Ratings based on 1,107 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from auckland

Nice place , close to everything

Posted Jul 16, 2017
Friendly staff always helped. Last minute I asked for a cot and they made sure they got my one which was excellent service. Car parks needs to done better maybe assigned parks if possible. Great experience overall, highly recommended.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 20, 2017 by Atalo de la Rocha / Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Hi Ilidio Thanks for your amazing rating and review, I am so please to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, I hope we can welcome you back at some stage in the near future. Kind regards Atalo de la Rocha / Hotel Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Perth

Nice but dated

Posted Jul 9, 2017
Friendly and helpful staff . Little bit smelly from sulphur lake . Hotel a little dated but comfortable and close to attractions and shops . Advertised as views of Lake Rotorua but more like a vein of a sulphur lake which has signs warning people away
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 11, 2017 by Atalo de la Rocha / Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest Thanks for taking the time to write your review and rating us, I am happy to read that our staff made a good impression and that in general you enjoyed your time staying with us. Kind regards Atalo de la Rocha / Hotel Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 6, 2017
Clean and comfortable hotel. Short walk to bus stops, i-site etc. Very reasonably priced. Staff very friendly and helpful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 9, 2017 by Atalo de la Rocha / Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest Thanks for taking the time to write your review and rating, I really appreciate your kind comments. Kind regards Atalo de la Rocha / Hotel Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

good location but not tidy

Posted May 22, 2017
room is really small / the blanket was dirty. I found lots of someone's hair from the sheet and blanket. but good location and quite.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 26, 2017 by Atalo de la Rocha / Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest I'm extremely disappointed to read about your sheets as this is not our standards, I really hope you reported this incident to our team in order to remedy the problem, thanks for your review and rating.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Oregon, USA

Hotel that appears 4 star but inside is 2

Posted May 15, 2017
Pros: Location to Spa across the street and walking distance downtown. 2 star price. But a 2 star room
Cons: Upgrade furnishings, décor and amenities.
Location: see above
Having travelled the entire length of New Zealand in 3 weeks, this was one of my most disappointing experience. The hotel has curb appeal and a flashy lobby but the rooms are in outdated and offer bare minimum that equate to a US Motel Super 8. 2 star. Read the other reviews and they reiterate what I am saying. You get the impression you will be overlooking a lake, but will be tucked into a back parking lot on a busy street. This is not a New Zealand owned property. It clearly has a standard that doesn't measure up to New Zealand's attention to detail, and quality It gets high marks for location- the Polynesian spa is across the street. The downtown is 2 block walking distance. But it clearly caters to tour buses. The price is excellent. but you get what you pay for. 2 Star price gets a 2 star room. I recommend shopping around.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 18, 2017 by Atalo de la Rocha / Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Hi Steven Thanks for taking the time to write your review and feedback, I am sorry to read that you didn't find our facilities up to your standards and found them as the most disappointing experience on your trip, I just wanted to clarify some of the statements you have made, we are a 4 star Qualmark property under NZ standards and assessed every year by Qualmark, we do have Lake view rooms if requested and upon availability, we are New Zealand owned and really proud of it and I couldn't agree more than encourage other travelers to go and look at our amazing positive feedback way above of the few negative ones posted, we highly recommend to book Superior rooms as they offer a different experience to our travelers for an extra $20. Thanks again for your feedback. Kind regards Atalo de la Rocha / Hotel Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Understaffed, good location though.

Posted May 11, 2017
It took over 10 mins on the check-in line and there were only 2 ahead of me. Parking was scarce but we found parking behind the block we were staying in after checking in. Needed to carry bags up some stairs to get to the lift (!). The lift was very old and the doors nearly closed on my little children. We had a room for 2 adults and 2 infants but were only given 2 towels. When you pay for extra people you expect a towel at least. The room was very hot when we first entered it. We turned off the heater and turned on the very loud air conditioner but we were very hot all night and ended up dehydrated. I will say that the staff were friendly but they were obviously overworked with a slow check-in and not removing our room service tray even though we phoned the number that we were meant to phone to have it removed. The pool was lovely but a bit dark. The food from the restaurant that we ordered for dinner was delicious. The room was clean.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 16, 2017 by Atalo de la Rocha / Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Traveler Thanks for taking the time to write your review and rating, I am sorry if the team wasn't delivering up to the usual standards, I'm not sure what happened, we are currently experiencing some issues with our systems which delay check ins and check out maybe it was one of those days, that may also explain if the linen wasn't delivered accordingly I truly apologize for this. thanks for your nice comments in regards to our restaurant. Kind regards Atalo de la Rocha / Hotel Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 7, 2017
Pros: Location, cleanliness, proffessional
Cons: Shower mixer needed attention, hot, cold, hot, cold etc. Not enough towels. Staff rectified immediately when advised.
Great venue, variety of rooms available. Facilities clean and tidy, visible security personnel. Friendly and helpful staff. Plenty of parking. Just a walk into city centre.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 26, 2017 by Atalo de la Rocha / Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest Thanks for your review, we have already repaired the issue with the water pressure in regards to the mixer, I am pleased to read that this issue dint tarnish your experience staying with us.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A good location in walking distance of the city

Posted Apr 30, 2017
A very good location , nice and close to the city. One side is next to a busy road, we had a room there and it didn't bother us for noise, but you may want to request a room on the other side if you thought it may disturb you. It is right next door to the Polynesian spa so you can walk there. We walked to town for dinner and it is an easy short flat walk.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 26, 2017 by Atalo de la Rocha / Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest Thanks for such a nice review and outstanding rating. Kind regards
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice and spacious hotel

Posted Apr 26, 2017
Cons: The Internet should be free and unlimited
Great location, good lake view. Spacious room and comfortable. Very friendly staff
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 28, 2017 by Atalo de la Rocha / Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest Thanks for your nice review and rating. Kind regards Atalo de la Rocha / Hotel Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Palmerston North

Long weekend

Posted Apr 17, 2017
Good thing about Sudima is its nice and close to lake, Poly pools and city centre. Hotel is a bit dated now but comfortable. Having been a Rotorua local for 20 plus years it was great to come back and stay in one of the local hotels.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 28, 2017 by Atalo de la Rocha / Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Hi Mike Thanks for your feedback and nice comments, I hope we can welcome you at some stage in the future. Kind regards Atalo de la Rocha / Hotel Manager