Ratings based on 183 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from surrey

No nonsense luxury!

Posted Nov 3, 2016
Pros: Great location for birdwatching at Rutland Water. Great food. Comfortable bed.
Cons: Nothing. Everything was perfect. ......strange woman talking loudly on her mobile phone in the bar though! This detracted from enjoying our nightcap in the bar!
Location: Really enjoyed visiting Rutland Water Nature Reserve nearby.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good hotel although a tad pricey

Posted Sep 24, 2016
Pros: Ambience Food Staff
Cons: Room comfort Temperature control Ice and fridge in room
Great stay with excellent buffet breakfast Room was quiet although a bit too hot and no air con! Friendly staff and very welcoming
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

A GEM of a hotel!

Posted Sep 14, 2016
As can be seen from our ratings of the various aspects of our stay, everything was very nice indeed, including the excellent food and the service in the restaurant. We were also surprised and delighted to find in arrival to our room two doggie beds, feeding/drinking bowls and 'treats' for our two dogs - we would recommend this hotel to anybody and everybody and will definitely return.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Barnsdale Lodge

Posted Sep 2, 2016 on Hotels
Lovely tranquil location, comfy room and excellent breakfast. Walking distance to Rutland Water. Close to lovely Barnsdale Gardens.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Very peaceful

Posted Aug 22, 2016
Very relaxing and nice too get out of the city, check in was smooth and welcoming and the room was very nice with great views
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kettering

Nice hotel in the country

Posted Aug 20, 2016
Very nice stay enjoyed the garden staff were very helpful.
5 out of 5
by Sean from Sharnbrook

Charming Rutland hotel

Posted Aug 18, 2016 on Hotels
Great location for exploring Rutland water. Very helpful and friendly staff made it very welcoming. Good service throughout.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great stay - highly recommend

Posted Aug 18, 2016 on Hotels
one night, travelling south. Great stop-over. Excellent food - both dinner and breakfast
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Nottingham

Beautiful hotel close to Rutland Water

Posted Aug 1, 2016
Pros: It was in a beautiful & quiet location, there were no problems parking, breakfast was delicious and plentiful!
Location: A short drive to Rutland Water, where we had a lovely walk, and watched the boats, and then the following day explored the beautiful town of Stamford.
The hotel was in a great location for Rutland Water/ Stamford/Oakham.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Average value for money, excellent hospitality

Posted Jul 26, 2016 on Hotels
We booked a superior room and were slightly disappointed with the dated decor. The carpets were past their best and the sofa was stained which is annoying given that the hotel owners otherwise try their best to provide a quality experience.. powerful shower, all the extras you expect of a 4 star room such as all toiletries and complementary bottled water. The building, grounds and gardens are lovely though and breakfast was good but can't help feeling the room was overpriced and in need of redecoration. Location great for walking and cycling and the bar is good with two local ales on tap. We played croquet on the croquet lawn whilst enjoying beer from the bar in the evening.