Ratings based on 49 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
56% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very disappointed.

Posted Apr 22, 2017 on Hotels
Second time staying at the Hotel, thought we would try again. Breakfast was lovely.Sadly the service after 10.30 at night is terrible we tried to get a drink from the bar and was ignored by gentleman who was more intersted in cashing up.The room was really not up to standard the bathroom looked like it had not been cleaned properly for a long time- cobwebs, dust and hair all around the toilet and the pedalstall for the basin.The headboard on the bed was disgusting stained and very dirty.Towel rail in the bathroom was extremely hot I burnt my leg on it and to wrap a towel round it so that it wasn't repeated there are warning signs, but we felt this was a hazard that should and needs to be adressed. The shower was awful no pressure and was more like a tap than a shower. So did not use in the end had to wash hair and body the old fashioned way from the sink!! Sadly having given it a second chance we won't be going back for a third.When leaving we went to hand the keys and was asked to pay for the room all over again they had no record from Hotel.com that we had prepaid, I had to leave a copy of confirmation Email with them to prove we had paid.We are really upset because the hotel has the potential to be really good as the location is great.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Don't stay at this hotel!!!!

Posted Apr 16, 2017 on Hotels
We were extremely disapointed and to be honest disgusted with the hotel. The bed was very very poor condition. The staff were uninterested in our comments. On arrival the receptionist was in a bad mood. (Although she did say she is normally happy) that didn't help our initial opinion. It makes us think we would not want to use hotels.com again. We have used hotels.com more than 25 times, this is the worst hotel/room we have ever experienced!!!! We got no sleep, we are currently renovating our house and living in a caravan and wanted to go away and spoil ourselves with a proper bed and room. We wish we had stayed at home.
2 out of 5
by David

Needs renovation desperately

Posted Apr 14, 2017 on Hotels
1st room... not been cleaned from previous occupants. 2nd room...twin room for my wife and I, booked double. 3rd room... 1 lamp from 3 working. Only other light in room near entrance door. Taps on the sink turned the wrong way. Thought they were stuck until the tap top came off in my hand! Quickly screwed it back on. This building is a stunning period property BUT it desperately requires renovation. The building however does not reflect the staff who were very apologetic and welcoming. Got nothing but good reports from friends who stayed in the admiral hornblower just down the road
4 out of 5
by Caroline

Posted Mar 31, 2017 on Hotels
Friendly welcome at an excellent location for a pleasant wander around Oakham.
4 out of 5
by Jim from North West England

Market Town

Posted Mar 30, 2017 on Hotels
Overall value for money was reasonable. Room was slightly tired which is fine and adds to character of a charming setting but the bed could really do with replacing. If a room is clean and comfortable throughout decor is not an issue. Great location in a market town and close to Rutland Water. Bar and restaurant were quiet but there are plenty of options within a couple of minutes walk. I would recommend asking for a room on the top floor of 2 as the floorboards are a bit creaky and I was disturbed by movement in the room above. Overall worth staying at the price but could be better.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hornchurch

Posted Mar 30, 2017
Pros: Our evening meal was good and served by a pleasant young lady.
Had asked if we could book in three quarters of an hour early, no problem we were told. On arriving we were then informed we hadn't got an en suite because there wasn't time to get the room ready. Nothing had been said previously.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Weekender

Posted Feb 22, 2017
Nice little hotel, in a nice location. Booking in was fine, the room door was very tricky to unlock. The room could have been fresher, the radiator in the bedroom area was not working, There was a small space heater in the room but that failed on the Saturday. Saturday breakfast was good and good service and plenty of choice. The early hours of 11/02/17 sleep was bent interrupted due to night staff running around the hotel. Sunday breakfast was not as good as Saturday's and the service was not as it should have been. Made a complaint to reception about the night staff keeping the hotel awake, the young guy on reception apologise and said the hotel manager would be in contact by email win an apology. Still waiting!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Nottingham

Good food, but .....

Posted Feb 14, 2017
Pros: Food was good, both the evening meal and the cooked breakfast
Cons: Some members of staff! Should ensure that everything is kept topped up at breakfast guests should not have to keep asking for things
Location: Good location in centre of town so can easily walk to shops, other bars & restaurants
Had a weekend (2 night) stay. We had booked en-suite and courtyard view. When arrived at room, it was FREEZING! Played around with controls on radiator but no heat coming through. Was not courtyard view,looked out onto main market place and not en-suite- found bathroom just along corridor, which did state that it was for our room sole use but not happy. At this point we were so cold, had still not taken our coats off. Went to Reception, only other available room was four-poster, still overlooking market, but was warm and had en-suite so we took that. Ate in hotel that night, food very good and the guy (Billy?) serving in bar/restaurant was great. Breakfast next morning was also good and again the (different) guy serving was very good/attentive/accommodating. However, that day, room was not made up and coffee/milk sachets in room were not replenished, so popped to local shop and bought jar of coffee and carton of milk! Ate elsewhere in town that night. Next (last) morning, breakfast was very different to the previous day's experience: the girl serving was not interested. No milk on tables for drinks, had to go to buffet table to use that which was out for cereals. Another guest asked if they did small jugs of milk for the table, she said 'no', but we had them the day before. She brought our coffee in a teapot, was barely warm so asked for fresh coffee. The second lot was undrinkable as tasted burnt. Had to ask for bowls, plates & butter.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Should be better for the price.

Posted Dec 12, 2016 on Hotels
No bracket for the shower, so have to hold the shower head in one hand to shower. Really creaky floors - woke me up repeatedly. Friendly breakfast staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nottinghamshire

Pleasant Weekend

Posted Oct 25, 2016 on Ebookers
Nice and central for town centre and also for exploring other villages etc. Hotel staff were very friendly and helpful Emma was the star employee nothing was to much for her and she could not do enough to help.The food in restaurant was excellent breakfast could have been a little better but still ok. Only complaint if any was the cleanness of our room bath had a wring round it and taps were not cleaned second morning. All in all we will be returning to same hotel as soon as my wife and I want another relaxing break.