Ratings based on 740 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Pretty good...

Posted Sep 22, 2016
Nice hotel friendly staff... i was a bit amused that the reception area smelled like a toilet when we entered but i figured there must have been one nearby and someone had recently used it to its fullest potential.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Akl

Beautiful Lake View but

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Beautiful Lake View was raining at the time bit still stunning. Room was a bit dated, had to wait for house keeping to finish cleaning after check it wasn't pleased as we had just come from Hells Gate. Shower and Bath tiles needs a good scrub with bleach along with a bit of detailed cleaning. Pleasant staff
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel.

Posted Sep 14, 2016
Nice hotel, a little out of the way but if you're after acquirer setting this is the one. Beautiful grounds and views. Nothing to complain about.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Muriwai, Auckland

Picturesque setting by Lake Rotoiti,

Posted Sep 14, 2016
Pros: The setting by the lake. It is very tranquil as it is away from the more built up areas in Rotorua.
Cons: Update the decor a little...especially the entrance and foyer.
Location: Location is very peaceful and pretty by the lake and close to some scenic locations like the Okere falls.
Friendly staff. Very pleasing lake side setting in character buildings. Only stayed 1 night but room was very comfortable and clean.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

2016 spring stay

Posted Sep 11, 2016
You pay for the location by the lake and all hotel prices reflect this; don't expect anything else during the stay. Flowers had been ripped up and not cleared, chairs tatty, bushes untrimmed; bins outside rooms not emptied; place in desperate need of a gardener and repainting in lots of places.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from J

Amazing view

Posted Aug 29, 2016
The view was amazing from the room and the area is free of people and makes you feel as though you're nicely tucked away from the world. Only downside was that the pictures online definitely build up your expectation of the room. A lot smaller than we thought
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 24, 2016
目の前が美しい湖で朝日、夕日がすばらしいです。家族でのんびり過ごしたり大きなチェスを楽しめます。朝食バイキングには、味噌スープとライスがありました。
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from new zealand, hamilton

Beautiful view of Lake Rotoiti

Posted Aug 15, 2016
Ultimate in relaxation, resort looks to been or being refurbished really nice King room amazing views. Restaurant was fantastic food was lovely and big meals really impressed value for money.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Palmerston Nth

Fabulous tranquil beautiful location which we enjo

Posted Jul 30, 2016
Pros: Excellent room, great meal, friendly staff.
Cons: Exterior maintenance refurb in progress.
Location: Perfect relaxing and convenient location.
Always love staying here. Never disappointed.xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

nice lakeside hotel

Posted Jul 25, 2016
Pros: quite hide-away place
Cons: all good to me
Location: easy 15min drive from city centre, and access to all activities, plus nice local cafe nearby
wonderful one night stay at VR Rotorua Lake Resort, beautiful morning walk along the lake front