Ratings based on 119 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Excellent location

Posted Jul 9, 2017
Pros: Staff, bed, linen, location.
Hananui Lodge is in a perfect location in Russell situated on the beach in the middle of town. Russell is a beautiful old town steeped in history. Very quiet for our winter stay with the boat tours on our doorstep. John, our host gave us a map and explained all the places we should visit while in Russell. John also booked our boat tour for the following morning. Our accomodation reminded me of an old guesthouse or similar that was maintained beautifully. Bed, linen and towels were all quality! Thank you John and family.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 14, 2017 by John, Hotel Management
Hello Caroline Thank you very much for staying with us we hope you can come back and see us in the future. Kind regards John & family
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brisbane, Qld Australia

Comfortable and convenient hotel

Posted Jun 16, 2017
Even though there's not much in the way of similar lodgings, this was a gem. We were initially disappointed to find ourselves staying in the newer block over the road and not on the waterfront, but our rooms were excellent, fairly new, well-appointed and very clean and comfortable. Easy walking distance to everything - interesting historic church, very professional museum and some great places to eat. Would definitely stay again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 14, 2017 by John , Hotel Management
Hello Penny Thank you for taking the time to write a review we appreciate it we are glad you enjoyed the apartment and our beautiful town. Kind regards John & Rongo ( managers )
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Nice place close to beach in a lovely town.

Posted May 9, 2017 on Wotif
Pros: Friendly owners, location, facilities - great spot.
Cons: Nothing jumps to mind.
Location: The are many, from leisure and relaxing to the more adventurous. everything from walking, cruises, fishing, swimming, sailing, and much more.
The location is great, Russell is pretty as a town and beach. Accommodation is the lodge and apartments - lodge units very close to the beach, apartments newer and a further 50 metres from the beach but has secure car parking. We had wonderful weather even though it was May - still, warm, and blue. Russell great place to explore Bay of Islands with its ferry links and cruises as you wish, and many great eating places close by looking over the beach.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Auckland NZ

Fabulous accomodation.

Posted May 3, 2017
Pros: Location, bed, space, fresh air, secure parking, warm reception
Cons: TV could be a bigger
Location: Cafes, restuarants, very freindlyand helpful Pharmacy staff
Well appointed, clean rooms with plenty of space. Very comfortable bed and great location for cafes and restaurants. Also loved the secure parking. Very freindly staff and we wouldnt hesitate to return:)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canterbury

Nice room very close to the beach

Posted May 3, 2017 on Wotif
Pros: Location, cleanliness, facilities.
Cons: Hot water pressure!
Location: Very central location, you can walk everywhere. Right on the beach. Opposite the 4 square. Next to restaurants.
John and Rongo are wonderful hosts, full of local information. The facilities are clean, and are well equipped to self cater. Very central location. Hot spa appreciated ! John phoned guests in the mornings to see if there was anything we needed! Highly recommend these studio, units, apartments.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location, very clean tidy and private rooms.

Posted May 1, 2017 on Wotif
Great location, very clean tidy and private rooms. Location is very close to the Wharf, shops, restaurants and cafes. All within easy walking distance.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Great location, excellent staff

Posted Apr 22, 2017
Pros: Location, staff, facilities, comfort
Cons: Not much
Beautiful spot, almost on the beach in Russell. Great place for a 2 or 3 night stay as there is stacks to do about Russell. Staff supportive and helpful....hopefully will return
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from auckland

Great location, great accommodation, great hosts

Posted Apr 12, 2017
Cleanest accommodation we've stayed at in a lovely position near waterfront and amenities. Great friendly hosts Recommend if visiting Russell
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Great managers, view, location & it's spotless

Posted Apr 10, 2017 on Wotif
Pros: Everything .... from attitude of management, cleanliness and great location with an easy few minutes walk to the main part of Russell.
Cons: Nothing at all.
Location: It's located right on the beach front in historic Russell so it's easy few minutes walk to Pommpelier House and all the main street attractions.
We had booked in for 3 nights & added an extra night as we liked it so much. The managers immediately tuned into us suggesting sight seeing, restaurants and places to try, as well as checking on our welfare each day without imposing. We had a studio with balcony - rooms are spotlessly clean, well equiped with kitchen facilities and the balcony had a lovely view towards the water. Our large king size bed was very comfortable. I would highly recommend it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Great Relaxing Spot

Posted Apr 3, 2017 on Wotif
Pros: The managers were extremely helpful & lovely people. The Lodge was well kept inside & out. Great Location.
Cons: Rubber feet on chairs outside - to help with noise moving the chairs
Location: Fishing , Sailing, Hiking, Swimming, Parasaliing, Helecopter Flights, Cruising on the Bay.
The view from the front unit we had was amazing. Relaxing place just to do as much or as little as you want. Some lovely restaurants a couple of minutes away. All in all a relaxing atmosphere. We will RETURN.