Ratings based on 146 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from somerset

Beautiful hotel

Posted Nov 14, 2017
We stayed at this B&B for three nights originally booked through Expedia for two nights but we were able to stay an extra night. Our visit to this area was to trace my husbands ancestors who came from this area and Colton House was a superb choice.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 15, 2017
Hotel rooms are nice, staff could have been better.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

An elegant British country mansion delights guests

Posted Aug 26, 2017
Ron and Gay, the owners, make this one of the most pleasant bed and breakfast experiences that we've enjoyed in our travels. No detail is too small to escape their notice. The mansion is surrounded by a beautiful garden, filled with flowers and birds. The breakfast was delicious. Wonderful hosts!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from esstbourne

best for a long time

Posted Aug 25, 2017
Pros: You would struggle to find any faults and the attention to detail shows how much pride the owners have in their Hotel.
Cons: They have it spot on
Location: In the village are two pubs one of which does beautiful freshly cooked dinners. The hotel is handy for the British legion memorial arboretum
Beautifully kept family hotel and gardens with exceptionally friendly staff. Breakfast was superb with many choices and most of the ingredients sourced locally and tastes so much better than the supermarkets
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 23, 2017 on Hotels
Rather dated but quirky.
5 out of 5
by Peter

Colton House

Posted Aug 13, 2017 on Hotels
Colton House is located in a lovely small village by the name and is a delightful period building. The house is tastefully decorated & furnished with WiFi, parking and large garden. There are a couple of pubs in the village, with the Dun Cow (top of the bank) serving good food and the Greyhound inn (very close) offering friendly hospitality and a beer garden to the front. Ron & Gay where great hosts, offering up a lovely breakfast. They also normally offered evening meals. I would definitely be happy to stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Staffordshire

Lovely character hotel in a quiet village.

Posted Aug 7, 2017
Pros: Everything
The proprietors were very welcoming and happy to share how they renovated the hotel. Full of elegance. We had the twin room which was comfortable with everything you need, extremely clean, only drawn back was it is very small. Would recommend. Breakfast was delicious with excellent local produce.
4 out of 5
by David

National Memorial Arboretum Visit

Posted Jul 30, 2017 on Hotels
Lovely well kept Georgian house and gardens. Good accommodation, food and service. We would be happy to stay again if we were in the area.
4 out of 5
by M

Midlands break

Posted Jul 27, 2017 on Hotels
Relaxing, lovely area
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Berkshire

Lovely Georgian house in central England

Posted Jul 3, 2017
Pros: Cleanliness and friendliness of the place, plus luxurious bathroom even in one of the smaller rooms at the top of the house.
Location: In a village with pubs close by. We chose it because we wanted to visit the National Memorial Arboretum, which is about 20 mins drive away.
This is a beautiful well-kept house in lovely grounds,ideal for a night or weekend away. The owners are extremely welcoming and helpful and nothing is too much trouble.We enjoyed sitting out in the garden in the early evening and if it is warm you can take breakfast on the terrace, looking out over the garden. They can provide a list of places locally for evening meals if you wish to eat out. A delightful place to stay.