Ratings based on 324 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wisconsin

Nice hotel.

Posted May 21, 2017
Pros: Staff; food; price; grounds.
Cons: Rooms more thoroughly cleaned. Old cheese balls on the floor; and an empty can of pringles in the ceiling light. Fire hazard to be sure.
Needed a place to stay near St. Clare's Hospital and because the waterpark is closed M-W, rates were reduced. This was great for us. Super nice staff. Great hot breakfast. Comfy beds. Beautiful grounds. Would be a fun waterpark if we needed one.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Solid place to stay in central wi.

Posted May 21, 2017
Nice place, felt like the only one staying there on Monday and Tuesday.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from wisconsin

Posted Apr 22, 2017
Very helpful staff. Clean and comfortable rooms. Awesome atmosphere! Waterpark is a blast too!
3 out of 5
by Tannor

Not as happy as in the past

Posted Feb 24, 2017 on Hotels
I've been here before once before with no problems, but I was disappointed this time. Water park bathrooms were not maintained, frequently out of toilet paper in all stalls, no paper toweling, & no soap in dispensers. They were also out of towels in the water park several times during our stay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 6, 2017
Very basic hotel with limited services. Expected more from a 4 star location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Wonderful for our boys!

Posted Jan 23, 2017
Busy weekend! Our boys who are 9 & 11 just loved the water park. We have stayed before and most likely will again 😀!
1 out of 5
by Nicholas

Terrible hotel - stay away

Posted Jan 5, 2017 on Hotels
Its a horrible location, with zero scenery - just factors and cheap, rundown malls. Grim.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 3, 2017 on Hotels
Pool was over chlorinated. We were gagging from the fumes. Housekeeping only did a fair job cleaning. Garbage and coffee cups not taken out and the floor not vacuumed. Also, due to the room configuration there's no privacy other than the tiny bathroom to change. There needs to be a wall separating the bedroom area from the bath.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ladysmith WI

Overpriced and mediocre

Posted Dec 12, 2016
At 150 a night, it wasn't anything special. Room was ok. Sound proofing was terrible both nights my wife and I awoke to the sound of slamming doors and drunks in the hall. Water park facilities was nice. Staff was friendly enough. Expect to a pay a premium for breakfast. 9.00 for the buffet per adult and 6. Per child. Location left a little to be desired as well. It's still a 10 minute drive to downtown wausau if you want to do anything.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 12, 2016 by Mikayla, Guest Relations Manager, Hotel Management
Jason, we appreciate the feedback. We are sorry you did not get a restful sleep. Our breakfast on Saturday and Sunday is a buffet. However, Monday-Friday we serve a complimentary hot breakfast. We hope you did enjoy your time at the waterpark and come visit us again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice option

Posted Dec 10, 2016
I stayed for business, so I didn't use the waterpark. Check hours of the waterpark and restaurants before you go because they seemed to have special hours/days, but that could have been seasonal. The main restaurant was not open for dinner during my stay, and the only option was the restaurant with a limited menu near the waterpark that is open Thursday through Sunday. Hotel is clean and well maintained, but after my room was "cleaned" there was still a wet washcloth in my bathroom and also a cup of coffee left out. Lighting in the bathroom (at least my room) is not good for getting ready in the morning. The room I had was a very nice size, clean and very comfortable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 12, 2016 by Mikayla, Guest Relations Manager, Hotel Management
We appreciate the feedback. Our waterpark and Smokey's Grill are open Thursday-Sunday with the exception of some holidays. We do offer a buffet at an extra cost on Saturday and Sunday mornings and complimentary hot breakfast Monday-Friday. In addition, we have Lumber Jack's Bar on site which does offer some food options. We will be following up with our housekeeping staff as your comments are concerning to us and don't follow our brand standards. We are glad you enjoyed the accommodations and were able to relax! Next time business brings you to the Wausau area we hope to be your host again!