Ratings based on 23 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
61% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Irvine, Scotland.

Further away from Boston airport than we expected

Posted Oct 23, 2016
Pros: Late arrival, US Customs, and a horrendous one-hour drive through a thunderstorm and torrential rain meant we arrived drenched to the skin and exhausted at 11.00pm. The lady waited for us and helped with our luggage. Very pleasant surroundings in an old house with annexes out the back, all New England style. Informal breakfast arrangements- get it yourself and sit where you can. Very friendly and helpful.
Cons: Due to the rain, a leak developed in our bedroom, which dripped all night and made it difficult to sleep. Other than that, nothing.
Location: Only stayed one night en route elsewhere.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dixivlle, Quebec

An OK hotel

Posted Aug 8, 2015
Pros: The grounds. The coziness of the rooms. This Inn has the potential to be something really nice close to the wow factor, but they are not quite there
Cons: A larger assortment for the complimentary breakfast. A cleaning staff who pays a bit more attention to small details.
We chose this hotel because of the grounds and the facilities offered. I misread the room description and ended up reserving the wrong room. I wanted a place to be able to sit outside when returning to our room after a day at the beach. I realized my mistake at check-in and inquired about it. Management offered me to switch rooms, but with a surcharge of roughly 70$ per night. These two rooms were the same price when I reserved on-line. The staff of the hotel was not impressed that I had reserved thru a third party. Upon check-in no information about the hotel was given out in regards to break-fast or other services. During our discussion of the possible room change it was mentioned that my options were limited because I did not reserve directly with them. we decided to keep our current room. The room was small, but pretty clean. There was some mold on the tiles around the bath tub and around the Jacuzzi jets. Our complimentary hotel shampoo or other stuff was not replenished during our 3 night stay. We actually had to go and get some extra toilet paper at the front desk ourselves. Upon our return on the last night, the cleaning staff had left our room unlocked. The door was locked but not closed. The blinds in the room do not block out the lights from the outside grounds. The pool was dirty. There was some amount of debris on the bottom and visible algeae around the sides. The complimentary breakfast is basic.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tucson

Old fashioned, small

Posted Aug 1, 2015
We stayed here because of the location and price. The rooms are very small and the air conditioning not too functional. Unfortunately an unusual heat wave was in progress. However, the pool is lovely and the grounds ok. We didn't stay for breakfast as it was not served until 9:00 am and we had a tee time to get to. The office was totally locked up in the morning before 9. That said they have done some renovation with the beds, linens, etc. and the place is not run down at all. Compared to the price of hotels in nearby Newburyport it is a good deal. If you are aware of what you are getting then go for it.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Not what we expected

Posted Jul 20, 2015
Pros: It was quaint, and cute, and the staff was very kind.
Cons: Hot water should be a given. :) And make it clear that the bathroom for that particular room is in the hallway on the website.
Location: Lots to do in the area, great restaurants (Hart House, in particular), as well as sea kayaking and Woodman's about 15 min away in Essex.
We showed up to the quaint inn and excepted a nice room for one night. We ended up in a room (124) where the bathroom wasn't attached to the room. It was in the hall, which felt very weird, since the office was right downstairs. We got over this and went to take a shower, but there was no hot water. The man in the office was accommodating and offered us the one in the exercise room, but we decided that it wasn't worth the $168 we paid! He was very helpful and allowed us to get our money back. We didn't end up staying, so I hesitated to write the review, but I do think it is valid input. It also says "Country Garden Inn and Motel" on the sign outside even though it's advertised as a "Spa" on their website and everywhere else.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from germany

Nice small new england feel

Posted May 20, 2015
Cons: Room service and breakfast
Maid service needs improvement. Continental breakfast could be better.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montclair, NJ

Great country motel... Basic but very comfortable.

Posted May 20, 2015
Convenient, comfortable and great staff... The nearby Villager Pancake House is also a good deal...!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 18, 2015
We stayed here overnight for a wedding and the suite was clean and comfortable. The staff was friendly and helped us arrange transportation back and forth to Newburyport. Overall it was a pleasant, albeit very short, stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 1, 2015
Very comfortable will stay again had. Wonderful trip cannot wait to go back
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Tired

Posted Oct 27, 2014
Pros: The Rowley area is quaint, sidewalks everywhere, and historic. A stroll through the cemetery is quite a reminder of colonial times.
Pealing paint, tiny bathroom, old bathroom, noisy with someone above you. Maybe I don't get the charm of a B&B. At least this one.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mount Joy, PA

October 18, 2014 Stay

Posted Oct 22, 2014
Pros: It was quiet. It was clean. We slept well.
Cons: The parking was minimal. We got back late Saturday, and felt lucky to have found a place to park.
Location: We saw a theatre show of Hamlet at the Sea Change Theatre in Beverly. So, the hotels location was good.
We were having difficulty finding a hotel nearer to Beverly. This hotel was fine. It suited us for what we needed. The room and shower was small, but no big deal. We accidentally left a bag with important things. We called the office and told them, and we decided to return to the hotel to find the bag. It was there! The stay was good about helping us find it. Thanks It was quiet and the drive from Rowley to Beverly was pleasant. We'd stay again. I thought the rate was good.