Ratings based on 569 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
62% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Napier, NZ

Dated and tired - should be retired

Posted Aug 30, 2017
Pros: Absolutely nothing - I would never go back, not even for free.
Cons: Decor, atmosphere, staff, service, maintenance, value, experience - consider yourselves the "ambassadors of first impressions"
Location: I was on business
I don't normally rate places I stay - but in this case I am compelled, simply to warn others away from it. Whatever happened to service, a smile, confidence and courtesy? If this hotel is what we present to tourists, and judging by the clientele that was present during my stay it is, we are ripping off, no extorting, not only the local Kiwi who might stumble into it but also our biggest income earner. Get rid of the dark wood interiors and get rid of the dead wood staff. Get air conditioning that works and not the sort that ROARS all night until you have to turn it off because you cannot sleep, and then because you are so cold you wake early. Get showers that work properly. Water instead of needles! Water containment so you don't have to step out of the shower into a bath on the floor - and it is dangerous. Get rid of the 2% surcharge. My credit card guarantees your payment but I have to pay for the privilege. Perhaps you would sooner have a cheque?
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient location

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Pros: the setting of Indigenous plants is lovely, good room amenities re tea, coffee, milk etc..
Cons: replace stained carpets, replace washbasins etc where needed, provide facial tissues in bathroom,
Location: handy to the city and to the airport, convenient over night stay.
Nice setting but carpet and other things need replacing. Seems run down.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Very Comfortable bed, clean and pleasant room.

Posted Jun 22, 2017 on Wotif
Pros: Comfortable bed
Cons: Room Door was difficult to open - needs to be replaced.
Location: 35 minutes walk to Roturua International Stadium.
Comfortable rooms, only ate at the buffett which was reasonable value for money. Staff were pleasant.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Auckland, NZ

Cosy hotel

Posted Jun 1, 2017 on Wotif
Prior, confirmed booking, lovely staff. Convenient open hours 24/7. Arrived to a cosy hotel, and room was very warm. Bedding covers don't look like the advertise photos. White covers used made room look brighter, cleaner it looks much better. (Update photos required) First time stay, but use restaurant and function room for family celebrations. Thank you Copthorne Hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Auckland, NZ

Good facilities but some facilities a little dated

Posted May 10, 2017 on Wotif
Pros: Has a fitness centre
Cons: The equipment in the fitness centre is very old and needs upgrading
Location: In town for work so just had a meal and headed away.
Only in town for one night, chose hotel for the good rate on offer and the fact they had a fitness room. The facilities in the fitness room could do with an upgrade as there are several machines looking very tired and which did not funtion quite right. Also the free weight selection is very light and could do with a fee slightly heavier options. Rood was comfortable and pleasant enough, the shower and bathroom have seen better days and could use an upgrade or refresh in some way. Otherwiser a pleasant and uneventful stay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Auckland, NZ

You can't beat a swimming pool!

Posted May 8, 2017 on Wotif
Pros: The pool was great, and the room was neat and spacious
Cons: The water pressure in the shower was abysmal. It was like trying to shower in fog/mist.
Location: The hotel is handy to all Rotorua has to offer
A nice space for a small family, and the added bonus of having a pool was great, my son is still talking about it.
1 out of 5
by Abdus Samad

not worth your money

Posted May 1, 2017 on Hotels
the hotel was dirty and untidy. the staff was not on time for duties and we had to carry our stuff to our room as there was no potter. no good service.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Auckland

Ok but not amazing

Posted Apr 30, 2017 on Wotif
You basically get what you pay for - a clean, basic room at a cheap price. Maintenance is required to the hotel, rooms and pool area as it's all looking tired and chipped/not repaired in lots of areas. Staff did their job but didn't go above and beyond.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from East Coast, NZ

All you need, hotel.

Posted Apr 30, 2017 on Wotif
Enjoyed the comfort of the hotel during our two night stay over the weekend. There were a couple of big groups checking in while I needed reception but the staff were efficient and I was never waiting long. Smooth check in and check out process. Great staff all over the hotel. Loved the heated pool and jacuzzi. Even in the pouring rain, it didn't disappoint. Standard hotel room with limited space but it has everything you need. Basic amenities but the room service and restaurant options are awesome and decently priced. 24hr reception and room service, what more can you ask for! Will definitely recommend this hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Nice inexpensive stay

Posted Apr 29, 2017
Stayed for 3 nights, our room was simple but clean and comfortable. Beds were comfortable also. The pool and spa were awesome, just needed a little maintenance but an excellent space . Used the gym, it was ok, the machines definitely need some maintenance, cables were rusty which can be dangerous. House bar was a nice area to have a quiet drink. The price was very good also, $322 for 3 nights.