Ratings based on 36 Verified Reviews

3.2 out of 5
67% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 16, 2017
Everything was pretty good,kids found a huge big stain on their sheet,staff came and gave another sheet but didn't re make the bed,however we will stay again. Cheers Warwick Taylor
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Auckland

Nice hotel not what I thought a Copthorne would be

Posted Jan 9, 2017
The room decor is very outdated (I was expecting much more up to date with the Copthorne name). The front reception area is spacious and nice. The room we had was fine, a few bits and pieces of old receipts/rubbish under beds, behind side drawers etc is why the lower rating for cleanliness. The 4 single chairs in the lounge area were OK, nothanks very comfy and considering there was only beds for 2 people I don't understand the need for 4 single chairs - one of which was broken. There was no bath mat when we first arrived and i got handed 2 cakes of soap as i walked in the room (they were cleaning the room next door). Bed was comfy. Carpet had many burn holes and was very worn. Staff on front desk were lovely and accommodating, staff in the restaurant and bar were great too (we had breakfast and dinner there). Pool was a perfect heat and the spas were lovely to have there as well. Over all, I would stay here again. Nothing horrible, just always room to grow and improve
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from G

Staff a little abrupt on arrival. no wifi!

Posted Jan 7, 2017
Not the friendliest of staff. The girl at reception seemed fes up and irritated The rooms are a great size and clean. A little noisey could hear next door walking around all night. Great position in centre.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

If you want to save money

Posted Oct 11, 2016
Location: Good, nice and close to central activities
If you want to save money but still want a nice hotel then go here. Shower was pathetic but everything else wasn't too bad!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from auckland

Posted Jul 24, 2016
Cons: As above.
Hotel needs revamping. Carpet loose at bathroom entrance. Have reported. Windows latches not closing properly.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 2, 2016
There is no aircon in any of their standard rooms which is quite standard in HOTEL nowadays.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 27, 2016
Rotorua is amazing, so much to do. The hotel had nice staff,
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Auckland

Worst hotel i have ever stayed in.

Posted Jan 4, 2016
Pros: Just nothing
Cons: everything
Aircon was not working. Bed is so old and pillows are like rocks. We could not sleep as it was hot in the room. Fans were provided however that was after making 4 complaints. I will never recommend anyone to stay in Corpthorn Rotorua.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Comfortable hotel for visiting Rotorua

Posted Nov 22, 2015
Pros: Location. Friendly staff. Good food.
Cons: Breakfast which seemed very geared to the Chinese guests.
Location: All the geothermal sites at Rotorua.
We wanted a hotel for one night so that we could visit Rotorua and this proved to be an e cel lent choice. The rooms were really comfortable, the Staff very friendly, the food was very good and the location was excellent.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

It doesn't stink here

Posted Nov 7, 2015
The staff were pretty friendly and the accommodation was great value for money. The only thing that stops me from giving this place 5/5 is the cleaner forgot to take the prior persons soaps out of the shower and I therefore was a little worried how clean the place actually was buy other than that, great place to stay!