Ratings based on 13 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.9 out of 5
62% of guests recommend
3.1 Room cleanliness
3.1 Service & staff
2.8 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely setting

Posted Nov 14, 2016
Beautiful location, but disappointed by customer service - had to ask many questions to find out basic information like what time was breakfast, where would that be... General look of the place was not great although originally a beautiful building. It looked like it needed a renovation as everything was a bit shoddy. Had sandwiches in bar which were tasty and reasonable price. Breakfast food was ok, although felt it had been there from early morning and just kept warm.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Darlington

A very pleasant, peaceful retreat!

Posted Oct 28, 2016
Location: The hotel is situated on the edge of the lake and it is so peaceful! Great for walks but also close to lovely villages and the town of Stamford.
The room was ideal for the purpose-we had our dog with us and our room had direct access to the outside of the building and also the lovely grounds and walks by the lake. However there is a definite lack of doggy bins! Dogs are also allowed in the lounge/bar but not the restaurant. We chose to eat in the lovely restaurant the first evening. However, although the food was very nice the food on the menu is a little expensive. But on the whole the hotel is lovely and would recommend it for a short break.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Sep 26, 2016
Hotel is in bad need of a refurbishment, but the location is beautiful and the staff couldn't have been more helpful.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from warwickshire

Hotel on stunning location

Posted Jun 10, 2016
Stayed one night on week end break. Nice hotel our room was newly decorated and carpeted but a little small which didn't matter for 1 night. Food was OK but rather pricy in the resteraunt, despite being few people dining we were not asked if we wanted coffee or anything else at the end of the meal and the staff seemed to have disappeared so we adjourned to the bar. The location on the lakeside is superb and the grounds very pleasant but our stay was marred by a coach load of Chinese tourists who seemed to take over the place and had a loud karaoke session until midnight which could be clearly heard in our room. Be aware the reception is unmanned from 10pm We would happily return to the hotel but not when there is a function on, the staff on checkout said they would advise anyone who booked as to whether there was or not so if you want a quiet break I advise you do so
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hampshire

Great location poor service

Posted May 9, 2016
Good location, unfortunately the staff were not very helpful or happy. We had a dirty towel, a window that wouldn't open and a shower that had no pressure. Hotel did offer a small refund when we commented on these things however for the cost of a nights stay I would have expected a better service.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from leicestershire

Lovely setting

Posted Apr 20, 2016
Was there for a wedding surrondings are beautiful room were confortable but could do with new decor didnt think room was worth 100 per night your defferantly paying for the views breakfast was very dry and you had to help yourself it would hav been nice to be waited on
4 out of 5
by Justin Time

Overnight stop

Posted Nov 30, 2015 on Ebookers
Upon arrival I was given my room key. Staff were very helpful and extremely courteous . In bar area was a huge lcd TV and an open log fire. Food was amazing and good value! Service was faultless. Room comfort was compromised only by the lack of a working heater! Bathroom was ok as was the bedding. I checked out before breakfast so handed key to night porter. Very well worth the stay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Adequate for our purpose

Posted Oct 29, 2015
Pros: Convenient location
Cons: Maintenance should repair the toilet
Location: Lovely location for a visit to Rutland water.
The room was small but adequate for our purpose and price we paid. The toilet had a leak and was running all night.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Leeds

Okay if you like to sleep with the light on

Posted Sep 27, 2015
Pros: The location
Cons: Removal of green light
This hotel is okay in most respects. Until you turn the light off to go to sleep. A large green light in the ceiling is permantly on, apparently to illuminate the fire exit (the bedroom door). This light is sufficient to be able to see everything in the room almost immediately - no need for your eyes to become accostomed to the dark. I called reception to ask how it could be turned off. I was told it was for the fire exit and a health and saftey issue, therefore nothing they could do. So to everyone reading this that has ever stayed in a hotel before - how many times have you seen this?! I know I haven't. A ridiculous take on health and saftey requirements. Did not make for a good nights sleep
4 out of 5
by Susiewoosie

Excellent value

Posted Nov 26, 2014 on Ebookers
For a one night stop-over en route to Yorkshire this fitted the bill beautifully. Ease of access to Rutland Water would make it great for a longer break, especially if you like cycling or walking but can't cope with hilly terrain. We only had time for a short stroll, which led to a little Italian restaurant overlooking the reservoir - tasty minestrone soup with Italian bread for lunch. Would be interesting to try dinner there some time. We actually dined at the hotel's own "Clock" restaurant - a lovely, cosy setting for an excellent meal with good service. The hotel's receptionist, whose name unfortunately I can't recall, achieved the perfect balance between friendliness and professionalism.