Ratings based on 7 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Paoli, PA

Posted Sep 3, 2018
The surrounding town was small and clean. It is a small town, so it is important to be respectful. Beautiful view of the mountains. The rooms were clean and all amenities were provided. The host is kind and provides a small breakfast. All in all, if we find ourselves in the area we will stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 5, 2018 by Tim, Hotel Management
Mary, thanks for your kind note. Do come back again. The welcome mat will be out for you! Tim
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 11, 2018 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 13, 2018 by Tim, Hotel Management
We appreciate your feedback. Thanks for taking the time to review our lodge. Best, Tim Weaver, Owner
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 6, 2018 on Hotels
Excellent setting for our purposes. Very nice lodge with an extraordinary history.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 13, 2018 by Tim, Hotel Management
Jim, so pleased you enjoyed your stay this year, and we look forward to having you back next year! Do let us know whether there is anything special we can do to make your visit comfortable. Tim Weaver, Owner
5 out of 5
by Michael

What a find!

Posted Oct 20, 2017 on Hotels
The trip across the mountain from Oakland, MD to Rowlesburg, WV in the middle of the night was quite an adventure. We were unfamiliar with the area but were pleased when we finally turned the corner in the middle of town and saw the River House Lodge. Jeff greeted us from the porch and helped us in with our luggage and showed us around and to our very spacious room. Everything was as advertised and we settled in for the night. The next morning we joined several other guests downstairs for coffee, breakfast, and very enjoyable conversation. The owner joined us and shared stories of the area and his experiences in restoring the lodge. He was very hospitable and made us feel like we were at home.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 31, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Kathy

Wrong town listed on hotels.com!

Posted Jul 24, 2017 on Hotels
Hotels.com has the address listed incorrectly! It is located in Rowlesburg! I drove an extra 40 miles out of my way and 3 phone calls to finally get there. The proprietor was very apologetic.
5 out of 5
by Lisa

Small town gem

Posted May 12, 2017 on Hotels
Our host was very gracious and entertaining. The house is beautifully restored and furnished with period pieces. The rooms are large with storage space. Everything was very clean and quiet. We had a delightful stay!