Ratings based on 99 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Nice location with great staff

Posted Jun 23, 2017
From the minute you arrive the staff here are very attentive and make you feel welcome. The location is quiet, tranquil and just a short drive into Rotorua. A good place for a relaxing break or touring the surrounding area.
5 out of 5
by Theresa

Welcoming retreat

Posted Feb 7, 2017 on Hotels
Very friendly couple who were the owners greeted us upon driving in. Clean and comfortable space. Loved the jet tub after a long day of site seeing.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Beautiful and generally quiet setting

Posted Nov 8, 2016
Pros: Location near to Lake Rotorua, although almost 20 minutes by car from the city of Rotorua
Cons: Consistency of service, noisy at times, poorly fitting doors with gaps, small staff struggle to keep maintained, a bit pushy with tours & trips
Location: Plenty to do in Rotorua, staff are generally very helpful in arranging tours and activities to fit your schedule.
Rather difficult to find, but well located with spacious grounds and a view of the nearby lake with generally very helpful service.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 14, 2017 by Patrick, Hotel Management
Kia Ora J, thank you for sharing your comments with us. We are passionate about our little town of Rotorua and we are eager to let our guests experience what we love about it. We are not affliated with any of the tours or sightseeings in any way and we are sorry if it comes across as pushy. We hope you had a great time in Rotorua and look forward to hosting you again in the near future. Warm regards from the Hamurana Lodge team, Patrick Lodge Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from USA

lovely

Posted Oct 15, 2016
Location: hot springs, photography, dining, museums, walking
Brilliant and friendly hosts! Terrific breakfast, spacious room, pastoral, serene location. One issue: the mattress is old and lumpy, needing replacement. Other guests we spoke to agreed. We loved our hosts, Patrick and Eimer, so friendly and accommodating! We had a great stay!
5 out of 5
by Rohan from Canada

Absolutely fantastic property and service!

Posted Jul 26, 2016 on Hotels
We stayed at Hamurana in July 2016 which is the low season. Upon arrival we were given a very warm welcome by Thomas who was extremely professional, friendly, knowledgeable and thoughtful. The small touches like showing us the property and the room and offering us a cup of tea made it feel like we had arrived home. The estate that Hamurana lodge is on is lush with flora and fauna and very quiet. Thomas made sure we were comfortable throughout and he was there first thing in the morning to serve breakfast which was scrumptious! We only stayed 1 night and wished we had stayed longer.
5 out of 5
by Duncan from Tauranga

Hamurana Lodge is a slice of paradise

Posted Jun 12, 2016 on Hotels
We had an amazing time. As we pulled up to the door we were greeted by a friendly bell boy who showed us to our room and explained everything we needed to know, he also parked our car and bought our bags up to our room. There was quiet jazz music playing in the room when we got there and we had a view of the lake from our window. The room came with complimentary breakfast which was lovely, hot croissants, cheese, cold meats, cereal, fruits, juice etc. The premises is fairly old but in nice condition, we had a really wonderful time and felt really taken care of. Highly recommended for couples wanting a romantic getaway.
5 out of 5
by Kirk from Delton, MI USA

Like having a personal Butler service

Posted May 1, 2016 on Hotels
I have never stayed at a finer establishment. Friendly, service rarely seen in this era. Attentive is an inadequate description. Beautiful grounds and wildlife as well. Highly recommend.
5 out of 5
by Yunting

good

Posted Apr 19, 2016 on Hotels
It's the best. Will definitely book it again if I come to Rotorua again
5 out of 5
by Jiashu

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 11, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 6, 2015
Great staff, nice quiet location, relatively basic but comfortable rooms as you should expect from a lodge.