Ratings based on 129 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 13, 2017
Very good hostel. Not a 5 star hotel, but very good budgeted option to set out to explore New Zealand their al region.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Auckland, NZ

Nice cozy place, good location.

Posted Apr 23, 2017
Very nice cozy place to stay in a good central location.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 23, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Catherine

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 16, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from UK

Good value accommodation

Posted Feb 4, 2017
Pros: Well appointed kitchen area which was kept really clean.
Cons: Would have liked a small fridge in the room and a kettle
Location: Very hand for the town and shops we had a car so getting about was not a problem
Never stayed at a YHA before so did not know what to expect. Although our daughter had stayed here when she visited New Zealand. Pleasantly surprised with the facilities. We did have a room with a bathroom having reached that time in life when an on suite is very useful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 14, 2017 by Haylee, Hotel Management
Kia Ora Thank you for your feedback. It is nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our hostel when you didn't know what to expect and found the facilities to be clean and the location to be suitable. In regards to preferring a room with small fridge and kettle, we do have these rooms available, hopefully you are able to come back and stay with us again and we can accommodate you in this room type for more comfort:-) Enjoy your rest of the travels Kind Regards Kindu Bawa Housekeeping Supervisor
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 18, 2017 on Hotels
Good scenery and enjoyed walks n hotspring pool
3 out of 5
by Hélène

Excellent but very noisy when groups move around

Posted Jan 17, 2017 on Hotels
Our room was perfectionnement, but its location made it very noisy, especially when a large group arrived. The stairs are metalic and vibrate when used by many people. The doors made to prevent fire propagation are heavy and loud when they are closed without care.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

convenient and clean hotel

Posted Dec 15, 2016 on Hotels
Good location, near Kuirau Garden. It is convenient to Rotorua Central. It take walking 10 min to I-site (Tourism Rotorua), walking 5 min to Rotorua night market. Room is clean and comfortable. The public kitchen is big and clean. Free WiFi.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wellington, NZ

Great hostel! Great location!

Posted Dec 7, 2016
Pros: Everything was fantastic.
Cons: WiFi was down while I stayed there, but I know how hard it is to get fixed over the weekend. But maybe have a backup plan or some candy in return?
Location: Close to the geothermal park and Eat street. Night life in Rotorua was so much more fun than in Auckland believe it or not! Very friendly city!
I had so much fun staying at YHA. The staff were welcoming, the guests were fun, and the facilities were clean! The kitchen was large and so was the common room area and it was all kept neat and everyone was super friendly. Could not have asked for a better hostel. I barely even smelled the sulfur even though the hostel was a block away from the park!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 5, 2017 by Haylee Bloor, Hotel Management
Kia Ora, Thank you for your amazing feedback, it is great to hear you had such a fabulous stay with us and in Rotorua! There is definitely so much to do here! I do apologise for the wifi issue, it was an issue that our provider had to resolve and is now running as normal. I hope you enjoy the rest of our travels. Kind regards Haylee Bloor Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The best!

Posted Dec 7, 2016 on Hotels
Big thanks for absfabs staff!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 5, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Kia Ora, Thank you for your fantastic feedback! Enjoy the rest of your travels in NZ. Kind regards Haylee Bloor Manager