Ratings based on 577 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
62% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Shower room

Posted Oct 23, 2017
Water power is too small, shower room needs to be upgraded, even can't clean hair & body
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from auckland

No internet, no sky,

Posted Oct 9, 2017
Fantastic bed, terrible shower, worn carpet in halls, limited tv available, no frequent flyer credits if booked through Expedia, 3 instant coffee pkg - really?! But the worst is no free wifi or wireless in rooms
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bay of Islands NZ

Beautiful beds and stunning pool!!

Posted Sep 28, 2017
We stayed here just for a night and absolutely loved it, wish we could have stayed longer!! The pool is beautiful and we went swimming in the rain and it was lovely and warm!! There is also a lovely area to sit under cover to so we could watch the kids in the pool!! The spas were lovely too!! We went swimming at night, right up until the pool closes at 10pm!! The rooms are lovely and clean and the glasses are really nice, wrapped in plastic and it's nice having real glasses to have a wine!! We had dinner in our room but we got plates etc from the restaurant so I can't remember if there were plates in the room but there were cups and spoons etc for a coffee!! The beds were lovely and warm and the rooms were really clean, I slept like a baby and didn't want to get up in the morning!! :) We will defiantly be back for longer next time!!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Napier, NZ

Dated and tired - should be retired

Posted Aug 30, 2017
Pros: Absolutely nothing - I would never go back, not even for free.
Cons: Decor, atmosphere, staff, service, maintenance, value, experience - consider yourselves the "ambassadors of first impressions"
Location: I was on business
I don't normally rate places I stay - but in this case I am compelled, simply to warn others away from it. Whatever happened to service, a smile, confidence and courtesy? If this hotel is what we present to tourists, and judging by the clientele that was present during my stay it is, we are ripping off, no extorting, not only the local Kiwi who might stumble into it but also our biggest income earner. Get rid of the dark wood interiors and get rid of the dead wood staff. Get air conditioning that works and not the sort that ROARS all night until you have to turn it off because you cannot sleep, and then because you are so cold you wake early. Get showers that work properly. Water instead of needles! Water containment so you don't have to step out of the shower into a bath on the floor - and it is dangerous. Get rid of the 2% surcharge. My credit card guarantees your payment but I have to pay for the privilege. Perhaps you would sooner have a cheque?
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient location

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Pros: the setting of Indigenous plants is lovely, good room amenities re tea, coffee, milk etc..
Cons: replace stained carpets, replace washbasins etc where needed, provide facial tissues in bathroom,
Location: handy to the city and to the airport, convenient over night stay.
Nice setting but carpet and other things need replacing. Seems run down.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Auckland, NZ

Posted Aug 6, 2017 on Wotif
Pros: The bar was pleasant.
Cons: Improve inadequate heating.
I have stayed twice and the heating here is terrible. Would stay again if this was fixed but not otherwise.
4 out of 5
by Rob

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 16, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Overnight stay

Posted Jul 15, 2017 on Wotif
Nice Hotel to bed down for the night, warm & comfortable with good facilities but the breakfast was pretty average...dry bacon, processed scrambled eggs, pastries could have been fresher & I paid $24 for it when I could have gotten a nice Eggs Beni at a cafe cheaper. Just saying
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 10, 2017 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by David

Hotel appears old and dated.

Posted Jun 29, 2017 on Hotels
A lot of noise from persons using the passageway and people moving about on the floor above. The cost of a Continental Breakfast was, in my opinion, far too expensive.