Ratings based on 64 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by Priscilla Patrick from New Zealand

Best Backpackers in Rotorua, NZ

Posted May 25, 2017 on Hotels
By far..this is the best hostel n chain of hostels in New Zealand. I highly recommend the one in rotorua.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Warsaw Poland

Not bad if u are a party animal ;)

Posted Aug 27, 2016 on CheapTickets
Lava club next door makes it loud in most of the rooms. Location ok. Super friendly staff. In winter it's a bit cold in the rooms - heating was off and couldn't close widows properly. In summer should be fine. Outdoor pool is a big plus.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Wellington, NZ

Warm in every way, welcoming and relaxing.

Posted May 3, 2016
Pros: Great atmosphere, very welcoming.
Location: All of Rotorua's attractions, Lava Bar next door and pool outside our room.
Loved the room and the welcoming staff. Our room overlooked the pool and was very comfortable. We had a great night's sleep. Highly recommended.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 27, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient for bus terminal and town facilities.

Posted Jan 27, 2016
It would have helped to have a fan in room as it was very hot. I enjoyed having use of a pool. Adequate accommodation and helpful staff.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Noisy and dirty

Posted Dec 6, 2015 on Hotels
Situated next to a noisy bar which is open till late night. Rooms were ok with overused linens and soft beds. Bathrooms were outdated and not very clean.
5 out of 5
by robyn from New Zealand - Bay of Islands

Posted Feb 24, 2015 on Wotif
Pros: Location and reception girl/staff on arrival, really friendly and welcoming
Cons: Night club next door , loud music all night
Facilities: Nice ;
4 out of 5
by Maureen from hamilton

the quick fix for a night in Rotorua

Posted Feb 13, 2015 on Hotels
great for a comfortable sleep, even on a top bunk shared with 7 others (unknown others) Please see to leaky or wet toilet floor area in the girls room though then the Sanctury of this room would get a top rating from me.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Forest

Valuable to stay

Posted Jan 20, 2015 on HotelClub
It's good for value. But, if you are a young man or girl, this will suit you more as the bar is too close and lots of young people sing and yelling all night.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Alberta, Canada

Large room in a nice location

Posted Jan 19, 2015
Pros: Size of room, location, kitchenette, and the fact that it was ground floor
Cons: Cleaning and noise level in the evening
Location: Very nice park with Thermal pools and areas to look at right across the street.
I booked a private double room with ensuite for four nights and was happy with the large size of the room. There were actually two beds, kitchenette, and TV on the ground floor. I felt that the room could have been cleaner. There were quite a few spider webs in the bathroom ceilings and corners that looked like they'd been there for a while, sand on the bathroom counter and an old tooth brush in the shower. The bedding also had a bit of a funky smell. Everything was fairly dated and older, but mostly functional.