Ratings based on 159 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Guildford

Little Gem ,fantastic service,atmosphere and stay

Posted Jan 18, 2016
The staff were very welcoming when we arrived, breakfast was marvellous , there own eggs , homemade granola and local ingredients. Nothing was too much trouble , very quaint and lots of original features . Would love to stay again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel

Posted Dec 17, 2015
Pros: Cosy and comfortable away from it all.
Cons: Not allowing dogs in the main bar and lounges
Location: Purpose of stay was en-route to family visit so did not have time to appreciate.
one night stay in countryside hotel away from busy towns and cities. Very quiet room despite parties going on in the hotel Only thing to complain about was a dog being allowed into the bar and lounge which barked everytime someone came in. Spoilt the peace and quiet of the evening. Dogs should not be allowed in the main hotel unless they are guide dogs..
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Generally a Good Hotel.

Posted Nov 24, 2015
Pros: Generally clean and tidy.
Cons: Signs required to find the reception desk from the car park area.
Location: Sailing on Rutand Water.
Difficulty finding the reception after parking up in the car park(after dark). No hot water available in handbasin despite running the tap for almost 2 minutes. So had to boil the electric kettle to transfer hot water to handbasin to wash.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent!

Posted Oct 30, 2015
Pros: Everything
I can highly recommend this lovely hotel situation in the heart of stunning countryside. Welcoming staff, lovely room, attractive dining room. Fabulous shower! The evening meal was one of the best i have experienced. I can recommend the steak and all the staff. AAA
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Terence from Crewkerne

Overnight stay

Posted Oct 19, 2015 on Hotels
Very convenient for visiting friends
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 30, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Malcolm G.

Weekend Away

Posted Sep 22, 2015 on HotelClub
Perfect location not far off Rutland Water. Comfortable lounges and well tended gardens. Excellent evening meal, for our anniversary, served by cordial staff. No complaints.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Brian from Leeds

A bit of charm

Posted Sep 19, 2015 on Hotels
Even though we only stayed overnight we were impressed with the hotel and its surroundings. Old world outside - modern inside. Breakfast was good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by richard m.

super overnight stay

Posted Sep 19, 2015 on RatesToGo
Very comfortable, staff very pleasant, helpful and efficient + they all had a smile ! Room impressive, food delicious.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from North West

Lovely hotel, time for an update

Posted Sep 11, 2015
Pros: Parking, Bar, seating area off the bar and the conservatory restaurant and sitting area. Cleaning of room was excellent. Waiting on staff - good
Cons: Mattresses and furniture in bedroom.
Location: Barnsdale Gardens, falcon centre, Oakham, Rutland Water - Rutland Belle.
Hotel was very nice, but the room we stayed in is in need of an update, furniture showing signs of wear and tear. Mattresses need to be changed - we had a twin room - one mattress was hard and the other must have been the one that most people used as it was very saggy. The conservatory and seating areas are lovely. Only grumble that we had regarding breakfast was that there should be a choice between smoked or unsmoked back bacon.