Ratings based on 195 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from wales

Posted Jun 7, 2017
Cons: Rooms too hot in warm weather. sash windows open only 3 inches.
Hotel OK. Breakfast, poor staff, bacon served raw and cold, empty plates not cleared.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from a

Not great value for money - and pretty noisy!

Posted May 1, 2017
As the other reviews say, unfortunately this hotel is more a party venue - so wouldn't recommend staying unless you are a guest! It does end just after midnight but before that the room was vibrating with competing bass lines (there were at least 2 different parties) - and we were on first floor. Plus shower was bad. However breakfast was nice and included and the staff were friendly
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Suffolk

Nice Hotel but not all rooms!

Posted May 1, 2017
Lovely hotel overall but be warned of rooms 2 & 3 (we had room 3) which have a large & noisy kitchen extractor unit about 2m from window, Noise is bearable with windows shut but too loud if open & kitchen smells enter the room! I did inform reception of this on departure but only got a apology & confirmation that we were not the first to complain about this but no reduction on the £94 room rate! Room was very nice though (although I bed too hard for us) and breakfast was excellent.
5 out of 5
by Chris

Great stay

Posted Apr 24, 2017 on Hotels
Lovely stay in this hotel which belongs to Shepherd Neame Brewery. Our room, 18, has good views across town, a bit like having a balcony. Receptionist was friendly and helpful. Breakfast in the conservatory was tasty and civilised. There was a small wedding on but it caused us no problems. Would definitely stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kingston, ON

Wonderful Inn

Posted Apr 22, 2017
Pros: Staff
Cons: Nothing!
Terrific food, lovely comfortable bed, and very accommodating staff. We had an early morning flight to Heathrow, and they still made us a full breakfast -- an hour early!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Satisfactory hotel

Posted Apr 9, 2017 on Hotels
Good venue for a visit to Tunbridge Wells.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from london

Could be a wonderful hotel

Posted Apr 2, 2017
Pros: Position, exterior
Cons: Rooms could do with a spruce up.
Location: Was at a wedding did not really have time to explore
Beautiful building in a lovely position, let down by the room, looking very tatty with a couple of holes in the walls like someone had punched it. Scuff marks all over the room. When we arrived room wasn't ready even though we arrived a hour after check in time. The sheet on the bed didn't fit properly so under the pillows was just the mattress cover !. At breakfast they seemed to be running out of eggs as my partner got 2 eggs with his eggs benedict but people who arrived later only got one, why would you not order enough eggs for the morning when you have a full hotel.
4 out of 5
by Luke

Nice hotel but a bit over priced.

Posted Apr 2, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel was nice and comfortable, but is on the small side. But there is enough room to move about easily. The full length mirror in the cupboard is a nice touch. Service was good, as I was able to check in early. Which was a good thing as I wasn't there for a wedding. Breakfast was slightly disappointing and there I saw definitely room for improvement on the cooked breakfast. As the poached egg was over cooked and the bacon was average and another hash brown thing would have been nice. Especially as for £125 for a night I would expect a bit better quality.
2 out of 5
by Lucy

A little 'Fawlty Towers'!

Posted Mar 18, 2017 on Hotels
Parking was totally inadequate - we ended up parking on the street (which, with a 10 week old baby was not ideal) The check in was a fiasco.......walked in on someone as they had given away our room, the next room looked out over the pub. The 3rd room had several maintenance issues including a light hanging off the wall, missing discs from the taps, cobwebs and a terrible mattress. Not great for £135!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Lovely room, helpful staff, nice location

Posted Mar 13, 2017
We stayed a night here for a wedding. The room is nicely decorated and very clean. Staff at the restaurant was nice and helpful. The area is beautiful where the famous shopping street is in walking distance. Price is on the high side compared to other hotels though.