Ratings based on 78 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
for Business Travelers
by Steven

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 29, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

Private Cabin

Posted Aug 24, 2015 on Hotels
Lovely retreat just a few mile to the beaches. Inn staff was very helpful for ideas of activities and restaurants. The room was perfect. Clean and comfortable. I had a private cabin. If I come back to this area I would stay here again.
2 out of 5
for Getaway With Friends
by Christine from Maine

Posted Aug 19, 2015 on Hotels
No air conditioning initially - took hours to cool down an extremely hot room - very uncomfortable. No creamer for coffee - not noticed until needed. Office not opened and Breakfast not served until 9:00!!! We had to go out to eat as we had to leave by 9:00.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dixivlle, Quebec

An OK hotel

Posted Aug 8, 2015
Pros: The grounds. The coziness of the rooms. This Inn has the potential to be something really nice close to the wow factor, but they are not quite there
Cons: A larger assortment for the complimentary breakfast. A cleaning staff who pays a bit more attention to small details.
We chose this hotel because of the grounds and the facilities offered. I misread the room description and ended up reserving the wrong room. I wanted a place to be able to sit outside when returning to our room after a day at the beach. I realized my mistake at check-in and inquired about it. Management offered me to switch rooms, but with a surcharge of roughly 70$ per night. These two rooms were the same price when I reserved on-line. The staff of the hotel was not impressed that I had reserved thru a third party. Upon check-in no information about the hotel was given out in regards to break-fast or other services. During our discussion of the possible room change it was mentioned that my options were limited because I did not reserve directly with them. we decided to keep our current room. The room was small, but pretty clean. There was some mold on the tiles around the bath tub and around the Jacuzzi jets. Our complimentary hotel shampoo or other stuff was not replenished during our 3 night stay. We actually had to go and get some extra toilet paper at the front desk ourselves. Upon our return on the last night, the cleaning staff had left our room unlocked. The door was locked but not closed. The blinds in the room do not block out the lights from the outside grounds. The pool was dirty. There was some amount of debris on the bottom and visible algeae around the sides. The complimentary breakfast is basic.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tucson

Old fashioned, small

Posted Aug 1, 2015
We stayed here because of the location and price. The rooms are very small and the air conditioning not too functional. Unfortunately an unusual heat wave was in progress. However, the pool is lovely and the grounds ok. We didn't stay for breakfast as it was not served until 9:00 am and we had a tee time to get to. The office was totally locked up in the morning before 9. That said they have done some renovation with the beds, linens, etc. and the place is not run down at all. Compared to the price of hotels in nearby Newburyport it is a good deal. If you are aware of what you are getting then go for it.
4 out of 5
for Families
by A verified traveler

Adorable Inn

Posted Aug 1, 2015 on Hotels
Adorable inn. Very clean and cozy. Would stay again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Not what we expected

Posted Jul 20, 2015
Pros: It was quaint, and cute, and the staff was very kind.
Cons: Hot water should be a given. :) And make it clear that the bathroom for that particular room is in the hallway on the website.
Location: Lots to do in the area, great restaurants (Hart House, in particular), as well as sea kayaking and Woodman's about 15 min away in Essex.
We showed up to the quaint inn and excepted a nice room for one night. We ended up in a room (124) where the bathroom wasn't attached to the room. It was in the hall, which felt very weird, since the office was right downstairs. We got over this and went to take a shower, but there was no hot water. The man in the office was accommodating and offered us the one in the exercise room, but we decided that it wasn't worth the $168 we paid! He was very helpful and allowed us to get our money back. We didn't end up staying, so I hesitated to write the review, but I do think it is valid input. It also says "Country Garden Inn and Motel" on the sign outside even though it's advertised as a "Spa" on their website and everywhere else.
4 out of 5
for Couples
by Ross from Manchester, Ct

Quick overnite stay

Posted Jun 26, 2015 on Hotels
Just there 1 night. The management was determined to make sure our brief stay was enjoyable.
5 out of 5
for Families
by Richard from Toronto Canada

Worth The Stay

Posted Jun 23, 2015 on Hotels
Beautiful setting, clean room, good service
4 out of 5
for Couples
by Robert

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 1, 2015 on Hotels