Ratings based on 185 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NE UK

Not clean. Worst 4star hotel I have ever seen.

Posted Apr 22, 2017
Pros: The fact it was set in a castle.
Cons: Everything.
Location: Location is good.
This place is not maintained to 4 Star level. The whole place is poorly maintained and is not clean. No excuses for filthy bathroom, dirty peeling paintwork and poorly cleaned and hoovered rooms. The spa fascilities were not all working, nor the massage availability, even though plenty empty massage rooms available. Not as described on the internet.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Yorkshire

Outstanding and beautiful

Posted Apr 10, 2017
We booked last minute and had a pleasant surprise when we arrived. This is a spectacular hotel. Reception was quick and friendly. There was a wedding on but we were not disturbed in any way. The grounds and peacock garden were lovely to walk around. It is definitely a romantic location but we were there with our 6 month old baby and he loved it. Staff were very conscientious and we will make this an annual visit.
3 out of 5
by william

Posted Mar 19, 2017 on Hotels
The location is very good but hotel interior and decor is very worn and tired especially corridors and carpets not worth the full asking price Buffet breakfast food was either dry and hard in hot plates or swimming in oil not good
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Castle hotel with spa

Posted Feb 27, 2017 on Hotels
Excellent stay, old Castle charm with terrific staff and service
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 3, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Ruthin Castle. Hopefully we can welcome you back to our hotel in the future. Laura Evans Reservations Coordinator
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Stoke on Trent

Very relaxing hotel

Posted Jan 30, 2017
Pros: The caring attitude of staff.
Cons: possibly more heating in the library
Location: Ruthin is a lovely place, the scenery in the area is beautiful with lovely walks around the castle.
Excellent hotel. Staff were very friendly, food lovely and the rooms were exceptional. I have stayed here twice and look forward to staying here again. Special thanks to Richard on Reception for being so helpful.
5 out of 5
by annemc from Royton

birthday stay

Posted Jan 23, 2017 on Hotels
So chilling could have stayed longer
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 3, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Ruthin Castle, and that it made your birthday stay that extra bit special. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the future. Laura Evans Reservations Coordinator
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from England

The setting was beautiful but the room was damp.

Posted Jan 9, 2017
Pros: The setting and it's beauty.
Cons: Many things. There is a real damp issue.
Location: The location was fine and accessible to other places.
When stepping on the tiles in the smallest bathroom ever water appeared around the edges. There was a fan heater to heat a cold and damp room. The windows were full of condensation and only one opened. The staff were very pleasant. Overall we had a lovely time but the hotel is in need of a renovation. I accept that it is old but the standards were not good enough.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 19, 2016 on Hotels
Excellent day and night highly recommended
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from liverpool

Posted Nov 14, 2016
We enjoyed a long-overdue, relaxing weekend away and were blown away from the second that we drove up the driveway. The castle itself is absolutely stunning, but the main feature for us had to be the staff - every single member of staff that we came across was calm, friendly and extremely welcoming. Thank you all for such a lovely stay!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brecon, Wales

Fantastic indulgent stay at the Castle

Posted Nov 3, 2016
The hotel was an amazing place to stay in. Lots of history behind both the medieval and 19th century castles, which having an interest in meant it was the main draw for me. The amount of structure in tact from the original was great, you really get a feel for the context of the castle, and the later build is impressive in its own right. The grounds are beautiful and well managed, with plenty of exploring available. However, with respect to the hotel I was also pleasantly surprised by how welcoming and accommodating every member of staff was. Nothing was too much bother for them, although we weren't particularly fussy guests. The food was incredible; delicious and well portioned. We had both breakfast and dinner there, and couldn't fault either. Breakfast was a very sensible 7 until 10 am affair, meaning a good chance for a lie in if needed and was well stocked throughout with plated and continental. Dinner was superb and the maitre d of the restaurant was good conversation and well knowledged on the menu. The bedroom was clean and well equipped, but the bed was the highlight. Amazingly comfortable. The Moat spa was great, too. My girlfriend and I had deep tissue massages that were excellent, though be aware that treatments were extra. Use of the thermal suite facilities (hot tub, cold tub, wet and dry saunas) were included in the cost of the room though, and we made good use of them while there. Clean and tidy with very friendly staff. Definitely recommended.