Ratings based on 975 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Really nice hotel in great location

Posted Aug 22, 2016
Very nice hotel. Beds were comfortable and room was larger than expected. The private hot tub was amazing!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 22, 2016
スタッフの方々がとても親切でした。また、 交通手段も便利で、スパも完備されており、2泊の旅行を存分に楽しめました。
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good except for a few important issues

Posted Aug 15, 2016
Pros: Location was good, despite the bad smell from the lake (actually we were glad our room did NOT front the lake for that reason). Price was right.
Cons: I had to inform reception of a bunch of drunken idiots making a scene downstairs and blocking other vehicles by parking illegally.
We stayed two nights in the 600+ numbered complex, which is the furthest away from reception and the lake. The room itself was very good and spacious. Also the bathroom was good, even though the tiles around the bath tub and the fittings looked very dated. The check-in process was very swift and done by a very friendly and helpful gentleman who is from Fiji originally (I asked him). He gave us lots of tips on what to do for sightseeing. There are a few things we did not enjoy during our stay: 1. The mattress was WAY too soft. I already had back pain from the same issue in the place we stayed the previous two nights near Auckland, but this was even worse! Is this a general problem in NZ? 2. We booked into a private spa for 8pm on our first night. After our 15 min session, we enjoyed a dip in the heated pool next to those spa cabins. Just before we returned into our spa cabin to enjoy another 10 or 15 minutes, a Chinese couple had occupied the cabin next to ours....and they were VERY noisy chatting as if they were alone. As it does not seem to commonsense for some people, they may need to put up rules in multiple languages. Security staff patrolling may also be a good idea. 3. Speaking of security, just before we intended to go to sleep, just prior to 11pm, we had an issue with drunken idiots pulling into the car park just underneath our window, drinking in public and making a scene, plus they parked their UTE/pick-up truck illegally - see additional notes below.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NZ

Business 2 nighrs

Posted Aug 12, 2016
Happy helpful staff. Food great good setting. Rooms Just a little tired. Stay often.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

An affordable and accessible option

Posted Aug 11, 2016
Clean, comfortable and quiet accommodation right on the lake.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Auckland

Posted Aug 11, 2016
Whenever we go to Rotorua we always stay At Sudima.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Auckland

Posted Jul 26, 2016
Only stayed the night but found it to be a great hotel in a great location, staff very friendly
Comment from Hotel Management
by Atalo de la Rocha / Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Darren Thanks for kind review, I am happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us Kind regards
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Auckland, NZ

Great location

Posted Jul 19, 2016
Our bathroom was tired looking but clean. Staff were happy to accommodate a request to have one of our rooms changed due to the noise of the road on one side of the hotel. Private Spa's and heated pool were lovely. Overall good value for money.
Comment from Hotel Management
by Atalo de la Rocha / Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Ursula Thanks for taking the time to write such a nice review and share it with other travelers. Kind regards
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good Sleep

Posted Jul 17, 2016
Perfect warm beds. Love the heated pool and acess to spa. However room slightly dark but overall great place to stay
Comment from Hotel Management
by Atalo de la Rocha / Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Jo Thanks for taking the time to write your review and feedback. Kind regards
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not quite what I was expecting

Posted Jun 8, 2016
Pros: Free 1GB WIFI, lots of parking, easy to find near Polynesian spa
Cons: Make sure the rooms are ready for check-in.
Location: Right next to Polynesian spa and the walk around the lakefront.
Arrived at 2pm as per Expedia instructions and my room wasn't ready. Was told it would be at least another 45 minutes. Reception was apologetic but this is the first time this has ever happened in all my years of travelling. Room was big, warm and very quiet but there was mould and signs of wear in the bathroom. Was expecting a lot more from a more expensive hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 23, 2016 by Atalo de la Rocha / Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest Thanks for sharing your feedback and rating with other travelers, we try our best to have the rooms ready upon your arrival, unfortunately sometimes this is not possible due to several factors (ex. maintenance, breakdowns, late check outs) I apologize for the inconvenience this waiting period may have created Kind regards Atalo de la Rocha / Hotel Manager