Ratings based on 31 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Resort is off the beaten track

Posted Aug 30, 2017
Pros: Each room has its own balcony. The grounds are well kept.
Location: It is in a ideal location in Runaway Bay. Green Grotto, Duns River Falls Ocho Rios, water parks, all within in a reasonable distance.
Villa Sonate Is a nice Villa off the beaten track. The staff are very accommodating. The meals were exactly what we were looking for. All Jamaican. The private beach access is perfect. Not crowds. Thank you
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 2, 2017 by Villa Sonate, Hotel Management
Thanks for making it Villa Sonate. We are happy that you had a wonderful stay and hope to serve you in the future again. Warmest regards from all the staff here at Villa Sonate.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Comfortable Stay

Posted Jun 14, 2017 on Hotels
Reasonably priced boutique hotel in Runaway Bay. The stay was comfortable but the bathrooms could stand to get an upgrade. The staff was friendly but there were a few small issues with our rooms. Like the size and number of beds in the rooms, additional room items that were requested during booking but not there upon check in. Overall, I would stay there again as a cheaper alternative to an all inclusive resort. *Breakfast was delicious!!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 5, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Rosaland

Quick Getaway!

Posted Mar 26, 2017 on Hotels
Very nice Villa with friendly staff. Room was spotless and smelled fresh. The food and drinks are tasty and will leave you full. Pool was on the small side however it did serve it's purpose. The public beach is very close by, transportation is needed. Approximately $100.00USD for transportation to/from hotel.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Sunny Jamaica!

Posted Mar 12, 2017 on Hotels
The Villa has always provided great accommodations for a reasonable price. Food is very good and the rooms are clean - staff is very courteous!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from d

Great location overlooking runaway bay. Clo

Posted Mar 8, 2017
Great location overlooking runaway bay. Close enough to Ocho arias if you drive or have a drive. The property is super quiet and absolutely gorgeous. The staff was unbelievable considering it was Jamaica and we were Jamaicans. They were super helpful & super courteous. They even reminded us that we had breakfast to go to. The breakfast was brilliant. Real Jamaican homestyle cooking. It was so delicious. I spent one night and I feel as if I would send all my friends there. Lovely property ! Must stay.
5 out of 5
by DEBBIE

A gem in Runaway Bay

Posted Feb 17, 2017 on Hotels
What can you say?.....Villa Sonate is a lovely hotel. All the staff are so helpful and kind. Nothing is too much to ask of them. We stayed five nights in Jan 2017 and had such a relaxing time. Breakfast sets you up for the day. Other family members stayed over the Xmas and are really happy with their stay. The room was very spacious .We hope to be staying there again soon.
4 out of 5
by Anne Marie

Okay Place to stay

Posted Jan 16, 2017 on Hotels
Our stay was fine and we had a good experience, the staff was friendly, courteous and helpful. If you ask they will give you a pass to the beach, however you will have to take a taxi if you don't have a car and if you want a beach chair you will have to pay; also I think the hotel, should let their guests know about the beach as it is not promoted. On a safety issue, the hotel has a pool and the water is always on the walkway, which is very slippery and someone can have a serious fall, they need to make some major changes in that area. Also, the place could be a little bit more lively, they have a bar in the back that is not promoted and is underutilized.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from usa

very nice place to stay

Posted Dec 15, 2016 on Hotels
breakfast was excellent and WiFi
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 6, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
It was our pleasure hosting you and was happy you had a great time. We look forward to your return. Thanks for making it Villa Sonate.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bowser, BC Canada

Great small hotel in Runaway Bay.

Posted Nov 22, 2016
Pros: The facilities, location and most of all, the friendly, helpful staff. We were made to feel like members of a family.
Cons: The bed, while clean, was somewhat, hard as were the pillows.
Location: Close to Flavours Beach, which was a nice public beach with some vendors. However the vendors were very friendly and not aggressive.
This small hotel was perfect for us. The room was clean and well-appointed. The hotel staff were fantastic. Check-in with Michelle was a breeze. The wait staff, Andre and Dalwayne, were very helpful, friendly and the service was the best we had in Jamaica. The security guards, Albert and Edward were always available on their post at the gate and were helpful and very friendly. The location of the hotel worked very well for us, as we did day trips by car.