Ratings based on 514 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from RD

Good for kids -no high expectations

Posted Oct 17, 2017
It was ok but needs to update the rooms and facilities,,, they need to clarify the "waterview room" mine was a garden view, not happy because I'd not pay for that.... the food was ok ...not many options and the restaurant were full of mosquitoes and fly was horrible to eat like that... the water park was great fir kids
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice for families

Posted Oct 10, 2017
Pool bar was open to children therefore not really conducive for drinking and was not maintained well. Food was not great. Not well seasoned. Little variety and not many Caribbean options. Was ok and I had a good time because of my travel group dynamic but will not stay here again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Jamaica

Posted Oct 2, 2017
Pros: Beach was great
Cons: Food was a little on the salty side
Location: Good location right off the main road. About 1hr drive from Mobay airport
Stayed for four nights. Good family resort. I stayed in room behind the waterpark. Quiet at night and room was average but clean. A/C unit a little loud during the night. Food was good with a decent variety, including Jamaican cuisine. Staff were welcoming and friendly. Highlight is the beach, one the best of any resort outside of Negril. Nice stay for a family or even couples.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta Georgia

Fantastic family vacation

Posted Sep 27, 2017
I will start this review by saying this is super fantastic wonderful place for a family. If you're expecting a Ritz-Carlton or a Four Season Hotel this is not it. The grounds the beach the restaurants the food it's truly what makes it a fantastic place. My lower rating was for the room that we stayed in the hallways the general just a little bit older and outdated but everything outside grounds water park to beach it's phenomenal. We stayed in the 2000's block the middle building. Was toward the front office away from the beach. So a room closer to the beach will be very loud room because entertainment is in the mail buffet restaurant. So if u have little ones to sleep early or if u are a early sleeper you will hate the rooms that are close to the restaurant. Second floor is the best in my opinion. Enjoy.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston MA

Great beach and staff

Posted Sep 26, 2017
The beach was beautiful and the staff was very accommodating, however, the hotel rooms are in desperate need of updating. Issues range from broken toilet in original room to no hot water, water being shutoff without notice when my husband was in the shower to the hair dryer catching fire when I was using it. I have never had to contact the conceirage so many times during a vacation than I did this week. I was very disappointed after being delayed a week due to the airport being closed due to radar being out. I was not able to stay there for the full 7 days because they were booked, however the hotel still wants to charge me a "no show" fee of one night. I would be hesitant to stay at another Jewel Resort in the future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Jamaica

Great place for a vacation

Posted Sep 25, 2017
The Jewel Runaway Bay is an excellent and laid back place to spend a vacation. The beach, water park, tennis courts etc. are a few of the excellent facilities offered. The only negatives are the buffet food which seems to have not too many changes and the desserts which were not too good. Otherwise its a great place with excellent staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 8, 2017
LOVED IT. bed was shaky but overall everything was great
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 8, 2017 by Scott, Hotel Management
Dear Dque, thank you for staying with us at Jewel Runaway Bay. I hope you told us about the bed while you were here so we fixed it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from seattle

Pleasant atmosphere at a good resort

Posted Sep 4, 2017
Pros: No high rise, all low level and spread out, with great views of the sea.
Cons: Bedrooms do need up grading.
Location: Close to Dunns River,
Just come back from the jewel runaway bay, a very relaxing holiday, with well kept grounds, lovely staff, a great beach with plenty of loungers. Good selection of foods available. The water park was fun too. Bedrooms could do with an upgrade though.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 8, 2017 by Scott, Hotel Management
Dear Anon, thank you so much for your feedback.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from milford, ct

Great Vacation

Posted Aug 29, 2017
This was great vacation. All staff encountered were pleasant, courteous and attentive. Rooms spacious and clean. Stocked refrigerators. The food scene is wonderful; lots of choices and very tasty. Very creative service in the Platinum and Jade restaurants. Awesome kids, teens and tweens activities. The waterpark is off the hook. The only improvement I think is necessary as soon as possible is for the hotel to put mosquito screen over the vent in the shower that was open to the outside. I liked the fact that there was fresh air circulating but it also gave the mosquitos an access to your room Already planning next visit
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 1, 2017 by Scott, Hotel Management
Dear Alis Mom thank you so much for staying with us at JRB as well as your feedback.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Family oriented with a beautiful beach

Posted Aug 25, 2017
Pros: The size of the hotel was perfect, compact and location of all the facilities were thought through. The beach and Jacuzzi were the best.
Cons: The beach towels sometimes were lacking.
Location: This hotel is not near anything that you can walk to. All destinations required transportation which is not cheap.
It was a relaxing stay. The property is green and well maintained. Plenty of shade on the beach. The coral reef is right there so you could enjoy snorkeling. The water park is small, but very cute and our son had lots of fun there. They entertain kids and teens with numerous activities: laser tag, sail boat ride, pool and lawn games, bon fire on the beach, dive in movie. We enjoyed a Jacuzzi as well. There is also two big pools, one of them infinity. Everything worked in the room perfectly: the show, the air conditioner. The fridge restocked with soft drinks and water daily. The beds were made twice a day. We ate at the buffet in the morning and most lunches, used their restaurants for dinners. Only Japanese restaurant required a reservation for hibachi dinner, but we did not like it. Platinum restaurant had unique presentations of the mediocre food. Italian worked the best for us.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 25, 2017 by Scott, Hotel Management
Dear guest thank you for your feedback on Jewel Runaway Bay.