Ratings based on 369 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Mexico

Nice hotel near Ruidoso Downs

Posted Oct 5, 2017
Pros: Location. Reasonable price.
Cons: Could have used a lamp or two in the seating area.
Location: Hotel is near Ruidoso Downs and Casino, Hubbard Museum, Museum of the Horse and the Billy the Kid Museum.
Very pleasant hotel and great staff. Very comfortable bed! Large room with very nice furniture. Some highway noise - we were in a room facing the highway. WiFi was spotty - was told it was an Apple problem. Lots of breakfast choices.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 11, 2017 by Faith G - GM, Hotel Management
HI JoAnne, Thank you for the review from your stay with us. We are pleased to see that you enjoyed the room with the large spacious room and comfortable bed. I am sorry that my staff did not help you with the Wifi issue you and other guests had. We have reset the access points and tested the operation of the Wifi as well as training the desk staff better to help. We hope to see you again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Beavercreek, OH

The place was ok, the dog area outdoors is rocky

Posted Oct 2, 2017
Pros: Location and the pool
Cons: Pet area outside could use some grass
Location: White sands, the Lava Flow, Smoke the Bear Museum. White sands is terrific
Great area, with lots of things to do in the area. The hotel was ok in general . The dog area outside could be greatly improved with some grass. Our older little dog stumbled around on the rocks. Pool was warm and clean
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 3, 2017 by Faith G - GM, Hotel Management
Hi Jeff, Thank you for the review from your stay. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are pleased that you enjoyed the pool and the area around us. I am sorry that one side of the pet area is rocky instead of green grass. I am sorry that my staff did not explain that well at check in. I hope that on your next visit your dog is happier on the side with the grass! We will see you soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mississippi

Posted Sep 24, 2017
We enjoyed our stay at La Quinta Inn and Suites Ruidoso Downs very much. We found our accommodations to be reasonably priced, spacious and clean, and the view of the mountain was, indeed, spectacular. We visited Ruidoso Downs for a day of horseracing and a dinner of Hatch chile burgers at the casino. Just up the road, we strolled through the small park where the "Free Spirits at Noisy Water" frolic and leap. We also enjoyed bacon tacos and margaritas at Lucy's, as well as a bit of Noisy Water wine tasting, both in downtown Ruidoso. The La Quinta seemed to be centrally located to all the places we cared to visit. The staff were friendly and knowledgeable about the area, and unselfish in sharing their chocolate chip cookies with us. The breakfasts were plentiful and varied in selection and one of the ladies in charge of the morning dining went above and beyond her duties to take care of us. Suffice it to say, we were more than touched by her gracious gesture. This was our first visit to the area, but it won't be our last. Given our experience with La Quinta, I will not hesitate to stay with them again. In fact, I look forward to our next trip. Save me a cookie.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 29, 2017 by Faith G - GM, Hotel Management
Hi Bou, Thank you so much for the review from your stay with us. We are pleased to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay with us at the hotel and the local favorites as well. I will pass your accolades onto my staff. We hope to see you again soon, we will keep the cookies fresh and warm!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from carlsbad new mexico

Nice and clean

Posted Sep 11, 2017
Like that pets stay for free very clean good breakfast staff very nice
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 12, 2017 by Faith G - GM, Hotel Management
Hi Dawny, Thank you for the review. We are so happy to have you and your pets with us! We are pleased to hear that enjoyed the room, breakfast and the staff and found the place to be clean. We work hard to make sure that everyone has an enjoyable stay and we hope to see you again soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 25, 2017
room was clean, breakfast was great! it has a nice place to set outside and vist.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 25, 2017 by Faith G - GM, Hotel Management
Hi Glen, Thank you for the review. We are happy that you enjoyed your visit to our neck of the woods. I am glad you enjoyed a clean room and great breakfast! We agree the back side of the hotel is beautiful and I am glad you enjoyed sitting out there. We hope to see you again soon!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Quite and Pretty view

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Pros: The mountain view.
Location: Further from downtown and shopping.
Back side of hotel has mountain view and is very quite. No road noise.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 18, 2017 by Faith G - GM, Hotel Management
Hi Barbara, Thank you for the review. I am happy that you were able to enjoy the mountain view and quiet it provides. We will see you again soon!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from amarillo texas

Great hotek

Posted Jul 25, 2017
we came for our anniversary weekend to relax. Room was very large and comfortable with a great bed! Bathroom spacious and clean. Breakfast delicious and staff friendly. I recommend this hotel. It's a very nice LaQuinta.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 25, 2017 by Faith G - GM, Hotel Management
Thank you for the review Bee! We are happy to hear that you were happy with your stay. We hope we will see you again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from texas

Vacation

Posted Jul 23, 2017
Great location, staff, food and motel. Centrally located for areas we wanted to visit. I will definitely stay there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 24, 2017 by Faith G - GM, Hotel Management
Hi Wanda, Thank you for taking time to let us know about your stay. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that we will get to see you again. We look forward to your next visit.
5 out of 5
by Patsy

Posted Jul 3, 2017 on Hotels
That staff was friendly and helpful. It was a joy.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 6, 2017 by Faith G, Hotel Management
Dear Patsy, Thank you for the review! We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again soon! Faith G.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bonham, TX

Perfect stay for us

Posted Jun 28, 2017
Loved the convenient location...close to shopping, close to race track, close to great restaurants, close to EVERYTHING! The staff...especially SAM at the front desk... was so friendly and helpful!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 28, 2017 by Faith G - GM, Hotel Management
Dear Carol, Thank you for the review! I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit with us. I will pass your comments onto the staff. We hope to see you again!