Ratings based on 11 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
5.0 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.9 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from california

Total Relaxation

Posted Jan 24, 2017
Pros: location, views
Cons: lounge chairs to relax outside either in the common area or on the private decks; a common area hot tub to also relax with the view.
Location: Rotorua has many activities in town both to see thermal / mud pools, Maori demonstrations, polynesian spa pools to soak in, many outdoor activities.
We chose solitaire lodge as primarily a place to relax after 7 days of hiking. While others at the lodge scheduled days full of activities coordinated by the lodge (not included), we didn't really want to leave our room. The rooms have a wonderful relaxing view of the water and the volcano mountain. The rooms themselves were very comfortable, peaceful, relaxing with a comfy bed and sofa and floor to ceiling windows and a soaking tub with a large picture window of the same. The common areas were also very relaxing with great views. It is not fancy, opulent, but with a very comfortable homey lodge feeling. The hosts Pip and Nick were always there in the background waiting to assist you with whatever you wanted on or offsite. The only negative is that it is far from everything, so there is always a 80-90$NZ taxi/lodge ride one way - unless you chose the helicopter tour that lands in their backyard. The all inclusive includes your meals, but not your alcohol at meals, but does include your mini bar in your room. Seems that a glass of wine at meals should be included with your meal if it is included while in your room, but not worth debating.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Napier

Beautiful Lodge & One of those places to comeback

Posted Aug 16, 2015
Still having good time here.. Eligent dining area Beautiful view Nice lounge area & of course the bedrooms Nice & pleasant service from each n every one in the lodge.. Away from town in middle of Nature. Kind Regards A couple from Emirates :)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Claire P.

NZ Road Trip

Posted Apr 6, 2015 on HotelClub
The lodge was fantastic and Gary a wonderful and generous host!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel located away from Rotorua

Posted Feb 2, 2015
Pros: Secluded. Great service
Superbly situated on a beautiful and secluded lake easily accessible to Rotorua and nearby activities. Impeccable service and well-appointed rooms. Unfortunately at Solitaire for one night-three nights would have been ideal.
4 out of 5
by Gustav

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 27, 2015 on Wotif
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

love it!

Posted Nov 26, 2014
Pros: everything
Cons: the hot water could be more consistent. When i took a shower, the hot water wasn't too consistent.
Location: location is great, its close to downtown but its in a residential area. love it
the hosts are so nice. love my room and our friends love theirs. The cat and rabbit make the hotel feel more like home. will definitely come back when i got a chance
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Solitaire Lodge

Posted Jun 17, 2014
Pros: Exclusiveness and surroundings
Cons: Nothing could have been improved for our stay. It was faultless
Location: We went for a romantic weekend. We were not interested in all the wonderful activities that surrounded the property
Staff were really attentive, attention to detail was faultless, surroundings , room, service, food and wine were all 10 out of 10. It was an amazing experience that will stay with us for years to come. Thank you
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Karen from Tauranga, New Zealand

Fantastic

Posted Jun 21, 2013
Pros: Everythink
Cons: None
Location: Wonderful
It was the most relaxing and refreshing experience, Wonderful staff excellent menu felt really spoiled can't wait to go back again Thank you Wayne & Ingrid
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Phillip from Doha

Luxury hideaway.

Posted Feb 18, 2013
Pros: The views were stunning
Location: While Solitaire is relatively close to Rotorua, it is a world away in terms of the touristy hustle and bustle (and sulphur) of that town.
A special experience and a superb setting. One night was not enough; a minimum of three nights is needed to be able to appreciate what the Lodge has on offer, and to fully relax.
5 out of 5
by Sameer

Amazing!

Posted Jan 3, 2013 on Hotels
Excellent! Must Go.