Ratings based on 584 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
60% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sunny Coast Qld AUS

Good location, but old and tired hotel

Posted Jan 9, 2018
Hotel was the low end of price range, so I guess you get what you pay for. Room was clean and location to attractions good. Carpet in room was old and paint stained. TV not digital & no set top box, so only 3 channels. Balcony door rattled in the wind, rain very loud on tin roof. Counted ten buckets catching leaks in hallway after storm. Cleaners did bare minimum ie: didn't wash used cups or glasses, nor refresh complimentary coffee and sugar. Expensive breakfast & in-room services, so went out. Big hotel catering for bus loads of loud returning tourists.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Poor facilities with poor staff

Posted Dec 28, 2017
Shower too old and rusty, couldn't adjust sprinkler. They had barbeque area but the barbeque wasn't working. Dirty pool. Two of my frineds checked in on the other rooms and both aircons weren't working or cold. One has to use fan but the other one moved to a new room. Beddings were good though. I like the pillows. But one bed sheet has small stain. And one of our bed felt there were bed bugs, we had bites and had to ask to change beddings but no one came to change. Not a happy customer over all.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Auckland

Great hotel, not far from the main City complex

Posted Dec 21, 2017
Nice comfortable hotel with swimming pool, spa, nice restaurant and bar, staff very helpful and polite, room was clean as was the washroom. We would highly recommend this hotel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 19, 2017
A few blocks from CBD, plenty of parkings, nice rooms but mattress prob too soft for me didn't sleep well at all. TV didn't work, good for budget traveller.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NZ

Disappointing

Posted Dec 17, 2017
Disappointed in our stay at the hotel. The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful but the facilities were in not the greatest condition. The shower was average at best and the toilet seat was not properly fixed to the base. The room is like a sauna and we had sleep all my really noisy fan on which only seem to have to speed settings, take off speed or no existent breeze. We won't be staying there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Yorkshire, UK.

A very nice upmarket hotel.

Posted Nov 26, 2017
Pros: The restaurant food and service was excellent.
Cons: It was disappointing that Internet access was a chargeable extra, when it's included in most hotel's costs.
I stayed at the Copthorne Hotel, Rotorua, for one night while travelling in New Zealand. The room and facilities were excellent, as reflected in the overall cost - which was at the pricier end of my budget.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 30, 2017 by Amy Gong, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for your feedback. we will pay more attention on these problems.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Shower room

Posted Oct 23, 2017
Water power is too small, shower room needs to be upgraded, even can't clean hair & body
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 30, 2017 by Amy Gong, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for your feedback. we will pay more attention on these problems.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from auckland

No internet, no sky,

Posted Oct 9, 2017
Fantastic bed, terrible shower, worn carpet in halls, limited tv available, no frequent flyer credits if booked through Expedia, 3 instant coffee pkg - really?! But the worst is no free wifi or wireless in rooms
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 30, 2017 by Amy Gong, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for your feedback. we will pay more attention on these problems.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bay of Islands NZ

Beautiful beds and stunning pool!!

Posted Sep 28, 2017
We stayed here just for a night and absolutely loved it, wish we could have stayed longer!! The pool is beautiful and we went swimming in the rain and it was lovely and warm!! There is also a lovely area to sit under cover to so we could watch the kids in the pool!! The spas were lovely too!! We went swimming at night, right up until the pool closes at 10pm!! The rooms are lovely and clean and the glasses are really nice, wrapped in plastic and it's nice having real glasses to have a wine!! We had dinner in our room but we got plates etc from the restaurant so I can't remember if there were plates in the room but there were cups and spoons etc for a coffee!! The beds were lovely and warm and the rooms were really clean, I slept like a baby and didn't want to get up in the morning!! :) We will defiantly be back for longer next time!!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Napier, NZ

Dated and tired - should be retired

Posted Aug 30, 2017
Pros: Absolutely nothing - I would never go back, not even for free.
Cons: Decor, atmosphere, staff, service, maintenance, value, experience - consider yourselves the "ambassadors of first impressions"
Location: I was on business
I don't normally rate places I stay - but in this case I am compelled, simply to warn others away from it. Whatever happened to service, a smile, confidence and courtesy? If this hotel is what we present to tourists, and judging by the clientele that was present during my stay it is, we are ripping off, no extorting, not only the local Kiwi who might stumble into it but also our biggest income earner. Get rid of the dark wood interiors and get rid of the dead wood staff. Get air conditioning that works and not the sort that ROARS all night until you have to turn it off because you cannot sleep, and then because you are so cold you wake early. Get showers that work properly. Water instead of needles! Water containment so you don't have to step out of the shower into a bath on the floor - and it is dangerous. Get rid of the 2% surcharge. My credit card guarantees your payment but I have to pay for the privilege. Perhaps you would sooner have a cheque?