Ratings based on 84 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Extremely satisfied

Posted Jun 24, 2015
I very much enjoyed the time at Hamurana Lodge (Hamurana), during my stay there (7 nights at the end January 2014). This hotel is located in a silent, nice garden a little bit outside the town center (about a 15 minute drive away). The room was very spacious with nice interior & furniture and a great view of the surrounding landscape. The personnel was also extremely professional, kind & helpful. Best regards, Jonas
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Overpriced

Posted Feb 9, 2015
Not worth $300+ per night. There was no room service nor restaurant. Furniture never moved when swept. Multiple spiders. Did not have a key our first two nights which was annoying. Staff was very friendly however I feel this hotel will not be in business much longer. More like a bed and breakfast only with your own bathroom- not boutique hotel. Far from the 5 stars we are used to. Plus you could hear everything from other rooms. Same "complimentary" breakfast every morning which got old. "Snack bar" consisted of cashews, jelly beans, and Pringles. Will not stay here again.
5 out of 5
by Matthew from New Zealand - Taranaki

Posted Jan 28, 2015 on Wotif
Pros: The service, our host was amazing. She made our stay amazing
Cons: Nothing
Would stay here everytime and will continue to spread the good word
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bali, Indonesia

Great Place with a lot of Privacy

Posted Jan 27, 2015
We where very lucky being the only guests there and enjoyed the calm Athmosphaere, wonderful park surrounding, the Goat Lucy, the dog Sunny and the comfort provided. The staff is excellent and made our stay particular enjoyable. WiFi is fast and free, breakfast delicious and the location far enough away from the sulphur smell .
5 out of 5
by diana from Australia - NSW - Sydney

Posted Jan 3, 2015 on Wotif
Pros: Everything
Cons: The entrance is easily overlooked, a very minor thing
Location: Tranquil
Service: Go the extra mile; Cleanliness: Spotless;
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from oklahoma

Wonderful property and room; excellent service

Posted Nov 19, 2014
Lodge is outside of main tourist area which is a plus. Lovely old estate with only 7 rooms; quiet but elegant and relaxed. Service was outstanding, esp Tommy who anticipated our every need. Hated to leave!
4 out of 5
by Alice from New Zealand - Auckland

Posted Oct 28, 2014 on Wotif
Pros: Service was outstanding, Tommy was very friendly and charming
Cons: These rooms are close to the kitchen so when they cook bacon you smell it straight away.Oh and breakfast $20 no egg!!!!
We drove pass and missed this place twice, the signage on road side needs to be replaced or put lights on it so that guests can find you at night
5 out of 5
by Nicolaus

Posted Oct 26, 2014 on Wotif
Facilities: Above average;
5 out of 5
by Lisa from New Zealand - Waikato

Posted Sep 3, 2014 on Wotif
Pros: Very quiet and peacefull
Location: Good views
Facilities: Above average; Value: Great deal; Service: Go the extra mile; Cleanliness: Spotless;
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Camarillo, CA

Rotorua Experience

Posted Sep 3, 2014
Pros: It is located on very large grounds, our room overlooked the hills and the lake. We had a view of the nicely landscaped surroundings.
Cons: Nothing, everything was great!
Location: It is only a 10 minutes drive to Rotorua for shopping and restaurants. Most of the area attractions are close by, or a short drive from the lodge.
The Hamurana Lodge is a great place to stay outside the city of Rotorua. It is only a ten minute drive to Rotorua. The lodge has 7 rooms, our room was very spacious, comfortable, peaceful and quiet. It was owned by a wealthy family and different owners. The staff was very helpful, accomodating and provided excellent service. We were there in the winter time which means the tourist attractions are not overly crowded or congested. When we returned to the lodge in the afternoon or night, the staff offered tea or coffee.