Ratings based on 183 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Auckland

Awesome staff

Posted Aug 13, 2017
Friendly staff Great complex Clean and tidy Will highly recommend
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Auckland

Definitely choose this motel

Posted Jun 25, 2017
Pros: The best I like is the wall heater in the bathroom, such a good feeling even turning off the shower.
Location: Nice quiet location, couple of minutes drive to the city.
2-bedroom was very clean, looks like new, 3 wall heaters in that one apartment, so no need to worry it's winter, so many beds, staff were all very friendly. Easy access to the city.
5 out of 5
by Kimberley

Posted May 20, 2017 on Hotels
Amazing, highly recommend "Sport of Kings" for ur next stay..Tristan & Peter r the ultimate hosts & their staff very pleasant & accommodating...definitely will stay here again...thanx guys 4 the wonderful time xx
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Draver

Nice hotel just off main Fenton st stretch.

Posted Apr 25, 2017
The motel staff upon arrival was friendly and providing a good welcome. The room was exactly what we wanted with a private spa in it and was tidly presented.Being just off Fenton st , it proved a little more private as well as being close to all amenities the city has to offer.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Auckland

Great choice for a stay

Posted Apr 2, 2017
Great experience staying at the Sport of Kings motel. Nice room with own spa, great facilities and superb owners.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Whakatane

Friendly welcome, restful place

Posted Mar 15, 2017 on Wotif
Pros: Owners are very welcoming, friendly and helpful. the pool is delicious. Peace street is just off "motel mile" but much less traffic noise = peaceful!
I was only there from mid evening, but after a full-on stressful day it was just lovely to float around in the pool (35 degrees) and let those stresses wash away.
5 out of 5
by Poons from Sydney

All the wants!

Posted Feb 14, 2017 on Hotels
Loved it! Starting with the warm welcome at check-in from the lovely owners Tristan and Pete, this hotel truly delivers to the very end. The well-appointed apartments are supremely clean and comfortable and the private in-room spa a treat. Conveniently located, close to everything and highly recommended.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Once again not what I thought we had booked

Posted Jan 31, 2017
Pros: The staff at front desk were wonderful
Cons: Expedia and the hotel have to improve their presentation of rooms and allocation of rooms as booked
Location: Fine.
Either Expedia descriptions and pictures of rooms did not match the facilities or the Hotel does not take notice of what is booked. I booked a room with private spa attached to room. Was given a room but the spa pool was down the passage way, not as pictures on line. Once again felt that we did not get what we had booked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hunter Valley NSW

Lovely!

Posted Dec 14, 2016 on Wotif
This hotel really surprised us - a geothermally-heated spa in our room and a deliciously warm swimming pool were wonderful extras on a rainy day that gave us a real sense of the unique nature of Rotorua. The staff were very friendly, and the hotel is set off the main road so it's very quiet.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from R. Sydney

Great stay in Rotorua

Posted Nov 29, 2016
We would highly recommend Sport of King Motel. The owners, Pete and Tristan were very friendly, welcoming and helpful. The family room was spacious and had everything we needed. Great stay!