Ratings based on 327 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Massachusetts

THE place to stay!

Posted Dec 3, 2017
Pros: Atmosphere, food, staff
Cons: The driveway was full of potholes. could use some work
Location: Lots of hiking trails, beautiful location, convenient to the store and restaurants.
I recently stayed at the Park Hotel Ruapehu with my adult son and daughter. We hiked the Alpine crossing and visited other places nearby. The hotel was spectacular! It looks like a ski lodge. It is well maintained and the rooms were very comfortable. We used the whirlpool spa that was available and were thankful for it after hiking for 7 hours on the crossing! The food was exceptional and overall the stay was an exceptional value. We all gave the hotel a big thumbs up! Thanks for our wonderful stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from tauranga

Great place to stay for Tongariro crossing

Posted Oct 23, 2017
Excellent food, comfy bed great hot tubs. Only draw back was the neighbouring guests talking until 1am and going up and down their stairs until that hour waking us up and unable to sleep until they stopped, not the hotels fault but not very well sound proofed, it somewhat spoilt what would have been a perfect stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

One night stay in The Park Hotel Ruapehu

Posted Oct 21, 2017
Although we stayed in this hotel just one night we were amazed. The hotel is perfect, tidy, clean, perfect location, good value for money. We are defenetelly going to stay again in this hotel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from melbourne

Dishonest

Posted Oct 3, 2017
Pros: Close to the mountain
Cons: read above
Hotel manager lied to us about kitchen facilities. He told me in advance there were none at the hotel, so imagine our surprise to find a kitchen in our room! Only problem was we had no food to cook as we had been told there was no kitchen. When confronting the manager about this he said they 'just tell guests this' as they may be making renovation in the future. Suspect it's more about getting guests to eat in their overpriced, boring restaurant. Other than that, a baffling room layout. No where to hang a towel. A kitchen but no table of chairs. Have to eat sitting on bed with plate on lap. Spa was advertised at closing at 8pm but was padlocked at 7:40.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Auckland, New Zealand

Excellent Customer Service & Beautiful View

Posted Oct 2, 2017
Pros: Beatiful views, comfortable rooms, Spa!
Location: Very close to all the amenities you require for a family, including 24 hr emergency hospital!!
Very friendly and supportive staff, in particular their Assistant Manager who guided and supported us when our 16 year old son fell sick. This place is very safe and has all the aminities you require for a family. I recommend and rate this hotel very high. Thanks guys, we really enjoyed our stay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tauranga, NZ

Clean and warm but very noisy

Posted Sep 4, 2017
When we were shower to our room I noticed straight away how clean and modern everything looked. There weren't any photos of the bathroom on the Expedia page so I expected that it wouldn't be very nice, to my surprise the bathroom was very clean and seemed quite new just like the rest of the room. The staff had also turn the heater on for us before we got there and our room was very warm which was great after a long day on the mountain. The only downside was I could hear people running past the room all night, I could also hear people upstairs above my room running around. I could hear this until the late hours of the night and as soon as I woke up I could hear it again. Very disturbing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Auckland

Great hotel easy drive to ski fields

Posted Aug 25, 2017 on Wotif
Stayed a few times now, always good . Great staff warm and clean.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel but worst bathroom

Posted Aug 25, 2017
Pros: The restaurant has a great atmosphere. Staff are friendly.
Cons: Bathroom, mainly the shower!
Location: Restaurants and skiing
The staff were friendly, the hotel restaurant was really nice, comfy bed, clean room BUT the bathroom was the worst! The shower in our room was one that had no doors or anything, just a curtain and a slight slope on the floor, but the slope wasnt enough. Water would get everywhere and because there was no fan in the bathroom the moisture just went throughout the whole room and everything was just wet the whole time. Also a microwave or toaster and some plates would have been great in the room as the meals were pricey.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tauranga

Friendly staff, clean and tidy rooms.

Posted Aug 20, 2017
Pros: The staff. The drying room is very good too.
Family trip to the snow, convenient place to stay with good food, and facilities. The drying room is very good.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good hotel, not very jolly personnel.

Posted Jul 30, 2017 on Hotels
The Hotel is alright but workers could be more kind, It feels that most of them are not very happy in what they do. Polite but with a bad attitude I recognize.