Ratings based on 80 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
60% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A basement one-room apartment

Posted Aug 1, 2016
I was disappointed to learn our room was in the basement. The room was big and nicely decorated but the windows were at ground level or in front of a wall which diminished our privacy and the airing of the room. The staff was nice except for the checking out process which included a very thorough room check, including making sure we didn't take the pen. It was very embarrassing, uncomfortable and left us feeling very uninvited.
3 out of 5
by Brandon from America

Pleased....but...

Posted Jul 9, 2016 on Hotels
Liked the room and the condition of the room, the staff was very friendly and helpful. Didn't like hearing the neighbors so clearly and their kids going outside in the backyard at 10pm was not what I expected.
4 out of 5
by tanja from Domžale, Slovenija

good value for money

Posted Nov 3, 2015 on Hotels
We came very late so the owners were nice enough to leave us the key. Nice big room with bathroom, everything you need, clean.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

review 1

Posted Oct 23, 2015 on Hotels
Very nice hotel for a preety low price.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Germany

Very nice!

Posted Jul 26, 2015
Nice apartment with two bathrooms, perfect for a family of four.
3 out of 5
by Frustrated traveller from England

Inflexible and unwelcoming hosts...

Posted Aug 11, 2013 on Hotels
Due to very severe thunder storms in Stuttgart we were forced to bring forward our onward journey to Rust arriving at Gästehaus Alba over two hours earlier than originally planned on booking five months earlier... Since it was still raining on our arrival we thought having paid € 475 for four nights (excl. breakfast) and otherwise having to wait with two young children for hours in the car might persuade the owners of Gästehaus Alba to let us have the keys to our already prepared flat earlier than expected… Big mistake – the host made it very clear that she did not appreciate having one of her rare rest periods disturbed (no customer service between 11am and 5pm) and only reluctantly handed over the keys to our cellar flat. Our flat was clean, the furniture and equipment were dated (though in good working order) but when we enquired regarding the advertised free Wifi we were advised that technical reasons prevented any reception in our rented accommodation and that the only reception was outside the house (next to the road)… Despite the unfriendly welcome we still enjoyed our visits to the Europapark and several trips to see friends in Freiburg. My final word of advice for future guests at Gästehaus Alba is to obey the house rules to the letter, to leave your flat as clean and tidy as you possibly can and don’t forget to empty all the bins too, unless you prefer being hit by a heavy exit penalty to have your rubbish disposed of by the cleaner…
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Colum from Kent, UK

Good base for Europa Park

Posted Aug 29, 2012
Pros: Close to Europa Park, separate room for children.
Cons: Lack of natural light, no TV in living quarters.
Location: Great for Europa Park.
Location is very close to Europa Park (15 minutes casual walk). Also a convenient stopover for our family. Having the separate bedroom for the children is good but as the apartment was in the basement, only that bedroom had natural light. This meant that the rest of the apartment was a bit dingey which could be better when the adults want to stay up for a bit. Also, the TV was in the childrens' bedroom so we could not even watch that after the kids went to bed! The mini bar offered food and drinks at exceptionally good prices and the kitchen was well equipped.
2 out of 5
by frasal from switzerland

Lovely design hotel, but unconfortable

Posted Jul 12, 2012
Pros: beautiful room
Cons: unconfortable
Location: very good for europa park
It was a beautiful and big room, very design and lovely stuffed, near the EuropaPark. But: - it was unconfortable - the owner was too stressed about possible nuisances from us (dont open windows, dont walk on parquet, ...) - no curtains on the windows
4 out of 5
by Johnston Family

Nice and convenient for Europa Park.

Posted Jul 2, 2012 on Hotels
Our room was nice and big, modern and clean. It was 88 degrees the day we stayed and I was very glad that our room (the quartett) was in the basement because they did not have air conditioning. I thought it was a bit odd that the owner asked us to clean the dishes that we used. There was a dishwasher, however, so I just filled that up and let it run. We bought our tickets to Europa park from the owner which was nice and we got a coupon book with it that gave us free parking at the park as well as a take home brochure. Overall a nice experience.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Gaestehaus Alba -close to the Europapark

Posted Nov 9, 2011 on Hotels
We had very friendly welcome in this ideally located guest house for visiting the Europa Park . Very convenient for visiting the Alsace, Freiburg or the Black Forest. Very clean, good breakfast and good value for money considering how expensive the hotels in the park are. The owners are very helpful and we would certainly stay there again.