. We will be sure to use your feedback in addressing the issues you stated. We hope that you will give us another chance to provide you with a superior stay the next time you are in the area. Best Regards!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Nice hotel

Posted Apr 5, 2017
Very clean room with comfortable beds, polite and helpful front desk staff, generous breakfast, and a really good price.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 6, 2017 by Management, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again soon! Best Regards!