Ratings based on 56 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by joram

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 10, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 29, 2016
Room was very nice, however, there appeared to be some issues with the ac.
4 out of 5
by Not Provided from Sydney

Posted Nov 20, 2015 on Hotels
Great restaurant in this family run hotel. Hotel was very helpful in arranging visit for me for balsamic vinegar, Parmesan cheese and Parma ham.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Denver, CO

Say Hello to the Famous Cat

Posted Sep 3, 2015
Pros: The staff was truly wonderful. Parking was easy.
Cons: I think the room could be cleaner and updated a little. But these are not very big problems.
Location: Modena is a nice, small town. We spent most of our time outside of town visiting a parmesan cheese factory and a balsamic vinegar tasting room.
We decided to stay halfway between Bologna and Parma, which is how we ended up in Modena. The front desk personnel, particularly Manuel and Manuella, were so cheerful and truly nice. The room was stuffy when we arrived and it didn't occur to me to open the windows until the next morning. Once I did the room aired out. I am compulsive about cleanliness, so I think normal people would consider the room clean. There was dust under the bed though and the bottom of the shower curtain appeared stained. This could have been a decorative border but I didn't look closely. The bathroom does not have enough surfaces for two people's bottles, etc. I don't think there is much that can be done about this. A lady who is, I think, an owner of the hotel, was delightful to talk to and very helpful. She bakes delicious cookies and cakes for breakfast. The cat, Geronimo, is well know around town and famous for a picture of him that has gone viral on the internet. He let us pet him, even though he's a star.
5 out of 5
by carolyn from Durango

Little gem!

Posted Jul 12, 2015 on Hotels
Loved this small hotel. Small town with great location to Bologna and the Ferrari museum. Resturant was excellent . Great Saturday market.
4 out of 5
by Allen from Sweden

great location, great stay.

Posted Jun 21, 2015 on Hotels
very accessible location, great service. breakfast was good as well.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Small, friendly hotel with character

Posted May 27, 2015
Pros: Historic building with character, very helpful staff, the restaurant (Clinica Gastronomica Arnaldo)
Cons: Within the current price/performance bracket, I can't think of anything particular.
Location: The village of Rubiera isn't particularly interesting by itself, but Bologna, Modena, Reggio Emilia and Parma are less than a hour away!
We stayed in the hotel for three nights during a short holiday to Emilia Romagna. The hotel is in a rather quiet and not particularly interesting village, however, it is located halfway between Modena, Reggio Emilia, Bologna and Parma with great road links and good train connections to all of the cities. The hotel is clean and well-maintained, however, due to the historic building one should not expect a hyper-modern experience and take into account that some of the furnishings might have an old-school feeling. A definitive highlight is the restaurant, which serves high-class Emilian cuisine at reasonable prices and has kept a Michelin star for 50 years. The staff was very helpful for all our requests, including hunting for a UK to Italy power plug adapter and providing us with a table in the hotel restaurant on extremely short notice on a Saturday evening (!!). Would both recommend and come again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kent

lovely hotel spoiled by rude owners

Posted Oct 12, 2014
Booked here last minute as a stop over as part of our 25th anniversary Italian road trip. Beautiful little typically Italian village which luckily had a market on in the morning. Was checked in by very friendly reception staff and the hotel itself is beautiful. Apparently it was renowned for its restaurant which we did not use. However our stay was spoiled by the incredibly rude staff at breakfast and check out which we discovered was the owners daughter. Although our Italian is minimal we knew the basic pleasantries but was met with cold indifference. Clearly we were not refined enough guests.
4 out of 5
by Perry from Atlanta

Posted Sep 16, 2014 on Hotels
Excellent restaurant.
3 out of 5
by Tomalaurent from Sydney

Go for the food

Posted Sep 15, 2014 on Hotels
Have come Here Since 1970, the Restaurant , you Must Not Order of the Menue, but of the "Carello", is unique and Great. The Hotel is the only One in the village and serves the purpose. A Must for foodies