Ratings based on 318 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 6, 2017
Very basic hotel with limited services. Expected more from a 4 star location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Wonderful for our boys!

Posted Jan 23, 2017
Busy weekend! Our boys who are 9 & 11 just loved the water park. We have stayed before and most likely will again 😀!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ladysmith WI

Overpriced and mediocre

Posted Dec 12, 2016
At 150 a night, it wasn't anything special. Room was ok. Sound proofing was terrible both nights my wife and I awoke to the sound of slamming doors and drunks in the hall. Water park facilities was nice. Staff was friendly enough. Expect to a pay a premium for breakfast. 9.00 for the buffet per adult and 6. Per child. Location left a little to be desired as well. It's still a 10 minute drive to downtown wausau if you want to do anything.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 12, 2016 by Mikayla, Guest Relations Manager, Hotel Management
Jason, we appreciate the feedback. We are sorry you did not get a restful sleep. Our breakfast on Saturday and Sunday is a buffet. However, Monday-Friday we serve a complimentary hot breakfast. We hope you did enjoy your time at the waterpark and come visit us again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice option

Posted Dec 10, 2016
I stayed for business, so I didn't use the waterpark. Check hours of the waterpark and restaurants before you go because they seemed to have special hours/days, but that could have been seasonal. The main restaurant was not open for dinner during my stay, and the only option was the restaurant with a limited menu near the waterpark that is open Thursday through Sunday. Hotel is clean and well maintained, but after my room was "cleaned" there was still a wet washcloth in my bathroom and also a cup of coffee left out. Lighting in the bathroom (at least my room) is not good for getting ready in the morning. The room I had was a very nice size, clean and very comfortable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 12, 2016 by Mikayla, Guest Relations Manager, Hotel Management
We appreciate the feedback. Our waterpark and Smokey's Grill are open Thursday-Sunday with the exception of some holidays. We do offer a buffet at an extra cost on Saturday and Sunday mornings and complimentary hot breakfast Monday-Friday. In addition, we have Lumber Jack's Bar on site which does offer some food options. We will be following up with our housekeeping staff as your comments are concerning to us and don't follow our brand standards. We are glad you enjoyed the accommodations and were able to relax! Next time business brings you to the Wausau area we hope to be your host again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 5, 2016
nice room.nice water park .kids loved it.over all we had a really good time & we definetly would stay hear again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 6, 2016 by Mikayla, Guest Relations Manager, Hotel Management
We are glad you had a great time at the waterpark and enjoyed the rooms as well! We have many different types of rooms to choose from including ones with bunk beds and lofts! We look forward to being your host again soon!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 30, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 19, 2016 on Hotels
Great place for a fun get away with kids. Water park was fun, room was comfortable. Breakfast buffet was ok.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 22, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
You are right, Grand Lodge is a great getaway with the kids! With the waterpark, arcade and Smokey's Grill they will be sure to have a fun filled day! We are glad everyone enjoyed it and we hope you come visit us many more times!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient and clean but old feel

Posted Nov 19, 2016 on Hotels
Everything is older but clean. Great for families and kids.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 22, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for the feedback. We are glad you had a good time and enjoyed our brand of service. The waterpark is a lot of fun for families and kids and we hope you come visit us again soon!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 14, 2016 on Hotels
nice waterpark, friendly staff
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 16, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for the review! We are glad you enjoyed your time at the waterpark! We hope you were able to check out the Blue Ox Arcade and Smokey's Grill as well! See you again soon!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great little get away

Posted Nov 2, 2016 on Hotels
The kids loved the water park. It was perfect for one night. The room was nice and spacious with fridge and microwave...bonus☺️
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 4, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
We are pleased to hear the young ones enjoyed their time at the waterpark! The extra space and amenities in the rooms make for an even more relaxing stay! We hope to see you for a getaway again soon!