Ratings based on 205 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from isle of man

A disappointment

Posted Oct 19, 2017
Pros: Nothing really
Cons: Everything
Location: Great location, easy access to the tourist attractions in the Ruthin town is a delightful place to wonder around, with the local people very friendly.
We booked a two night break at Ruthin Castle hotel, what a disappointment!! The main reception rooms are clean and fully acceptable however, once you enter the landing via the stairs, the carpet is thread bare in places, the white painted double door needs washing down and the glass panes also need cleaning. The bedroom with its four poster bed rotten window frames and botched repairs are very poor. As for the bathroom with its very out dated fittings chipped paint and shower that literally showers you when trying to turn it on. The dining room staff are slow taking half an hour before offering drinks or taking an order, we moved from the restaurant into the bar since we had arranged to meet friends at a certain time, it took one hour for the meal to be brought to the table, just as our friends arrived. A free round of drinks did not placate. The second evening, again we had friends joining us, we cancelled our booking in the restaurant and opted for a bar meal, which I’m pleased to say was delivered promptly. Overall a big disappointment, having stayed in other Castles, Ruthin is surely the worst. We will never return nor recommend.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hertfordshire

Impressive Castle

Posted Oct 8, 2017
Pros: Castle and ruins are impressive with an interesting history. Lounges, bar, reception have the wow factor with high ceilings and wonderful decor.
Cons: Attention to detail - wobbly tapover the sink, wobbly toilet roll holder, hair dryer not working, restaurant food wasn't great
Location: Hotel is a very short walk from the very pretty but very quiet town. It was a Sunday and all except the coffee shop and a couple of bars were closed.
Chose the hotel because I had a Canadian visitor who wished to stay in a Welsh Castle. Early registration was denied unfortunately so we were unable to freshen up after our 4 hour drive before lunch in Bertie's. Both chose turkey roast lunch, which I would describe as poor. Turkey appeared to come from a roll rather than carved from a bird and was a little watery. Vegetables were simply ok. Requested cranberry sauce and was told it had all been eaten by a large group in the bar. Requested stuffing that had apparently been missed off our plates. The Head Waiter returned with a little dish on which was placed a single stuffing ball the size of a small conker, cut in half and asked if we would mind sharing. When we stopped laughing, we were offered complimentary sweets and coffee. The sticky toffee pudding was pleasant, the pannacotta more like a mousse but tasty. Nothing very special about the meal - disappointing as it was my friend's birthday. Stayed in a regal twin room and whilst it was tastefully decorated, it was not very large and there was no space whatsoever between the beds. It was a twin room by virtue of each of us having our own duvet. The bathroom was huge and very impressive with large shower and free standing bath. Shower gel etc supplied. Unfortunately the view from our corner room was ruined by a dumped filing cabinet, toilet and building materials on the grass - accept not a lot could be done with the air con units. Overall disappointed
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from bournemouth

Very nice

Posted Oct 2, 2017
We felt like king and queen.The hotel was marvellous. Beautiful furniture. Comfortable bed. Luxurious bathroom
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Yorkshire

Lovely hotel

Posted Sep 29, 2017
Pros: the atmosphere
Cons: The gardens need a bit of upkeep
Location: Beautiful surroundings, nice little town to wander around
We had a great stay at Ruthin Castle, the staff were very helpful. Our room was lovely with the most comfortable bed we have ever slept in with views from the side of the castle over looking fields and a river. We ate at Berties restaurant which was a la carte style, very nicely presented and very tasty with unusual combinations like basil ice cream. Highly recommend. The grounds are very interesting with the old castle ruins you can look around. Peacocks wander around the grounds. The flower beds could do with a little bit of TLC but over all lovely
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Birmingham UK

Stay while it still has the charm & romance

Posted Sep 29, 2017
Pros: It's age and history. A knocking shop for royalty past , now open for all to smirk at the scandal.
Cons: A battlements walk, or access to them please
Location: Convenient for touring North Wales, Snowdon and the coast and within 45 minutes of Zip world at Blanaeu
A throw back to the 60's and 70's which was built over half a millennium ago, I urge you to stay whilst it's charm and romance are still intact. Faded elegance combined with excellent staff,all of whom were friendly helpful,professional and above all welcoming make Ruthin Castle Hotel one of the best one night stays we've had. Wear your rose tinted spectacles and be wafted back to an era of elegance and service that has all but dissapeared in the Enland. Croeso y Cymru
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Posted Sep 29, 2017
An amazing experience to stay in a castle and so conveniently located close to town.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from north wales

disappointed

Posted Sep 21, 2017
Pros: The grounds
Cons: staff training
Location: N/a
Hotel in dire need of paint and tlc.overall very tired,shame as it is a wonderful building.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from mold flintshire

A tired but interesting place to stay but food not

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Pros: Interesting!
Cons: Better restaurant management
Hotel was ok for a couple of nights. Tired and in need of aome redecoration but interesting, but Bertie's restaurant was a big disappointment with expensive sparse and bland food. Breakfast was average but service was poor.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from swindon

Friendly informative staff.

Posted Sep 8, 2017
Pros: I liked the location as it is actually in the town of Ruthin. I also found the history interesting having just read a book about Jennie Churchill.
Cons: It feels tired in places
Location: Ruthin town, Chester, Llangollen
Good base for walking and visiting places like Chester. Bit miffed that an offer came out with some extra benefits for less money and the hotel would not go any way to match it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from west midlands

Nice x quiet /don't book dinner

Posted Sep 1, 2017
Pros: The character was amusing Being in a real castle. Room was cosy, comfortable X warm Ruthin itself, very quaint village Pretty at night
Cons: Refurbing the paintwork would'nt go amiss I.e the bathroom was a bit tatty on the skirting boards Cost so little for massive improvement!!
Location: Ruthin was quaint , enough shops for browsing Walking round after dinner was nice Did use the big supermarket just outside, Useful,
Everything very nice till we got to dinner Food so rich for us Some people may like it Not our taste! Saying that service was impeccable X breakfast ,really was very good