Ratings based on 802 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tauranga

Romantic setting overlooking lake

Posted Apr 22, 2017
Pros: Quiet and beautiful setting
Cons: We had no tv reception
Location: Great location close to all of the areas activities.
We were made to feel welcome, room upgraded to view over lake. Appearance clean and inviting. Room quiet, warm and had a great nights sleep. Breakfast was very nice with beautiful dining room and views.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

April

Posted Apr 15, 2017
Fabulous location. Frequented by daily Chinese Coach Tour parties staying the night.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Idaho, USA

Beautiful hotel on Lake

Posted Apr 12, 2017
Loved being on the Lake front. Beautiful sunrise! Staff was very friendly and helpful. Great restaurant for breakfast. Will definably be back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from tauranga, nz

A great stay

Posted Apr 11, 2017
We spent our first wedding anniversary here. The place is just wonderful with it position so close to the lake. The room was super clean and comfy with a view to match.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Super quiet hotel with plenty of pools, nice view

Posted Apr 5, 2017
Pros: It was so quiet, and plenty of parking.
Cons: Elevators.
Location: There are hot springs and spas nearby (Hells Gate) and the city of Rotorua has plenty of things to explore.
Check in was quick and easy. There's plenty of parking, several pools and a spa. I liked that the wall could be opened so you can take a bath while watching TV. There's not a lot of channels on the TV, but in this area there's plenty else to do. The bed was comfortable and the AC was relatively easy to use.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This pace is tired.

Posted Mar 23, 2017
While the staff was friendly and our meals in the dining room were good, the facility is old, worn and in need of some immediate attention. The carpet, walls and baseboards all need refreshing and the bathroom caulking was mouldy.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Calgary

Picturesque hotel not too far from town by car

Posted Mar 19, 2017
The hotel location was quaint, beside a lake. The room layout was nice. Wifi was spotty at times though.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Queensland

Great view, avg room & run down facilities.

Posted Mar 16, 2017
Pros: View of lake
Cons: - Don't allow cooking where people are sleeping. - If you advertise facilities ensure they are available. - VR resort needs to employ more staff
Location: Rotorua. Excellent thermal wonders. Good restaurants. Good adventure activities.
Stayed for two nights. Resort staff were pleasant when you could find them. Someone on our floor was cooking curry (was delightful initially) but then our room continually smelt like a kitchen & quite odd considering this a hotel. One side had windows and a balcony; however there wasn't enough airflow to clear smell from room. Couldn't use air conditioning because it just re circulated the curry smell. Notified staff members however nothing was done about this. The main reason I chose this resort was to use the gym while traveling, but this was being painted and I was not able to use the facilities. Wouldn't recommend.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from U.K.

Convenient stopover for our journey.

Posted Mar 10, 2017
Pros: Convenient
Cons: More varied menu in the restaurant. Cater better for dietary needs, I.e. Gluten free
Location: Did not use them, it was just a stopover.
It was ok. Nothing more to shout about, just a convenient stopover on our journey
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Auckland

Nice place to stay, amazing views of the lake

Posted Feb 27, 2017
We only stayed one night but it was great, staff were friendly room was great with fantastic views