Ratings based on 92 Verified Reviews

3.2 out of 5
67% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

I like staying here

Posted Jun 16, 2017 on Hotels
I have always stayed here on business and like it, a bit disappointed on the last trip that the toilet seat was broken and not notice by the cleaning staff pre my arrival, when I noticed it and reported it there was no one about to fix it so I made do, I mentioned it to the cleaning staff the next day and was looked at as if I had broken it, would I report a breakage again? Mmmm maybe not!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Jun 12, 2017 on Hotels
Good hotel, in convenient location. Great value.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Gt. Yarmouth

Posted May 8, 2017
Cons: The tea served was not very hot, something I remember from our last visit. This is something that could definitely be improved.
The Hotel was the venue for a Funeral Tea after a funeral we were attending so was convenient for our purpose.
2 out of 5
by Tat Peng

Posted Apr 11, 2017 on Hotels
The overall stay experience was "pass-able".. The bed was too soft and cleanliness was acceptable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Darkest Surrey

Peaceful overnight stay

Posted Nov 7, 2016
Pros: It was quiet, clean and comfortable.
Cons: The room was baking hot when we arrived (a common hotel problem) but we were able to open the window to bring it down to a comfortable level.
Location: The hotel is set in its own park and is within walking distance of the middle of Dunchurch.
We went for the bog-standard double room, which was quite big enough for a one-night stay. It was clean and comfortable. The hotel is in a lovely, quiet setting. The staff were efficient and polite. We were within walking distance of our friends in Dunchurch.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel, customer service needs attention

Posted Oct 13, 2016 on Hotels
Room and bathroom is really nice, but black grime on bathroom tiles lets it down. I found this offputting. Food was really nice, but the young lady who served me was not very customer friendly. I ordered food without cheese & when it arrived with cheese I advised her, she just took it away without saying anything, not even an apology. Then she brought it back without cheese, but forgot the chips that were on the original. Again no apology, no communication at all. It costs nothing to be polite. The hotel needs to be aware of this poor service as its letting the rest of the hotel down. So easy to put right
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Compete Disaster

Posted Oct 13, 2016
Pros: The phone signal was quite good! They also have Twining tea.
Cons: Be honest about what you are selling.
Location: The hotel is part of a small village which looked to have some restaurants bars, pubs etc. worth a look.
Expectation and Reality are very different. The pictures on the site don't reflect the real hotel. Most of the bedrooms are in an annex building away from the main hotel, bar and restaurant. The rooms very small. I suspect for wedding guest there are rooms in the hotel. The first room i was offered didn't have a chair or a desk, more like a small coffee table. The floors are creak, and you can hear other guests opening an closing doors, moving down the corridors etc. The heating in the room was poor which went off at 22:00 it then cable on at 0400 make a right old racket. It reminded me of being back at boarding school. Particularly the where there were large tables for 8. no single tables.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 26, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Its ok if nothing else is available

Posted Sep 23, 2016 on Hotels
Shower was terrible struggled to get wet. Reception undermanned which caused him to be short with customers trying to book out.
2 out of 5
by sarah from Reading

Won't be staying again....

Posted Apr 22, 2016 on Hotels
No hot water in the morning so a cold shower wasn't particularly welcome. When heating did come on it pumped lots of air round the system the radiator didn't get hot as it was filled with more air than hot water.