Ratings based on 177 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
69% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from gisborne

Nice motel close to everything we we're doing

Posted Jul 13, 2017
Enjoyed our stay, the spa bath was lovely, bed was comfortable. The only little problem I had was the noise of the traffic
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 7, 2017
Not bad Spa pool is very private with fresh air But the bed is a bit too soft
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tauranga

It's ok.... but not great

Posted Apr 30, 2017 on Wotif
Staff were friendly enough. Room was ok - clean, warm, good heating, comfy bed, spa works well. Nothing particularly great, considering the price, even on special it was a similar price to some of the flasher motels up the road.
5 out of 5
by Jeremy

Posted Mar 20, 2017 on Hotels
Great place, loved the bubble bath out in our private courtyard. Great price for an affordable family weekend away. Would have liked a in-ground pool for the kids, but just getting picky.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Auckland

Nice basic motel room with own Spa

Posted Mar 9, 2017 on Wotif
Pros: Own spa and away from the noise of the main st.
Cons: Maybe milk could be left in fridge instead of giving it to us in a milk jug.
Location: Sala St, so at Southern end of Rotorua, good if travelling south as no need to go thru town on way out.
We came in late , about 7pm so only wanted a bed for the night. Left again at 6am. Basic studio room, away from the main Fenton St, so nice and quiet. If we had time we may have used the spa which is at your back door and is private.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great for the money

Posted Feb 16, 2017
Pros: Simple and had all the cooking equipment we needed to prepare a steak and salad meal for 5.
Cons: The mattress - it was pink and cheap with no cover so I assume that they replace them with more cheap ones. They should be better and have protector.
Location: Hot Springs, Nature walks. Maori Living Village at Whakawerawera.
It was easy and travelling with 3 kids, it needs to be. The amenities were basic but fine except the mattress....could have been better.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from tauranga, nz

Nice spa

Posted Jan 23, 2017 on Wotif
Close to the redwoods and town. Nice giant spa bath in the back of the room
4 out of 5
by louie

clean rooms.

Posted Jan 14, 2017 on Hotels
Room was clean Bed was alright. Pillows were flat and hard. Went out and purchased my own. Spa was nice. Parking was good. TV selection of channels was poor. Amenities such as tea, coffee was excellent. No Air conditioner in room. Storage of clothes inadequate. Staff was nice. Really liked the spa. I would stay here again. But the rooms could use a makeover.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Auckland

Nice tidy unit.

Posted Jan 2, 2017
Pros: Situated in a quiet street.
Cons: Change the shower curtain for a shower door so water does not go all over the bathroom.
Location: Besides all the obvious Rotorua activities, the surprise was a rose garden in the side street.
Stayed in the Two bedroom unit. It was comfortable and tidy with a single garage. The owners obviously take pride in the place.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing.

Posted Dec 11, 2016
Pros: The free Wi-Fi and free parking were ideal.
Cons: More attentive staff. Cleaner & fully-functioning rooms. Also, perhaps a complimentary guide to whats around the area (Restaurants, Activities etc)
Location: It was about a 15min drive from all main activities (Canopy Tours, Rainbow Springs and Skyline Luge) and a 2min drive from Te Puia.
A friend and I stayed at Birchwood Spa Motel for 3 nights whilst we toured Rotorua. We were excited to stay here as it suggested Spa facilities and looked from online photographs to be a well-kept and well-equipped Motel. But, upon arrival we were greeted by a sparse and run down room. A double bed as promised had numerous stains, an ironing board which was broken, a mouldy kettle, lack of kitchen facilities and utensils, and a broken fridge that froze anything inside. On top of this the motel staff and their services were pretty non-existent. The office was always shut when we needed help, and our room cleaning services never happened...we were given a new bin bag and towels one morning and asked to do it ourselves. Overall, a pretty disappointing stay.