Ratings based on 38 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
64% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Centrally placed traditional hotel

Posted Aug 10, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Refurbishment of bedroom and corridor
Location: Central Local shops. Cafes. Restaurants Close to Rutland water
Room small quiet Bar food good value didn't use restaurant Cute outside area Very good location
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from North Yorkshire

Town centre hotel with parking

Posted Jul 22, 2016
An excellent place to stay right in the middle of the market place. Friendly and helpful staff. The hotel has its own private car park very close by. For those who dislike the false bonhomie of the larger hotel chains, with their cloned rooms and cloned staff, and want somewhere with character, this would be a good choice.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lincolnshire

What a lovely town

Posted Jul 3, 2016
Pros: The town
Cons: Bathroom in need of updating
Location: Walk around Oakham itself, through the park with the bandstand past the castle will pass an enjoyable hour or 2.
Walk around Oakham it is a lovely old town, a castle, buttercross', old buildings all areas spotlessly clean. There are also some lovely outlying villages. Rutland is well worth a short visit. The hotel was also very old, the staff were wonderful, but the rooms could do with a little updating. 1 Bugbear, we booked through Expedia and paid £89 at the end presented with a bill for £64 it was obviously a mistake which was soon rectified but shows the mark-up by booking on the internet. We had a couple of drinks in the bar and ate at the George restaurant, though not exceptional was ok and reasonable if you have a tastecard..
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Lovely market town hotel with great breakfast

Posted Jan 17, 2016
Pros: Room, breakfast and staff all lovely.
Cons: A bit more attention to detail on hidden areas of cleaning(perhaps overdue a deep clean although not enough to complain about).
Location: In the centre of Oakham, nice little market town with good access to Rutland Water, Leicestershire countryside and other local market towns.
Very good hotel, lovely big room with seating area and massive bathroom, comfy beds. Customer service was excellent as was the breakfast and the breakfast waitress was lovely, nothing too much trouble.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 2, 2015 on Hotels
Overall, we liked the hotel which had a certain charm to it. The staff were polite and helpful. The hotel did fail badly in two respects, however: first of all, the carpet in our room was extraordinarily stained and dirty. Secondly, we were kept awake until 3.30am by the noise from a wedding party (by music from the wedding itself until 11.30pm, and then by a noisy guests' afterparty in a room underneath ours). I went out of the room to see what was going on, and found the room of the 'party room' wide open, with a spliff lying in the communal hallway... When I managed to get through to the night porter (the internal phone was not working) they managed to stop the noise very quickly thereafter. I filled in a guest feedback questionnaire as we left the hotel the following morning, commenting that it would have been nice to have been told about the wedding at the time of booking. The (very polite) manager has since emailed me stating that the wedding booking post-dated ours (this would seem to be a very last-minute wedding booking given that we had only booked ourselves three weeks prior to our stay), but it still begs the question of why we weren't given a different room, or told about the wedding and given the option to cancel prior to our arrival?
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 15, 2015 on Hotels
The staff were wonderful and the room was clean but the hotel has seen better days. Also, my room didn't have a shower which isn't great for a business trip.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A little tired - but with fluffy towels

Posted Aug 23, 2015 on Hotels
Positives - big fluffy towels, nice breakfast served by happy and smiling chap. Comfortable sleep. Negatives - our room and the public areas are a little "tired" and in need of refurbishment. No shower in our room, just an attachment on bath taps so difficult to wash hair. Felt room rate was a little high for current standard of this hotel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from london

comfortable

Posted May 11, 2015
Pros: friendly atmosphere
Cons: while booking the hotel I was told that one room will have a balcony . room 2 will be a double room with single occupancy. none of this was true
Location: burley hose is nearby
staff very helpful good breakfast. cosy place Near to facilities. GOOD HEATING SYSTEM
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Beijing, China

Quiet and Relaxing Hotel in Convenient Area

Posted Apr 28, 2015
Pros: Room, Staff and Restaurant
Cons: Parking, the lot was full and several cars were from non hotel guests. I found it difficult to park my car on several occassions.
The Whipper Inn is a perfect place to unwind, relax and enjoy the piece and quiet. It has the rustic charm of an old inn, yet has many of the modern amenities you would expect from a chain hotel. My room was spaceous, clean and comfortable. The staff was very polite and helpful. The restaurant had very good food served in more than generous quantities. I highly recommend the Whipper Inn.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

excellent

Posted Nov 18, 2014 on Hotels
Excellent