Ratings based on 130 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego, California

Lovely setting

Posted Nov 19, 2015
We attended a wedding at a castle. Wow! Pretty specjal. It was a beautiful outside setting. The weather broke just long enough to get the ceremony in. The entire staff was professional, helpful, and very pleasant. And it is just a few minutes walk to shops and pubs. We hope to have the chance to visit Ruthin Castle again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by PETER

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 2, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Essex

Beautiful hotel in historic village

Posted Oct 29, 2015
My husband and I had a lovely 5 day stay here over October half term. It is a beautiful hotel in stunning grounds and a lovely village with quite a bit of history. You are relatively close to everything - we had an hour drive to Mount Snowdon which is well worth a visit, just stunning. We also had another hour drive to Conwy Castle which is another very interesting day out. We then had day in Chester (40 mins away) which is good for shopping but also another interesting history location. Breakfast was good but we weren't overwhelmed by the evening menu. We found 'On the Hill' just a few mins walk from the castle an excellent restaurant instead. We visited here for our 10th anniversary and it definitely didn't disappoint for this special occasion. We stayed in a suite which wasn't that much more expensive and gave us much more space so it was very comfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

Nice hotel with lovely grounds

Posted Oct 22, 2015
Pros: The whole experience.
Cons: Toaster at breakfast people queuing. Much easier for staff when they bring the drinks out, to also bring the toast at the same time.
We treated my six year old Grandson, who is mad about old castles, to 2 nights at Ruthann Castle, which we all thoroughly enjoyed..
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Susan from Leeds

Don't expect great rooms!

Posted Sep 26, 2015 on Hotels
Stayed for a wedding, which was amazing. However, on day of arrival certain drinks were unavailable. Pretty basic ones too ie tonic water! We were told there would be a delivery the next day. Bedroom was tiny with dust in wardrobe so anything special would have been marked. Bathroom was lovely, with roll top bath, but shower awkward to manage. Overall, a good stay, mainly due to wedding ceremony in the old part of the castle and great post ceremony celebrations.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Great castle and beautiful grounds!

Posted Sep 15, 2015
Pros: Decor, spacious room, staff
Location: Great location with less than 5 minute walk into town. Town has churches, shops and lots of restaurants
This was truly the castle experience from the long drive up to the decorations. The room was very spacious and had plenty of room. The staff really made you feel like you were special guests even helping with dinner reservations. Breakfast buffet was very nice, with good assortment of food and great service.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Asheville, NC, USA

Historic relaxing hotel

Posted Aug 10, 2015
Pros: The fact that you are sitting right in the middle of 12 century ruins, the castle themed bedrooms, the complimentary spa, the breakfast buffet,
Cons: Letting you know to book well in advance if you want spa services like a massage, etc. Copy of menu, historic guide to area in room
Location: Easy walk to Ruthin, food co-op, fish and chips, historic buildings, fun shops, old jail museum (closed Tuesdays)
Upon pulling through the archway you know you are in for a treat. The hotel itself is a mansion type building full of lovely antiques, fireplaces burning and romantic nooks. Our room overlooked the other building but was decorated to make you feel like a princess. The bed was gold and ornate with heavy tapestry, clawfoot tub in the bathroom. Plenty of space. The windows swung open so you could let in a nice breeze. The ruins were all around you so anywhere you went you could see something of interest. The spa was simple and a nice perk. You get a robe and flip flops as soon as you go down and change. Unfortunately we didn't use the exercise facilities as we didn't bring the right clothes, but we did remember a bathing suit so we fully enjoyed the sauna, hot tubs and the coolest rain shower. There was only one hot tub functioning at the time and it was a small wooden barrel type. But it was complimentary so one can't complain. We had a complimentary buffet breakfast which was an English type breakfast, very nice. Overall it is a very great deal for a hotel much less one that is so beautiful and with so much historic significance. Don't forget to search out the stone circle on the property.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Frank from Phoenix

Posted Jul 23, 2015 on Hotels
Nice place. Very interesting and very comfortable, but not a 5 star. Worth the stay here.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Manchester

Amazing x

Posted Jul 13, 2015
Fantastic Castle! Gorgeous settings, food, staff, rooms, grounds Mint. Will defo be coming again & again lol
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Dana from Lafayette, CO, USA

Lovely "castle" stay

Posted Jun 18, 2015 on Hotels
I booked this room because I really wanted to stay at a castle while we were in Wales. And while Ruthin Castle is a castle, the rooms didn't have that feel at all. Don't get me wrong, the room was lovely, nicely decorated, very comfortable bed, and a beautiful bathroom, but it was all very modern. On the inside, the Castle looks like just about any other nice hotel. There might be rooms that are more "castle-y" but the base rooms definitely are not. The grounds are beautiful, and it's a quick walk into town Overall, it was a lovely stay.