Ratings based on 81 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Nice and quiet hotel with english style.

Posted Oct 5, 2017
Great location. Friendly staff. Nice decoration. Good balance quality and price. I was pleased staying there.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Telford

Disappointing

Posted Sep 22, 2017
Pros: Leaving.
Cons: All of it.
Location: Tombridge is a beautiful place to visit.
After a long day at work, a long way from home, more than any thing i wanted a hot shower (a warm one would of done) but no, open the taps and varying degrees of cold. Well at least maybe some good food and a drink at the bar? No the pumps one the bar don't work and they have stopped serving food. Well i'll try and get a good night sleep before work in the morning, the bed is clean unlike the carpet and bathroom. The room is cold with no heating. Well lets hope a good breakfast can save the hotel, no such luck, the scrambled eggs are rubbery only one slice of bacon, an almost raw mushroom and some watery beans. I wont be back
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very disappointing.

Posted Sep 19, 2017
Pros: Not a great deal.
Cons: Everything, especially website that advertises 'free parking'.
Main problems. Only 2 parking permits even though 'free parking' on their website. Rushed breakfast, i.e. insufficient time to eat cereal prior to cooked breakfast arriving; inexperienced bar staff, i.e. serving brandy in a thick tumbler!! Requested a brandy glass but she didn't know what it was. Asked to book out and told 24 hours notice required, but hadn't been there that long! No hot water in our ensuite. Hotel generally 'tired'. General staff okay, dining room/general manager very brusque.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brighton

Nice quiet hotel

Posted Sep 14, 2017
Pros: Quiet and very comfortable bed.
Cons: Maybe the locks on room doors. It was virtually impossible to close them without a "bang". Also soup as an evening choice for non bread lovers 😊
Location: I was only staying for the night do didn't explore. However there was a spa and bar very near and the town is close.
Nice hotel close to the station. Friendly staff and overall very quite and comfortable. Very restricted choice of evening food but close to restaurants and bars. Good choice of breakfast. For the money, I thought very good value.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Reasonably priced, did the job.

Posted Aug 23, 2017
I was looking for a place walkable to the train station, clean enough and reasonably priced. It satisfied these criteria. Otherwise, a spartan room. Bed so-so. No place to put toiletries in the shower/toilet area, just a sink. Overall the hotel a bit musty. I didn't try the breakfast but the breakfast room looked pleasant enough.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wales

Nice, inexpensive hotel close to town centre

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Pros: Clean sheets, towels. Ironing facilities etc
Cons: Decor
Location: Tunbridge Wells has nice shopping, eating and historical interest
We wanted to stay just one night and this was an inexpensive but comfortable option for us as a family requiring 4 rooms
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dartford

A let down for the money we paid.

Posted Jul 31, 2017
We stayed as we were attending a friends wedding and I have to say that I could have not been more disappointed. We stayed in Room 1 which was very dated and tired with stains all over the carpet. The bed was also terrible and far past it's sell by date. We were also facing onto the road so it was very noisy with no ventilation. The shower was also a nightmare taking a very long time to get warm and you had to take your chance once it did get warm before it got too hot. We had the breakfast included in our room rate and I can say this is one of the most embarrassing breakfast I have ever been served. All the food was swimming in oil and the bacon was rock solid like it had been cooked and sitting for hours being kept luke warm. All in all for a £125 a night and a hotel that's advertising as a retreat I would expect a hell of a lot better.
4 out of 5
by Amanda

Enjoyable stay in Tunbridge Wells

Posted Jul 24, 2017 on Hotels
I received great customer service at this hotel - requesting a quiet room at the back. The lady on reception was able to accommodate this request on arrival. The room was lovely and looked out onto the garden. The only suggestion I would make is to have a plug point near the mirror so that you can use the hairdryer more comfortably.
5 out of 5
by Jackie

The Retreat is a pleasure to stay in!

Posted Jul 14, 2017 on Hotels
Lovely hotel with great staff, secret garden was nice, room was comfortable, breakfast superb in a great setting. Would definitely stay there again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to town and all amenities

Posted Jul 2, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Bathroom, hot water, breakfast
Location: Shops, restaurants
Checked in, given wrong key- we were on 2nd floor! Room old and in need of updating especially bathroom. To get hot water we had to run hot and cold taps in basin, turn on shower and press anti-scald button and wait for hot water! and still the hot water was very unpredictable. Went for breakfast, requested normal small English- waited 40 minutes and was then served a cold breakfast and the sausage was pathetic size, the bacon did not look as if it had even been under the grill.