Ratings based on 59 Verified Reviews

3.3 out of 5
39% of guests recommend
2.8 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 9, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Auckland

Ok for a bed for a night

Posted May 18, 2017 on Wotif
Pros: the hot spa
Cons: just a general clean remove cobwebs
Location: Heaps of things to do. Canopy tours
Was alright, for a bed when having a fun day out. Not a place to spend a lazy day.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Auckland

Definitely not a 4 star as they advertise

Posted Apr 24, 2017 on Wotif
When you pay peanuts you can't expect diamonds. It was ok but wouldn't choose the hotel again. We had no other choice hence stayed. Is in need of a major revamp. And cleaners could do a better job. Bonus was the wifi ... was excellent.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Queenstown, NZ

Only benefit to this lodge is it is close to town.

Posted Apr 19, 2017
Pros: Nothing.
Cons: Everything should be improved. The whole lot.
Location: Close to town so that was good.
The staff were terribly disorganised. Had no idea what was going on. The reception area was filthy and full of the staff cooking their dinner. Parking was limited and loud cars drove up and down outside our room all night. The room stunk and was musty. Bed, couch and everything was tattered and worn. It was like the conditions of a run down hostel. I would not advertise this on your website.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 13, 2017 on Lastminute
Found it hard to communicate with receptionist as he does not speak very good English, apart from language barrier my stay was pleasant.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 4, 2017 on Wotif
Average rooms. Tidy but not that clean. very narrow drive with awkward parking. Had good room upstairs and staff were friendly but place need a major revamp I guess that's why it's fairly cheap to stay there. Smoking in courtyard outside so the smell goes through unit.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NZ

Was a nice motel 20 years ago

Posted Feb 24, 2017 on Wotif
Pros: It's location was ideal, price was good and it was quiet.
Cons: The complex is very tired but this I could have accepted, what really disappointed me was the standard of the house keeping.
Location: Did not use as was on family business.
Being on my own and with a last minute decision to go to Rotorua for family reasons I used your website to get a reasonably priced motel. Price was good but oh dear it did not live up to the images portrayed on your site. Was pleased to move on.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Good size units for good price

Posted Dec 8, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: The bed and linen, and quiet
Cons: cleanliness
Location: about 20 minutes walk from centre of town, right near a bus stop
The unit was a nice size, the bed was very comfortable and the location was nice and quiet. There was an extra bedroom upstairs as well, so in total 2 big beds and a sofa bed. The shower and bathroom in general were quite grotty, with lots of dust and mould - not what I expected for a place with 4 stars on the sign out front. No floor towel or wash cloths were provided, but the hand and bath towels were nice and thick.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very tired

Posted Oct 24, 2016 on Wotif
All very tired and grotty. Tap on spa pool held together with sellotape and jets broken. Gas heated water in a thermal resort! Comfy bed the only positive
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 10, 2016 on Wotif
Location: n/a
Unfortunately many of ht light switches didn't work, the spa was littered with dirt and petals. Not very attractive when all you want to do is relax. The room was fine. Nothing fancy but served its purpose. Other than receiving the key from the reception, I dealt with the staff via text. Not terribly personable but friendly none the less.