Ratings based on 34 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.0 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by LYNETTE from Nelspruit

Posted Mar 28, 2016 on Hotels
Not booking there again after being cheated of my monies. Bad dealing & non co-operative staff. Never booking here gain, NEVER!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 9, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Lynette Oh dear! We are so sad and disappointed that you had a bad experience at our hotel. Please accept our apology for the inconvenience that was caused. Senior Management is being informed of this and the matter will be investigated to see what went wrong in order to rectify this. Although you do not want to book with us again, we would like you to know that you as our guest is very important to us and do hope to see you in the future and that you will have a much improved experience. Warm regards Staff and Management Safari Lodge Rustenburg
4 out of 5
by Donald from Carrigaline

Posted Mar 25, 2016 on Hotels
Out in the Sticks but wonderful View. Food only average but good value for money
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 9, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Donald Thank you for the nice review of Safari Lodge. We are pleased to hear that you had an overall good experience. We are looking into the food experience that you had to make sure that our food is of quality standard We value you as our guest at Safari Lodge and do hope that you will return in the near future. Warm Regards Staff and Management Safari Lodge Rustenburg
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Starks, LA

Peaceful setting, beautiful gardens

Posted Mar 7, 2016
Loved staying here. Executive suite was spacious and comfortable. Only complaint was that it was hard to find. I suggest you phone the hotel for GPS coordinates before you travel.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 5, 2016 by Nadia , Hotel Management
Dear Karl Thank you for the lovely review of Safari Lodge. We appreciate and thank you for you kind words. We will look into how we can make it easier for guests to find the hotel. We do hope that you will return in the near future again for another great visit with us. Warm regards staff and management Safari Lodge Rustenburg
3 out of 5
by myakayaka from pretoria

Posted Jan 19, 2016 on Hotels
The cleaning left a lot to be desired and my partner lost a watch which we forgot in the room and that was never recovered. The quality of the food was below expectations with fewer options.
3 out of 5
by Brian from So we to meadowla

Relaxation

Posted Dec 13, 2015 on Hotels
Good
2 out of 5
by Gordon from Bryanston

Disappointing

Posted Dec 9, 2015 on Hotels
Very disappointing state of the room and beds are hard and uncomfortable.The food was shocking and costly.The service in the restaurant was very slow but the waitress did try.For what I paid this was NOT value for money and is on the low end of 3 star-never again
2 out of 5
by Martin

Posted Dec 9, 2015 on Hotels
Place is old and run down. Only the reception is upgraded - giving unrealistic expectations!
3 out of 5
by Devang

Booking Confirmation from Hotels.com not working!!

Posted Nov 30, 2015 on Hotels
I booked this hotel through Hotels.com but i got shocked when at the reception they said they could not find any booking in my name. It really embarrased us. I don't know where the gap is and who is at the fault. I had to send the Hotels.com confirmation emails with the booking reference numbers to several people at Orion Safari Lodge to convince them that the booking was made and was fully paid off. If this is the fault from Hotels.com then seriously i won't be using their services going forward.
4 out of 5
by Dennis from Botswana

ok

Posted Oct 28, 2015 on Hotels
Stay was good. Hotel recovering from fire so not at full function. Beds very hard. Staff very helpful. Located at bottom of Kloof mountains. beautiful! Do to fire phones not working so could not get wake up calls or call for room service etc.
3 out of 5
by VA DU from Middelburg

a

Posted Oct 17, 2015 on Hotels
Was all good only one problem I ask the caller on the other side I whant a place in Sun city and after my arrifal it was in Rustenburg