Ratings based on 2,345 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cambridge

The room was not as expectef

Posted Sep 9, 2017
Checked in ok Found room beside lift, so was noisy all night as people were loud and talking My curtains were ripped from previous clients The unit was also a disabled persons unit that was yet to receive an refurbishment with paint peeling , old dated bathroom, and the table was delaminating. I have stayed here previously but the room was far better Disappointed !!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Auckland

great location hotel close to shops

Posted Sep 8, 2017
Pros: great location, big car park, friendly staff and quick room service
Cons: a bit more detail when cleaning or vacuuming the room. check all the equipment regularly.
Location: on the main street and close to all the shops and supermarkets
hotel is nice and clean, staffs are very kind and friendly. located on the main street which is close to lots of shops and supermarkets, it's not far away from the museum and spa. room is big and bed is very comfortable, room service is pretty quick. The down part is the hair dryer was not working properly, the thermal jug is working but it will not stop even the water is boiling, had to turn the power off to stop it boiling, it's pretty dangerous. Room was clean but obviously they did not vacuum it in detail. My friend was step on a small piece of broken glass and got her foot cut, even it was not a big cut. overall it's a nice hotel just need a bit more care from the staffs and maybe a bit renovation?
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Hamilton

Big Rooms

Posted Aug 27, 2017
Pros: Big rooms
Cons: Maybe needs an update but still ok.
Location: Good Location, great cafe right across the road.
Big rooms, value for money. Would come back again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 29, 2017 by The Rydges Rotorua Team, Hotel Management
Dear Charlie, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel very soon! Kind Regards The Rydges Rotorua Team
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tauranga

Posted Aug 23, 2017
A friend arrived to have drinks & dinner with me to find that there was no alcohol available in the hotel due to losing their liquor license for 3 days. I was not told about this when booking my room or on arrival. I was very disappointed. There was no-one there to carry my bag to the room. The condition of the bathroom left alot to be desired. In the spa room the blind was covered in mildew and there was broken tiles on the wall. The ceiling had huge chunks of paint coming off it. I was kept awake from noise coming from above my room, sounded like a herd of elephants running around. I was very disappointed with the overall experience and would not return in a hurry.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 29, 2017 by The Rydges Rotorua Team, Hotel Management
Dear Deedaa,Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. I am very sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your stay. We have taken noted of your comments for necessary improvements. Kind Regards
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Whangarei

Great hotel, close to town

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Wonderful, staff were fabulous, breakfast was great and location was very central.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 29, 2017 by The Rydges Rotorua Team, Hotel Management
Dear Tanja, Thank you for the excellent review from your stay. We are truly delighted to know that you have enjoyed our overall services and facilities during the recent stay with us. We will certainly share your pleasant feedback with all our team members. We truly appreciate your support and sincerely look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind Regards
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from whakatane

VERY SURPRISED HOW BIG THE ROOM SHY TV PLZ

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Pros: the price have book again on the 17th september for my husband birthday we are going to the racecourse and book the same room
Cons: maybe get the sky race channel on the tv so people can bet in there room if they want with a big hotel like this it should have all sky channel
Location: very close to everything close to the racecourse
very happy only thing no full sky tv and when the race is on you should have the race channel so people can bet in there room is they want to big company like this u should have FULL SKY TV NOT FREEVIEW
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 29, 2017 by The Rydges Rotorua Team, Hotel Management
Dear Sandra Thank you for the excellent review from your stay. We are truly delighted to know that you have enjoyed our overall services and facilities during the recent stay with us. We will certainly share your pleasant feedback with all our team members. We truly appreciate your support and sincerely look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind Regards
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Gisborne Nz

Good hotel - everything we needed

Posted Jul 25, 2017
Pros: location - 3-5 minutes from town.
Cons: update bathrooms
good accommodation, clean, bathroom needs updating. Toilet was a bit high for younger children. Otherwise warm, comfortable. Breakfast was nice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Auckland NZ

Very central

Posted Jul 8, 2017
Great hotel with all excellent facilities. Close to central Rotorua and shopping.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney

This Hotel is an embarrassment.

Posted Jul 7, 2017
Pros: Absolutely nothing.
Cons: Everything needs to be improved upon
Location: Nothing to say - Rotorua is looking old and dilapidated - not welcoming at all.
I am from New Zealand and took my family from Australia to NZ for their first visit. This Hotel was our last stop before heading home and all it did was disappoint and embarrass. The Hotel is substandard and unclean. The pool has been shut for months but this is not advised on the expedia website. Overall I would not recommend this Hotel to any traveller/visitor to NZ.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good place to stay in Rotorua very close to town.

Posted Jul 6, 2017
Pros: Has a massive dining hall, could host some pretty good events there. The Mezz Bar on level 2 is good.
Cons: The Decor is dated. carpet down the hallway is pretty worn, bathrooms are in need of an overhaul. They are clean but getting pretty tatty.
Location: Close to town, fantastic walk around sulphur point is excellent, volcanic activity, boiling water,steam, beautiful views, bird life galore...
stayed one night. Enjoyed the grilled Terikihi dinner. One thing i would like improved (but it wont fit down below) is the check in and check out process. i wish it wasnt such a long tedious process. You should ask for all the info you need when booking online and checking in should just be like airline flights with an app. show the barcode, then it prints out your room details etc.