Ratings based on 35 Verified Reviews

3.0 out of 5
56% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
2.7 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

historic house hotel 6km away from rudesheim

Posted Aug 8, 2016
Historic hotel in a very nice village but be aware that it is in a suburb of rudesheim and a couple of km away from the famous rudesheim. Once you get over that its a pleasant stay and would recommend it anyway. It was quiet the rooms we had were in the newer part of the building and were nice. There is a vineyard just at the back of the house
5 out of 5
by John from Schenectady

Peaceful Accommodations

Posted May 19, 2016 on Hotels
Very pleasant owners! Location was excellent and within walking distance to Rhine restaurants. On the quiet side of Rudesheim, we liked walking around town. Breakfast was quite good. We enjoyed chatting with the bilingual owners.
1 out of 5
by Diane from San Francisco, California

Horrible Service - Do NOT Stay Here!!

Posted May 23, 2015 on Hotels
We booked this place specifically because it said there was 24/7 desk service since we knew we would be arriving very late after driving in from Switzerland. We arrived at 3am and the place was locked up with all the lights off. We knocked on the door hoping to rouse a napping front desk person to no avail. When we called, the person who finally answered the phone said we did not have a reservation. We said we did, it was made 5 hours ago and offered to give him the hotels.com res number. He said he could not help us and hung up on us. I have forwarded this info to hotels.com and am waiting for a refund.
5 out of 5
by Val & Malcolm from UK

Never forget

Posted Jul 24, 2014 on Hotels
This Hotel was typical German style, oldie world, loved it, so interesting The Owner and his wife were so freindly and the staff were very helpful. We had a wonderful time there, we were a family group of 5 Unfortunately we did not eat there we were touring all over between Geisenhein, Ruedesheim and Assmanshausen.
5 out of 5
by Howard Coates from United Kingdom

Traditional small German hotel in a pretty town

Posted Jun 25, 2014 on Hotels
Did what it said on the tin. Enjoyed my stay. Friendly and clean.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL.

Charming, but small.

Posted Sep 30, 2013
Pros: Affordable, great small old German village. Buildings date back to 1600's.
Location: Assmannshausen is a small village that has multiple weinguts nearby. The town is also a 4 minute train ride from Rudesheim.
It's a very old building. While the exterior has old Europe charm, the interior is small and cramped. Unfortunately our room was also 10 meters from the train tracks. At night the freight trains run all night.
1 out of 5
by Dupee

Posted Oct 12, 2012 on Hotels
I would not recommend this hotel. We are pretty easy to please but the directions did not indicate that there was construction and when I called to ask how to get there. The owner Mr. Lippert said that if we didn't get there before 10 pm we would be locked out. When I asked for directions he hung up on me. We made it by 10 pm, he did not have the double bed room we had reserved and said we could have the twin room or nothing. We looked at it and it was awful and right next to the train that went by often. We returned to the office and said that we would be willing to stay there one night but wanted a double bed room that was on the reservation. He said he did not have any for the weekend. He finally agreed to give us an apartment about 250 meters away. We stayed there, it was okay with a beautiful view but musty and did not have any amenities except the hair dryer.
4 out of 5
by Pete

Posted Jul 15, 2012 on Hotels
Ideal for touring the upper end of the Rhine Valley. For Rudesheim it is either car or for a small charge the next stop on the train. For the more energetic, then there is the journey up the hill on a chair lift followed by a 25 minute walk through the wooded peak and then down to Rudesheim in the 2-4 person gondala lift. The hotel is quaint and typically old German. The rooms are varied in size and shape. Breakfast was good continental but be aware of the 6 o clock wakeup call from the bells of the church next door. Car parking was available in a locked garage in the hotel annex 50M down the narrow street. The village had several restaurants (including the hotel) to eat at. Some overlooked the Rhine.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Elizabeth from Honolulu, HI, USA

Cute town, cozy place

Posted Jul 14, 2010
The town of Assmannshausen is very cute. We stayed there and biked along the river, which is a great way to see it. Had a very small room but comfortable/clean enough. Free parking in a garage, which was a big plus in this town. Didn't have breakfast--8 euro a piece. Friendly staff. We did have dinner which was traditional German, hearty food. No AC but our first floor guest house room wasn't too bad, even on a very hot summer weekend. There's a fair amount of noise but that must be the case at every hotel in this town.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Canada

Cute hotel with great service

Posted May 27, 2010
Very pleasant stay at the Hotel Altes Haus. Ladies who run it speak pretty good english and have a REALLY good red wine called Rudesheim (sp?) in the attached restaurant. Felt warm and welcome. Rooms are simple but had everything we needed for our one night stay.