Ratings based on 171 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 26, 2017
great winter get away. nice and peaceful. great facilities.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful Location & Cottages

Posted May 15, 2017
Location: One of the highlights of my whole New Zealand experience was a 4 hour boat cruise called "Discover the Bay" through the Bay of Islands.
Russell Cottages are a short walk from the beach and Main Street of this quaint town. They are really small houses that are nicely decorated and furnished.The staff were very pleasant and helpful. The facility is kept in pristine condition as was the temperature of the pool and hot tub!
5 out of 5
by Victoria

Peaceful and perfect cottages

Posted Apr 30, 2017 on Hotels
These cottages are simply amazing and very good value. It was as though we had our own holiday home with complete kitchen, ensuite bathroom, seperate laundry and plenty of space for our 2 children. The heated pool and spa were clean and well maintained. The cottage was serviced daily. Although not right on the waterfront it is only a few minutes walk away, but much more quiet than it would be overlooking the beach and a lot less expensive. I would highly recommend, and will most definitely be back.
5 out of 5
by Wei

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 25, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Auckland NZ

Excellent Location

Posted Apr 2, 2017
Cons: The floor level of the unit we had definitely needs some attention. IN my opinion it should be rented out like that - especially at full cost.
Nice, clean hotel but the whole of our unit - number 14, was unlevel. The floor had a very noticeable slope on it and the water sat unevenly in the ensuite shower and the kitchen sink. It was very unnerving and was not explained to us before we rented the unit. Even upstairs it felt as if you were walking drunk. We thought we were going mental so we laid a bottle down on the floor by the couch and it rolled completely to the other wall - unaided. Not something that we would expect from a "luxury" accommodation. The downstairs toilet / laundry area door wouldn't close due to the un-levelness of the unit. But a great location, a great night was had and the people were very pleasant.
5 out of 5
by Carole

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 20, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from australia

Beautiful cottages in Russell

Posted Mar 17, 2017
Russell cottages is a 2 minute walk to the shops, the esplanade and wharf. Giving you easy access to Paihia, and pickup point for most tours. We really enjoyed our stay in Russell cottages it was lovely to have a homely feel away from home.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Southland

Excellent

Posted Mar 8, 2017 on Lastminute
Amazing stay and didn't want to leave. Clean spacious and quiet. Close know everything
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Great 3 bedroom cottage. Amazing stay.

Posted Feb 23, 2017
We stayed in 5, a 3 bedroom cottage. Upstairs was a bathroom with bath, 3 good size room with one ensuite. Downstairs is huge open plan living with everything you expect. seperate toilet and laundry also. The pool is small but perfect adequate for a dip after exploring Russell and the bay. There's also a hot tub. Seperate inside seating area with dining table next to pool with BBQ you can book to use also. Was more expensive compared to other accommodation in area but the level of cleanliness, facilities and comfort make it worth it.
5 out of 5
by Yang

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 26, 2017 on Hotels