Ratings based on 408 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Middle of town

Posted Mar 11, 2017
Great location! Not anything extravagant, but does the trick quite nicely. The staff is incomparable I will say; extremely friendly and very willing to help. Makes all the difference when you've been traveling all night!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Scandic

Posted Feb 17, 2017
Hotel location is in the centre which is ideal. Bedrooms need a lot of updating, lots of old furniture and sadly lots of dust etc. The bed was comfy and to be honest, we were only in the room to sleep so it was ok. Not sure if I would reccommend - if I did, it would be due to location.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 15, 2017 by Tammi Karjalainen, Hotel Management
Hi Ellen, Thank you for sharing your experience and for visiting us during your stay in Rovaniemi. It was nice to hear that your bed was comfortable and over all your room was ok. We will be renewing all our hotel rooms before the end of this year. It would be great to see you some day again in Rovaniemi. Wishing you all the best! Best regards, Tammi Karjalainen General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location in city center

Posted Feb 14, 2017
Good location in city center, close to shopping mall with supermarkets. Few min walk from number 8 bus stop and ~15min walk to railway station. Has airport shuttle taxi stop opposite to hotel. The bathroom is a bit small in particular the shower area which is using shower curtain.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 28, 2017 by Tammi Karjalainen, Hotel Management
Hello, Thank you for your visit with us in Rovaniemi. It was kind of you to place a review and explain more about our location which I have to agree with you, is good. We hope we can welcome you back again some day! Best wishes, Tammi Karjalainen General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London UK

Right in the city centre, close to shops and food

Posted Jan 22, 2017
Pros: Convenience, location
Location: MacDonalds and Scan Burger across the road, various shopping centres within 5 mins around the area
1 night stay, convenient, 10 mins walk to bus stop which will take you to the Santa Claus village, close to restaurants and main shopping strip
4 out of 5
by Lisa

Perfect location

Posted Jan 17, 2017 on Hotels
Scandic hôtel was the most perfect location for everything I needed to do, However do not expect the place to look as fab as in the pictures, it's old and not so clean, but I didn't care because the location was so great and the customer service impeccable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 24, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Hi Lisa, We are happy that you shared your experience of your visit in Rovaniemi. It was great to read that you received impeccable customer service in our hotel. Sorry to hear that your room was not quite as you expected. We hope we will see you some day again in Rovaniemi and you will have a chance to try one of our renewed hotel rooms. Thank you for your visit and welcome again! Best regards, Tammi Karjalainen General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Moscow, Russia

Posted Jan 12, 2017
Pros: Breakfast was good, staff is nice and helpful, location in city is great.
Cons: Room was cleaned one time during 3 days stay, I was expecting more from 4 stars. A kettle in room could be a nice touch.
Pretty big and busy hotel, but it's quiet and staff is helpful. Rooms were warm and underground parking added comfort during -30C degrees outside (although for additional fee, as is parking near hotel). Consider getting into Scandic loyalty program before, it gives some nice benefits.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 9, 2017 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by Lee Ngs

Posted Jan 9, 2017 on Hotels
I booked three consecutive nights at this hotel, but I was asked to check out every night due to different room size of each night. The second night I booked was the family room with kettle and bigger in size. This reflected in the room rate as it costed HK$200 more than the standard room. However, I was downgraded to a room even smaller than standard room without kettle. When I approached the front desk, the staff was very rude to me. She told me that this was the only room available and your room was prepaid. You could forfeit the room. I felt very very disappointed and destroyed my holiday. Most importantly, there was no kettle for three nights in extremely cold weather and the rooms were dated.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 25, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Hi Lee Ngs, Thank you for your valuable feedback of your stay with us in Rovaniemi. Sorry to hear that you were very disappointed with your stay. I am really sorry that you had to change your room several times and that you did not receive good service. We have discussed your feedback with our staff to make sure that these type of situations are not repeated. I want to thank you for your visit and wish you all the best. Best regards, Tammi Karjalainen General Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location

Posted Dec 30, 2016 on Hotels
The front desk was too busy during our check-in. I had to wait for 30minutes before we got our card keys.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hong Kong

Convenient location with comfy rooms

Posted Dec 10, 2016
Many restaurants nearby, rooms are new and comfortable, serves good breakfast, very helpful staff The only bad thing is the elevators are a bit slow, so most of the time I will be taking stairs from 2/F