Ratings based on 53 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hamilton

Beautiful B&B

Posted Sep 7, 2016
Pros: We got a lot for our money spent. Very good price
Had a wonderful stay at City Lights Boutique Lodge Really nice place not too far from all the attractions Hope to be able to go back with friends
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 20, 2016 by Angie, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay and wish to return. Hopefully you will be able to stay longer next time and make the most of the wonderful attractions that Rotorua has to offer.
5 out of 5
by Jeff

Great Homestay in Rotorua.

Posted Jul 24, 2016 on Hotels
Great stay at City lights with wonderful hosts that prepare a great breakfast for you. Great views of the city from the house and cute alpacas in the backyard.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 7, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We are happy that you enjoyed our breakfast and the views, especially the alpacas. We hope to see you again one day.
5 out of 5
by Joy from Warsaw, Poland

Fab city getaway!

Posted May 8, 2016 on Hotels
After a long day of driving and sightseeing, City Lights was like a relaxing oasis for us. In fact, we bought groceries in town and took advantage of the outdoor grill to cook our own dinner. Local NZ wine, cheese and steaks plus the lovely views - what's not to enjoy! After dinner, we enjoyed relaxing a bit more in the hot tub! Thanks to our lovely hosts for a great night! Angie was sweet enough to turn on the heater to warm up our cozy room before our arrival and made us fresh museli in the morning. And we got to meet the friendly alpacas. So cute! All in all a great place to stay during your NZ adventures.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 19, 2016 by Angie, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We are happy that you enjoyed a relaxing stay with us. Even though it was only one night you really made the most of your stay, which is what we like guests to do. It was great meeting you both and we hope you come back & stay longer the next time you are in NZ.
5 out of 5
by tristan from Zürich

Sensationelle Lage mit Blick über Rotorua

Posted Apr 30, 2016 on Hotels
ein richtihes Bijou
Comment from Hotel Management
May 19, 2016 by Angie, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We hope that you enjoyed your stay with us.
5 out of 5
by Steven from Charlotte

Extremely clean and hosts very friendly!

Posted Nov 27, 2015 on Hotels
What a wonderful time. The hosts were very attentive. We really enjoyed meeting their pet alpacas! City Lights was extremely clean and neat but with a homey feel
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 4, 2016 by Angie, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We are very happy that you enjoyed meeting our alpacas and were happy with your stay with us. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your time in NZ too.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hamilton

Luxury in the hills

Posted Jul 14, 2015 on Wotif
Pros: Everything!!!
Cons: Nothing
Location: In the hills overlooking Rotorua.
Had a lovely stay in this gorgeous B & B. The couple that run it are just so sweet and can't do enough for you. Very comfy bed and the breakfast, superb! Highly recommended!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 4, 2015 by Angie, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us & thought the breakfast was great. We are always looking for ways to improve what we offer & value feedback.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 5, 2015 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 22, 2015 by Angie, Hotel Management
Thank you for your score.
5 out of 5
by David from New York

Hidden Gem of Rotorua

Posted May 23, 2015 on Hotels
Went above and beyond to make our stay as comfortable as possible. Hidden gem of Rotorua. Must stay!!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 22, 2015 by Angie, Hotel Management
Thank you for your lovely comments. We are glad that you were happy with your stay.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Grosse Pointe Woods, MI

The best view and very friendly owners.

Posted May 5, 2015
Pros: The service, the view, the coziness of the rooms and the communal areas, the complimentary continental breakfast, the alpacas.
Location: Plenty of volcanic parks and if you've ever seen Lord of the Rings, be sure not to miss Hobbiton! Only about an hour drive away or you can take a bus
Don't worry about the distance from town, it really isn't far and it is well worth the extra 5-10 minute drive to get there because you can get away from any sulfuric smells and the views are just stunning from up the hill. The city lights at night are beautiful to look at and the views during the day are just as grand. The caretakers of the bed and breakfast are truly a delight! They are very friendly and offer the best advice for things to do and places to eat around Rotorua. Nothing but fresh air and the feeling of privacy all around the property. This place is the perfect getaway in New Zealand. There are also some alpacas on the property that the owners will let you feed and get close to if you ask. Some rooms are very quaint but cozy. We recommend the suite as it has plenty of room, a great view, and it doesn't cost that much more than the other rooms. I was celebrating my birthday during one of the days I stayed there and when the owners found out they were so nice that they got me a card and a souvenir the next day (the day of my birthday)! I highly recommend this place if you are staying in Rotorua. I can't imagine a better place to stay. With a tasty complimentary continental breakfast every morning you can't beat it! The owners will work around your schedule. The location is just within 7-15 minutes of all the attractions in Rotorua. Don't miss out!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 1, 2015 by Angie, Hotel Management
Thank you for your lovely review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us & we enjoyed meeting you both. We also love the view & never get tired of looking at it as it changes every day depending on the weather. We hope you come back to stay again one day.
5 out of 5
by Po-Yung from Taiwan

nice accommodation

Posted Apr 10, 2015 on Hotels
僅開始經營四個月,房間設備新穎且乾淨,wifi無限使用,附早餐(有屋主自製之果果醬),所在位置有極佳的視野可俯視整個rotorua市區,屋主夫妻兩人相當親切,住宿經驗相當愉快
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 22, 2015 by Angie, Hotel Management
Thank you