Ratings based on 97 Verified Reviews

2.9 out of 5
53% of guests recommend
3.1 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Disapointed customer

Posted Dec 8, 2016
Pros: Clean and the staff was nice.
Cons: Size of the beds
I was very disapointed with out stay at your hotel. There was no ice machine,no utensils of any kind in the kitchen glasses or plates. At breakfast there was none or no time of when it was suppose to be. The rooms were fine and clean. Also they need to update there beds small for two people of size. I think it said Queen but they felt more like doubles to me
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Greenbelt, Md

False advertisement

Posted Dec 7, 2016
The room smelled musky. Did not receive a complete set of linen. The continental breakfast was a joke. Granola bars and coffee.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Poor quality of room and building ambience...

Posted Nov 4, 2016
Unclean room..poor standard compared to other extended stay America hotels...found ostuff from previous occupant....room and building ambiance was like a cheap motel.. never staying here again..
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Oct 24, 2016
Wish there was a little more to the Continental Breakfast
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 1, 2016 by Manager, Hotel Management
Your comments are much appreciated. I am glad you had a pleasant stay and we have taken note of your suggestion for our grab-and-go breakfast. Once more, thank you for posting your review. We look forward to having you visit with us again in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from LAKE HOPATCONG, NJ

Wonderful Stay

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Location: I was attending my 50th class reunion from St. Mary High School.
The Room was exactly what was needed for us. It was within no more then 10 miles from all the sites we need to go to for the weekend. You need to check with Garmin. Their GPS did could not find the street address. On Saturday, I met a couple from Maryland. They said that their GPS got them to RT 3. After that no more directions.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 28, 2016 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I am pleased to see you were provided with accommodations that suited your needs and our location was beneficial. Thank you again for your review. It would be our pleasure for you to repeat your experience with us in the future.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hughesville, PA

Typical Extended Stay America property.

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Pros: Friendly staff. Good location. Adequate comfort.
Cons: Stop requiring paid wi-fi upgrade when you advertise "free" wi-fi. Property and rooms could be cleaner. Hot water issues. Lame breakfast.
Location: MetLife Stadium. New York City.
Good location near MetLife Stadium. Confusing to find with two other Extended Stay America hotels in the vicinity. Fairly large room provides acceptable comfort. "Free"wi-fi requires paid upgrade to be truly usable. Free "breakfast" terribly limited. Not the cleanest property, but certainly not the worst. Staff is friendly and helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great place to stay!!!!

Posted Oct 11, 2016
Location: Very close to city
I always try to book extended stay. Hotel was clean and staff was friendly price fits most budgets. Would definitely recommend and definitely would stay again!
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 14, 2016 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. It is great to see that our convenient location was perfect for your needs and that our pricing for rooms fit your budget. Thank you again for your review. We look forward to seeing you in the future, should your travels bring you back to our area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from north arlington, nj

Posted Oct 8, 2016
Pros: much bigger than expected and had a full kitchen was perfect too especially for a guest staying with children as myself.
Cons: Ordered extra pillow & blanket however was told that I needed to come down to the desk to recieve them, to me that is a little inconvenient
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 12, 2016 by Manager, Hotel Management
I appreciate you taking the time to write a review. It is good to know that your accommodations was just what you and your party needed, but I am disappointed you were inconvenienced to have to pick up you addition linens. Once more, thank you for posting your review. We look forward to having you visit with us again in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to just about everything

Posted Oct 2, 2016
Place was awesome! Had completely everything we needed and was close to so many attractions. For the price it was purely amazing! Only complaint I had was when we had to switch rooms (my own date mistake) the next room's sheets did smell like pee.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 7, 2016 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your experience. I'm glad to read you had a great stay at our hotel and valued the affordable price you paid for accommodations. Thank you again for your review. We look forward to seeing you in the future, should your travels bring you back to our area.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not a good place to stay

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Booked non smoking room and recieved smoking room. Staff was not coperstive when i asked for the reason. I was totally unhappy with the stay. Also I didnot recieved any positive response from expedia people when I called them to inform about this issue. They always said they will connect to supervisor and it never hsppened.