Ratings based on 82 Verified Reviews

3.2 out of 5
52% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Y

It was nice to stay to only sleep

Posted Apr 23, 2017
Maybe little old but it was okay, clean and nice to stay
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

OLD, DIRTY AND TIRED - NOT WORTH THE PRICE

Posted Mar 31, 2017
Pros: The price. However, in hindsight and as a personal bit of advice to others considering this place - pay more and stay somewhere better.
Cons: The cleanliness. Seriously, it needs a good scrubbing and some updating. This place is a dump.
Location: About a 15 minute walk from the downtown area. On a busy day/night route and right beside a very busy/smelly gas station = LOUD all day and night.
Spent three nights here on vacation from Canada. To say we were disappointed would be an understatement. This place is filthy! The "pool" had a layer of bugs and scum on it that prevented anyone with any sense from using it - big disappointment as this was one of the reasons that we chose this place. The room overlooked a BP gas station so all night and day you listened to vehicles and smelled gasoline. The kitchen was functional, once I had the office guy explain how to use the oven - weird little dial in your timer needs to be turned just right the get the oven to work. Kettle died on second day. I was told that apparently this is common due to the "sulphur in the air" when they gave me a new kettle. As this is the only way to make coffee in the room, its fairly important. Only 3 of the 4 stove top elements worked as well and they were at MAX heat regardless of where the dial turned. The blind in the kitchen was discusting. Filthy and greasy so we kept it up so we didnt have to look at it. The toilet is ancient, and we ran out of TP, so I had to ask for more. Garbage can outside of our room wasn't emptied once in the three days we were there. No fans & no air-conditioner in the room = no ventilation when you cook and no breeze or fresh air. Soft, old mattresses but the sheets were clean. If there would have been another hotel available in Rotorua for our stay, we would have moved immediately. But due to timing and some function in town there were no other availabilties.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 11, 2017
Very spacious room; clean; good amenities; located close to some tourist attractions
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Friendly staff.

Posted Jan 27, 2017 on Wotif
Enjoyed our stay. Clean and comfortable room. Good location
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from BNE

Dirty old hotel in terrible conditions

Posted Jan 3, 2017 on Wotif
Hotel is not in conditions to operate. Dirty, old and cockroaches everywhere. Extremely pricey to stay there, I don't recommend it even for one night. I wasted my money there. This hotel needs a renovation urgentlty.
1 out of 5
by Shampa

Yuk yuk yuk!!

Posted Jan 2, 2017 on Hotels
Hotel was below average and back dated. Very overpriced for what you get
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Northern NY

OK to spend a night, but disappointed.

Posted Oct 11, 2016
Pros: Staff
Cons: Rooms need better lighting and more electrical sockets. BP station is directly behind, so if you need darkness to sleep, good luck.
Location: BP station directly behind if you need petrol or snacks.
Staff were friendly and nice, but room was dark and gloomy. Bed was very uncomfortable. I felt like I was sleeping in a hammock. I've stayed in 5 hotels this trip, and this was the gloomiest.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 10, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Big Room. Comfy bed/cosy blankets.

Posted Oct 5, 2016 on Hotels
The owners of this motel are struggling valiantly against time. Its a good place to stay for the price - esp. given in room shower and mini kitchen (sink, refrig., microwave, etc.) facilities. The room was spacious and our queen bed was comfy with cosy covers for our chill, rainy night. It looks like they've done some work on making the place look better from the street and the carpet looked in good shape - so updates are being made. But the place is dated. The flat screen TV they've added to the wall is in an awkward position to the bed and couch - probably because the logical wall is painted cement block. The balcony runs continuously down the side adjoining all rooms on a level. We could see the lake from our balcony, but our room directly overlooked the big BP next door and was near the highway. The heavy curtains couldn't keep out the especially early morning truck noise. The room heater was a space heater (sitting in the closet we had to take out, plug in - and guess what temp the dial and buttons would produce - must kill them on electric cost because every time we turned it off the room chilled fast). It's a 10-15 minute drive to get to the parts of the town with restaurants, etc. It's 3 stories without a lift - which wasn't a problem for us - and there are rooms that can be reached on lower levels.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very clean & comfortable motel

Posted Oct 5, 2016 on Hotels
Our stay was great & location worked well for us. Very friendly proprietor.