Ratings based on 163 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from liverpool

Posted Nov 14, 2016
We enjoyed a long-overdue, relaxing weekend away and were blown away from the second that we drove up the driveway. The castle itself is absolutely stunning, but the main feature for us had to be the staff - every single member of staff that we came across was calm, friendly and extremely welcoming. Thank you all for such a lovely stay!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Brecon, Wales

Fantastic indulgent stay at the Castle

Posted Nov 3, 2016
The hotel was an amazing place to stay in. Lots of history behind both the medieval and 19th century castles, which having an interest in meant it was the main draw for me. The amount of structure in tact from the original was great, you really get a feel for the context of the castle, and the later build is impressive in its own right. The grounds are beautiful and well managed, with plenty of exploring available. However, with respect to the hotel I was also pleasantly surprised by how welcoming and accommodating every member of staff was. Nothing was too much bother for them, although we weren't particularly fussy guests. The food was incredible; delicious and well portioned. We had both breakfast and dinner there, and couldn't fault either. Breakfast was a very sensible 7 until 10 am affair, meaning a good chance for a lie in if needed and was well stocked throughout with plated and continental. Dinner was superb and the maitre d of the restaurant was good conversation and well knowledged on the menu. The bedroom was clean and well equipped, but the bed was the highlight. Amazingly comfortable. The Moat spa was great, too. My girlfriend and I had deep tissue massages that were excellent, though be aware that treatments were extra. Use of the thermal suite facilities (hot tub, cold tub, wet and dry saunas) were included in the cost of the room though, and we made good use of them while there. Clean and tidy with very friendly staff. Definitely recommended.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sweden

Great weekend destination

Posted Oct 16, 2016
Location: Gardens, sheep, lovely walk-about surroundings.
Staff friendly, atmosphere pitoresque and quite romantic. We had our 15 month old with us and the staff was very kind and friendly. A tip is to remove the carpet in the room. Very dirty.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Greater Machester

on the cusp on turning into a disaster

Posted Oct 4, 2016
Pros: hotel bar and outside areas
Cons: gas fires and fake flowers
Location: there is a nice restaurant called on the hill nearby for lunch.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Shropshire

Somewhere different

Posted Sep 27, 2016
Pros: Just somewhere different and interesting to explore.
Cons: Being as old as it is - yes it needs a makeover, but that would probably cost millions. So if you look beyond that - its fine.
Location: Ruthin has a lot more to offer than we originally thought - we got the local map trail and saw all the fascinating building and church. Really pretty.
Surprise birthday present and certainly wowed partner to be staying in a castle, even if only early 1800's - but the old castle was still very interesting in the grounds of the hotel. Stayed on a dinner bed and breakfast basis and the food was wonderful and served by smiling staff. Room was really large and view was tranquil and quiet.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful old castle

Posted Sep 21, 2016
This was a great hotel...old castle ambience with fully updated amenities! Beautiful room, views and grounds. Wonderful staff. We arrived too late to get a table for dinner in the dining room but we ate in the bar area and LOVED it. Big leather couches, wing back chairs, fireplace! Our room was down a long hallway passed the kitchen and then down a staircase. The hallway we had to walk down needs some freshening up, cleaning and some paint. Looked a little sad and worn. But otherwise a great place. Don't miss this wonderful hotel.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Holmfirth, W.Yorks

Second visit to this beautiful castle

Posted Sep 17, 2016
Pros: Everything, see above!
Cons: The breakfast was not as plentiful and did not have as good a selection or presentation as last year but still adequate.
Location: Had a nice visit to Glassblobbery, Glanrofen , Nr Corwen, around 11 miles from the castle. Went on steam train from Corwen to Llangolen, wonderful!!
We had a 3 night stay here on 13th September. We stayed last year and thoroughly enjoyed it so decided to return. Lovely atmospheric castle, the grounds are a joy to walk around. Lovely comfortable bed, lovely crisp clean bed linen. Staff are very pleasant and extremely helpful. Peacocks wander around the ground, lovely to see! The 3 course dinner we had in the evenings was really really good, full marks to the Chef. Beautiful little market town, lots of quirky shops and nice little cafes. Well worth a visit, book it !
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Definitely not 4*

Posted Sep 14, 2016
Pros: Nice grounds. Nice lounge and bar.
Cons: Staff attitude. Decor. Much reduced prices needed to reflect size and quality of rooms.
Phone call received 1 hour prior to check-in to inform us the thermal spa was closed - later found out it had been this way for at least a week. When we complained to the manager about the late notice he claimed we had been e-mailed a week before - we hadn't - eventually offered a tiny 10% off the bill. Queried a mystery item on the invoice for 'Preservation Fund' - £2.50. Again told we had been emailed about this prior to arriving - we hadn't, asked for it to be removed from the invoice. The bedroom (Rm 123) was tiny, hardly room to move around the bed and no character - mdf cupboard housing the kettle. Corridors dark, dirty walls and doors badly in need of re-painting. Slow service at breakfast on the first morning - coffee and toast took 20mins to arrive, reminded staff twice, indifferent response. Very limited selection of food on the breakfast buffet. Can't comment on the quality of evening meals as decided not to try the restaurant after seeing the food hygiene rating of one displayed on the front door and the expensive prices on the menu.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Norfolk

Could be so wonderful.......

Posted Sep 9, 2016
Pros: It's a castle! It has history, you can explore the grounds and inside, and use your imagination. There are two old caged lifts - great!
Cons: Needs lots of improvement in every aspect unfortunately. Start with the Food Hygiene rating of a one! Not a good advert on your front entrance.
Location: We stayed here as a stop over on leaving Wales - but it seems a good location for a weekend as it's not far from Birmingham or Chester. Quaint village
Stayed for one night - wanted my daughters to have an experience staying in a castle for our last night in Wales. It is a very special place, steeped in history, with romantic ruins but unfortunately it does need a lot of work and money spent on it. I got a good deal on the price, however after staying there, we still paid too much money and would hesitate recommending it friends and family. I feel for the owners - they need to charge to get money in but it has to be worth it. This place has so much potential...it could be wonderful, but it needs investment, and maintenance - not on the obvious old building itself or historic features, but on it's the new fixtures and fittings and service. It was a wet day and there were a lot of buckets in hallways. It has a food hygiene rating of one - it was the first time we had seen anywhere with that rating! Despite this we ordered simple food from the library, it took over an hour although the place was empty. The staff were apologetic and let us have a dessert at no charge. Our rooms looked lovely and had everything you could wish for but maintenance was very poor. Our bath waste was not connected so when we emptied it it drained on the floor - bit of a shock to say the least - handy husband got down on his knees to fix it and saw they had tried to wedge the waste up to the underside of the bath with one of their small shampoo bottles! It could write a lot but all in all, it was an adventure and a stay we will remember for sure!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 1, 2016 on Hotels