Ratings based on 20 Verified Reviews

3.2 out of 5
64% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing experience.

Posted Mar 5, 2017
Short and sweet.Amazing and friendly staff. Great room with a beautiful view. Excellent experience. Would highly recommended.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Decent

Posted Dec 13, 2016 on Hotels
Nice setting, good rooms, food was good, breatfast OK.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 12, 2016 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointment this time

Posted Dec 7, 2016 on Hotels
I have stayed here a few times before so i thought I knew what to expect. Previously I had booked standard rooms and been delighted with the room and the service. For my birthday with my new partner I booked a superior room this time. The room offered on arrival was the smallest double I have seen here and in the annexe. When queried I was told it was a superior room. The discussion then evolved around my previous visits and I was informed that I had been upgraded. Strangely no mention had been made at the time that I bad been upgraded. The hotel rack rates make no mention of a superior room. Breakfast here has also deteriorated with tardy service and reduced quality items on the hot breakfast buffet. Noticeably cheap sausages did nothing fir the experience. Eventually after much discussion another and indeed better room was offered. All in all an unpleasant experience. Having stayed at other hotels in the locale I cannot any longer recommend this hotel. Avoid if you can there are better ones available at the time of this submission.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice, but could be better

Posted Nov 29, 2016 on Hotels
Was disappointed. Stayed here a few years ago and was very impressed. It's a gem of a hotel and in an amazing location, but felt it had gone downhill a bit. It was fine - staff good, location great, food good, hotel generally nice - just feels like it needs a bit of TLC and some money spent on it, as this hotel should be amazing.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Small friendly hotel on the shores of Rutland Wate

Posted Nov 28, 2016 on Hotels
Rooms basic but clean. Staff friendly.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Friendly staff and amazing food!

Posted Nov 14, 2016 on Hotels
Nice hotel - staff friendly and food was really nice.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely setting

Posted Nov 14, 2016
Beautiful location, but disappointed by customer service - had to ask many questions to find out basic information like what time was breakfast, where would that be... General look of the place was not great although originally a beautiful building. It looked like it needed a renovation as everything was a bit shoddy. Had sandwiches in bar which were tasty and reasonable price. Breakfast food was ok, although felt it had been there from early morning and just kept warm.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Darlington

A very pleasant, peaceful retreat!

Posted Oct 28, 2016
Location: The hotel is situated on the edge of the lake and it is so peaceful! Great for walks but also close to lovely villages and the town of Stamford.
The room was ideal for the purpose-we had our dog with us and our room had direct access to the outside of the building and also the lovely grounds and walks by the lake. However there is a definite lack of doggy bins! Dogs are also allowed in the lounge/bar but not the restaurant. We chose to eat in the lovely restaurant the first evening. However, although the food was very nice the food on the menu is a little expensive. But on the whole the hotel is lovely and would recommend it for a short break.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Sep 26, 2016
Hotel is in bad need of a refurbishment, but the location is beautiful and the staff couldn't have been more helpful.