Ratings based on 1,170 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

nice location, close to lake and town.

Posted Sep 11, 2017
Pros: breakfast incl with room.
Cons: wifi incl with room. better mattress for sleeping, free standard TV channels.
Location: lakeside as well as close to eatery and town.
overall pleasant experience. friendly and helpful staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Just perfect

Posted Sep 4, 2017
Cons: Fried breakfast would benefit from better quality sausages, some mushrooms... and maybe some black pudding!
We stayed here for 3 nights, and despite some grotty weather we had a very comfortable stay. The building is modern, clean and spacious; the bedrooms similarly very comfortable. The central location was a real bonus too - a minute's walk from the town centre. Free parking too, which was great. And the buffet breakfast was excellent - a great range of food available (although the sausages were rather industrial). We had the family meal deal dinner one night. It was also really, really good; again, loads of choice. And then there's the pool and hot thermal tubs. Awesome! I'd totally recommend this hotel.It was probably the best Novotel we've stayed in.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hawkes Bay

Noisiness interconnecting door

Posted Sep 3, 2017
Pros: Location, good size room
Cons: Bathrooms upgraded
Location: Very good ideal location slap in the middle of most things
As our room had interconnecting door and a young noisy family next door we were disturbed somewhat as room not sound proofed enough. Bathroom a little tired also. Other than that the room was a great size and very comfy bed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Had a very comfortable stay! Loved the hot tubs. Would definitely recommend
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Auckland

Hotel itself great, Food not good

Posted Aug 21, 2017
Pros: Position and staff attitude, very friendly.
Cons: Food quality, Restaurant organisation
Location: Great location, heaps of attractions within walking distance, great town to visit
Restaurant poor, bad organisation, always a queue and very slow service getting seated. Always appeared to be understaffed. Food average to dreadful. HATE! the milk bottles and no decent coffee. Machines don't cut it 4 star. Not up to standard for a Hotel of this quality (4 star) Not sufficiently put off to not stay there again, lovely position great staff. Would come back. Lots of really good restaurants very close so food not critical importance
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from wellington

Very central.

Posted Aug 3, 2017
Excellent location. Facilities and staff great. That's all I need to say.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miami Florida

Very nice hotel staff. Great location.

Posted Aug 2, 2017
The staff was so friendly and informative. The room was clean and comfortable. The hotel is centrally located. Really surprised me as I had never stayed with novotel before. Truly enjoyed my stay
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location, superb geothermal pool

Posted Jul 19, 2017
Superb breakfast, specious room, excellent location, eat street next door, beautiful lake at the front
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good for family

Posted Jul 11, 2017
Location: activities around the lake and biking - you can hire bikes for a day.
The hotel is located near the lake and Eat Street which is handy location. It also offers heated swimming pool, gym and spa which we really enjoyed. The room was clean and all the staff was friendly. The restaurant at the hotel ran the special breakfast option for family - paying for adults and kids eat free. The food was nice catering from European food to Asia food - good variation!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Geelong

Great hotel

Posted Jul 8, 2017
Pros: Location Geo thermal pools Bar in lobby
Cons: Nothing
Location: Very good location, right across the road from "Eat Street"
Great hotel, good location, geo thermal pools within the hotel are fantastic. Bar near the lobby is a great place for a snack or after dinner drink....the fire and booths are awesome. Very happy with service. Parking is right outside the hotel. Nice range of restaurants just across the road. Very affordable rate.