Ratings based on 27 Verified Reviews

3.3 out of 5
67% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
2.8 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by martin from England

Terrible hotel, rude owners, took two payments,

Posted Aug 12, 2016 on Hotels
It is not located near any shops in walking distance, it is in the middle of nowhere, has an eerier, horror movie vibe. The hotel was in full darkness on our arrival. The owners are rude and scary, making us feel vulnerable. Our room was a shack, very mucky, unclean. The single beds were infact large cushions covered with shabby throws. There were cracks in the walls and in the shower room. The toilet was fithy and the room smelt damp. We were told that the pool was not in use until the next day. We contacted hotel.com to see if we could move hotels. We were told the would contact the hotel, tell them we were not happy with the hotel and were wanting to check out an hour after arriving. Hotel.com rang us back and said that the owners wanted paying in full. We refused and agreed upon paying 40 euros for there trouble but had to get off the premises that minute. My husband then went to the office to speak with the owners, who said the had taken full payment from us. I would not advise anyone to book with this hotel. When we rang our bank we discovered they had taken one payment of 85 euros and attempted a further payment of 171 euros (which was declined by my bank). Due to them taking more payments we had to temporarily block ! We also had to go stay with family in France due to hotel.com being unable to find us another hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Stayed overnight and wish we'd booked longer

Posted Jul 29, 2016
Pros: Its individuality, its location and its service.
Cons: It doesn't need any corporate-stye improvement, it's great as it is.
Location: The grounds - lake, gardens, river. Local trips on foot or bicycle. historical buildings. Between Limoges and Clermont-Ferrand both worth a visit.
This delightful hotel was a real find. Its grounds are lovely, peaceful and beautifully kept, and there is a wonderful indoor swimming pool and some gym equipment. The rooms are comfortable and individual, and the communal areas are filled with photographs and ornaments of all kinds, a true eclectic mix. Food and service excellent. The hotel is run by a charming couple and provides a good location to wind down and to explore an interesting region.
3 out of 5
by Rob from Hastings, East Sussex

Weird and wacky but quite nice

Posted Aug 28, 2013
Pros: The location and the experience.
Cons: Being wacky doesn't mean the bedcovers should be dusty. There were no tea/coffee facilities and generally there were small touches that were lacking.
Location: It is in a village in the middle of nowhere, with no other restaurants close by, not even a cafe.
To understanbd this hotel you have to understand the reason behind it. The current owner's grandparents opened this in the 1930's. I read a newspaper article behind reception that showed it reopening and this is very much in the 1930's style. So much so that we felt Hercule Poirot should be having cocktails in the garden. We had a room in the house which can only be described as wacky but, once we understood the ethos, it wasn't too bad. The bedcovers were dusty and the shower cubicle looked like it was in the wardrobe! Our teenage girls had a futon to sleep on which they were predictably not happy about. A previous comment says it was like a museum and I agree, but we also loved this, especially when understanding that the items had been collected to fit in with the house. The other french guests were very pleasant and we did enjoy the meal - just don't expect to get english food, chicken nuggets etc. The garden was lovely and the pool was too which was nice after the drive down. The owner doesn't arrive until 3.30 so if you get there earlier just go into the pool. Talkiing of the owner she was also a little unique but she was really helpful and clearly runs this auberge for the love of it. If you do go, and my wife and I would probably go again, the sat nav doesn't really help. Best directions are that it is 100 metres from the railway line in the village. The trains run rarely and we only heard two in the late afternoon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Great hotel for a family stopover.

Posted Aug 29, 2012
I would describe the hotel as small and quaint, but comfortable and reasonable value. Beautiful grounds in a quiet countryside location. The family room was in a separate building; the decor was charming and unusual. Restaurant food was good, with adequate portions; just what we needed after a long drive from Calais!
5 out of 5
by H Doyle

Posted Aug 2, 2012 on Hotels
Hotel very quirky, no two rooms were the same. Friendly service. Lovely indoor pool and beautiful grounds and lake around the hotel. Food and drinks a bit expensive. Would recommend this hotel
1 out of 5
by Beth

ecntric, damp, spooky

Posted Jul 1, 2012 on Hotels
this place was charming on 1st impression , but once inside it is like a smelly antique museum, the damp smell and unclean feeling kept me awake al night. The en-suite was a handmade joke and decorated with ecentric, old charm which dosn't work and presents as scary!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

hotel plutôt kitsch

Posted Oct 2, 2016 on Hotels
fabulous breakfast
3 out of 5
by Maurice from Winnezeele

Séjour particulier mais pas désagréable.

Posted Jul 31, 2016 on Hotels
Pas facile à trouver,l'hôtel fait très vieille France avec des installations un peu trop anciennes. L'accueil est assez particulier mais aimable,le personnel est limité. Le cadre est très agréable et gagne à y passer un peu de temps. La cuisine est correcte,à volonté.Le prix est un peu trop élevé par rapport au service rendu.
4 out of 5
by Lionel

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 14, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by pierre from paris

Tellement kitch qu'en fait assez amusant

Posted Jul 10, 2016 on Hotels
Halte en pays limousin. Hotel très propre, accueil très attentionné, mais décors kitchissisme. La piscine est très agréable et le petit parc bien entretenu et sympathique. Le diner était agréable et simple.