Ratings based on 133 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by Lyndal

Fabulous Restaurant and Clean Spacious rooms

Posted Mar 27, 2017 on Hotels
We are only sad we could not stay more than one night. The service, the people and the Restaurant were the highlight of our stay. We have recommended this hotel to friends and family already and will be back one day ourselves.
5 out of 5
by Lisa

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 19, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Tony

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 12, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sydney

What a great place

Posted Mar 10, 2017 on Wotif
Pros: Food was great. Had a breakfast and dinner. Delicious food.
Cons: Keep it as it is.went to
Location: Went to Hells Gate and the bird sanctuary close by. Fantastic experiences. Oth.
Right on the lake and beautiful scenery. What a shame we only had one night. Wish we could go back
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Scammed overpriced over rated

Posted Mar 10, 2017 on Wotif
We had a special occasion to celebrate seeing the rating so high and at $419 per night how could we go wrong well we did. You expect a lot for that price we have stayed in a lot of nice places and this place is no where near worth that a night, maybe $180 or because of the little thermal pool and swimming pool and if u get a view of the lake possibly $250 tops not $419 an extra bed for our 13 year old which was a stretcher cost an extra $40 Total $460. They told us if u want a table at the restaurant you must book by 6pm but they say they have room service so we weren't fussed about a table but we changed our minds and rung after 6 actually around 8pm I mean your on holiday dinning late should be an option I rung down for a table the girl said you need to book by 6 pm remember I said yes but is there a table? as we changed our minds she said I'd have to check if there is a spare table and she said no there isn't I said oh well where is the room service menu its not in our room she said it's down here in the restaurant but if you want room service you need to place an order before 8:30 as the kitchen is closing then, Feeling annoyed after paying $460 a night you can't even get anything to eat after 8:30 we decided to drive to town which is more than 5ks like they state, we past there restaurant they were just taking in a couple there was no one else in there, the tv channels didn't work the beds were hard and the gym was a joke. The girl on reception was lovely tho. Scammed
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Out of town but very relaxing

Posted Jan 14, 2017 on Wotif
You need a. Car or be part of a tour group, a solid drive to sttractions but staff are very attentive. Good facilities and a very relaxing place to stay on the lake, very good food in dining room. . Manager , Binod very attentive
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Quiet and clean hotel.

Posted Dec 11, 2016 on Hotels
Very helpful friendly staff. Upgraded to lake view room which was great. Very clean room and grounds. Went mid week so was quite quiet. Didn't eat at restaurant so can't comment on that. You will need a car though for the 5-10 minute drive to town. Overall very happy.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

a nice stay

Posted Dec 6, 2016 on Hotels
rooms need a sreen on door and window. gnats all over property.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Cosy hotel by the lake

Posted Dec 1, 2016
Stayed two nights at this motel resort. The young lady at the reception was courteous and helpful when checking us in. Gave us a great recommendation for dinner - the Pig and Whistle - as the highly rated restaurant at the motel was fully booked that night. At first slightly disappointed that the room did not have a view of the lake, but the room quality is a good four star standard with niceties such as a plunger type coffee maker, which was greatly appreciated. Although slightly out of town, this is not a problem for those who drive, and there is free ample parking onsite.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Auckland

Quiet lake view with great spa facilities

Posted Nov 17, 2016
Pros: Location, Spa facilities, Bed, Room Design
Cons: Offer a trolley to move the suitcases from the car to the unit.
Location: Great quiet location if you have a car as it is a little bit out of town.
This is a great resort to relax after a busy day at a conference or doing some of Rotorua's outdoor activities. The lunch/dining experience seems to be great as the locals book themselves in for lunch or dinner to celebrate birthdays, wedding anniversaries etc. The dining room is beautiful and has lake views. We felt very comfortable at this great accommodation.