Ratings based on 180 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Stoke on Trent

Very relaxing hotel

Posted Jan 30, 2017
Pros: The caring attitude of staff.
Cons: possibly more heating in the library
Location: Ruthin is a lovely place, the scenery in the area is beautiful with lovely walks around the castle.
Excellent hotel. Staff were very friendly, food lovely and the rooms were exceptional. I have stayed here twice and look forward to staying here again. Special thanks to Richard on Reception for being so helpful.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from England

The setting was beautiful but the room was damp.

Posted Jan 9, 2017
Pros: The setting and it's beauty.
Cons: Many things. There is a real damp issue.
Location: The location was fine and accessible to other places.
When stepping on the tiles in the smallest bathroom ever water appeared around the edges. There was a fan heater to heat a cold and damp room. The windows were full of condensation and only one opened. The staff were very pleasant. Overall we had a lovely time but the hotel is in need of a renovation. I accept that it is old but the standards were not good enough.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 19, 2016 on Hotels
Excellent day and night highly recommended
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from liverpool

Posted Nov 14, 2016
We enjoyed a long-overdue, relaxing weekend away and were blown away from the second that we drove up the driveway. The castle itself is absolutely stunning, but the main feature for us had to be the staff - every single member of staff that we came across was calm, friendly and extremely welcoming. Thank you all for such a lovely stay!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brecon, Wales

Fantastic indulgent stay at the Castle

Posted Nov 3, 2016
The hotel was an amazing place to stay in. Lots of history behind both the medieval and 19th century castles, which having an interest in meant it was the main draw for me. The amount of structure in tact from the original was great, you really get a feel for the context of the castle, and the later build is impressive in its own right. The grounds are beautiful and well managed, with plenty of exploring available. However, with respect to the hotel I was also pleasantly surprised by how welcoming and accommodating every member of staff was. Nothing was too much bother for them, although we weren't particularly fussy guests. The food was incredible; delicious and well portioned. We had both breakfast and dinner there, and couldn't fault either. Breakfast was a very sensible 7 until 10 am affair, meaning a good chance for a lie in if needed and was well stocked throughout with plated and continental. Dinner was superb and the maitre d of the restaurant was good conversation and well knowledged on the menu. The bedroom was clean and well equipped, but the bed was the highlight. Amazingly comfortable. The Moat spa was great, too. My girlfriend and I had deep tissue massages that were excellent, though be aware that treatments were extra. Use of the thermal suite facilities (hot tub, cold tub, wet and dry saunas) were included in the cost of the room though, and we made good use of them while there. Clean and tidy with very friendly staff. Definitely recommended.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Fabulous hotel

Posted Oct 30, 2016 on Hotels
Lovely hotel and amazing room (book a suite!) We couldn't have chosen a better location, and a beautiful spa hotel. The lady with the moon finger tattoo was very welcoming and helpful, and breakfast was perfect to set us up for the day. Maybe avoid the dark haired (and useless) night Porter if you've an early request! Otherwise, fantastic!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Excellent cuisine in historic setting

Posted Oct 27, 2016 on Hotels
Nice historic castle with good, modern facilities and excellent cuisine.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sheffield,S Yorkshire

Stunning

Posted Oct 27, 2016 on Ebookers
Location: Very easy to get to,the Castle is easily spotted from miles away and quite literally 5 min walk from the town center.
We arrived at just gone 3pm to a ground full of the most beautiful Peacocks just wandering around with their babies minding their own business,A lovely warm welcome from reception. Check in took all of 5 mins and was informative and easy.Our room...... the 2nd biggest bed ive ever been in (1st one being Heartbreak Hotel Memphis,but everything is huge over there)! It was sumptuous,with a nice heavy quilt and as many pillows as u like. The room was a standard luxury room but never felt like it. It was very cosy,had air con,iron & drinks supplies of tea,coffee & hot chocolate and the Roll top bath & shower was so huge!! Toiletries are provided,as are huge white fluffy towels that are left warming for ur arrival. The Castle is wonderfull,from every angle inside & out! The lounges are all homely and just as you would expect,all huge fireplaces,rugs & sofas with paintings,mirrors & the occaisional Knights Armour. The food is cooked to perfection with a large choice and the option to have it brought to ur room. I WANT TO LIVE THERE!!!! We cant wait to go back. Ruthin town is about a 5 min walk away and has lots goin on,little shops,bars and a post office. Theres a Costa,Weatherspoons & Boots. Down the little hill (5-10 min) is the old Gaol... well worth a visit we spent over 2 hrs in there (cost £5 each). Theres also a Craft & Art gallery (free entry).We had a lovely time in Ruthin and WHEN we go back,will most definatly stay at the Castle again!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Classy castle!

Posted Oct 13, 2016 on Hotels
We so enjoyed our stay at Ruthin Castle. It was such a unique experience to be able to stay in the room that royalty had once stayed! The castle's library bar offered a beautiful environment to indulge in a cocktail and light meal.The morning's buffet breakfast was hearty and impeccably displayed. We so enjoyed walking around the castle's historical garden ruins among the beautiful peacocks! Unforgettable experience!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

beautiful place for romance

Posted Oct 13, 2016 on Hotels
woke up the first morning to a flat on the rental, staff called AA to help me get the problem remedied, as a side note the room that I was given thru Hotels.com was awfully small and in area of the hotel they called the dungeon, and it felt like one the so we paid for an upgrade and got a beautiful room on the mail level if you stay I recommend you look into the upgrades it was not a lot of money and the room was twice as big