Ratings based on 244 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
68% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from poconos,pa

nothing really to talk

Posted Apr 28, 2016
Pros: nice manger and one old cleaning lady.Other than that I"ll take a pass
Cons: Buy new tv"s.ones that you can actually see.Fix the pool
Location: nice calm area lots of places to eat.parks and beaches near by
the room cleaners and the mangers were nice people.But this would not be my choice of hotels to stay.If you need a place badly then I guess its ok
4 out of 5
by Ronald

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 22, 2016 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by William from Wisconsin

Tired hotel, okay for price

Posted Mar 26, 2016 on Hotels
Good thing my wife snores. This means I brought my earplugs. So I didn't hear the noisy A/C fan. This hotel used to be a major chain, I think a Holiday Inn. It looks like there hasn't been much maintenance since then. A few metal objects in the bathroom had rust, the bathroom fan also had a bearing going bad and was very noisy. Loose shower curtain. I could go on. It was clean, although the housekeeping was spotty. 2 (out of 4) days our towels on the bathroom floor were not replaced. Also, the wifi was useless for anything more than email (without graphics). My wife will never stay there again. If I visit without my wife I will have to look around. I will stay again if there is no reasonably priced alternative.
4 out of 5
by Chelsea from Anchorage Alaska

Nice

Posted Mar 21, 2016 on Hotels
Good a little tight in the bathroom though
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 20, 2016
It was a $50 hotel charging about $100. Breakfast limited having run out of many items, first night room had a problem toilet that couldn't be fixed requiring us to change rooms with the only staff member not offering to help move the luggage etc.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Indianapolis

Terrible experience

Posted Mar 10, 2016
Pros: The only possible appeal is that it is near I-75 in an area that has few hotels but, trust me, driving a little further would be preferable.
Cons: The staff, the building, the rooms, the carpet, the beds, the parking and the food.
Location: The location is good - the hotel is not. Drive a little further and stay in a nicer hotel.
I was forced to stay in a hotel close to Sun City due to a need to spend time with a dying relative. There are few options in the area so, even though the Ruskin Inn did not look very appealing, I took a chance. I intentionally booked the option that provides for cancellation versus the lower non-cancellable rate for a 3 night stay. At check-in the first night I informed the staff that my plans had changed and that I would be checking out in the morning. They told me that this was no problem and to just let them know at the front desk when I was leaving. Long story short, when I went to check out the next morning there was a different very disagreeable person working at the front desk and he told me that I had to pay for all three nights even though I was leaving. After a long conversation and calls to Expedia the hotel still would not relent. Now many days and many phone calls later, Expedia is taking steps to provide me with a credit but the hotel still is greedily billing me for 2 nights that I did not stay there. Aside from their dishonesty, the property is in terrible run-down condition. My room had an odd odor and I was afraid to walk on the carpet without shoes on - unidentifiable stains and marks. The "breakfast" is not edible. Suffice it to say that I will never stay there again and I would not recommend it to anyone! There are much nicer hotels just a little father away in Brandon - they would be worth the drive versus staying at the Ruskin Inn.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Waste of time

Posted Feb 28, 2016 on Hotels
Badly in need of an update there is very little to be positive about with this hotel. The walls are very thin so you can hear everything from the adjoining rooms. The breakfast is very unappealing in a scruffy room, fruit juice was mainly water. Would be more acceptable at half the price.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from g

Ignored upon arrival noisy AC UNIT

Posted Feb 25, 2016 on Orbitz
First of all being ignored by 2 employees was ridiculous. The room was only so so Old sheets that were pilling old pillows. Noisey AC unit that we had to jam a telephone book into to stop the rattle. Our view was plastic with blue tape our door had gaps unit so you could hear everything in hall Repair above the shower was falling and Not painted . I would not recommend
4 out of 5
by Roger

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 24, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Sandra from Huntley

Ruskin visit

Posted Feb 10, 2016 on Hotels
Quick one night stay while visiting friends. Had a little trouble with the heat as it was very cold outside but overall it fit what we were looking for. Just a little dated.