Ratings based on 18 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Hampshire, UK

Excellent pub with superlative dining

Posted May 3, 2016
Pros: The owner's wife was most welcoming.
Cons: The hot water flow for the bath - took 25 minutes to run!!
Location: Sailing, walking, sightseeing.
Our hosts were charming, the fare outstanding and the area beautiful and quiet.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Herts

this is a return visit for us

Posted Oct 12, 2015
Pros: Everything, we return whenever we need to unwind.
Location: beautiful local countryside, Rutland water stunning.
Fab staff, food and really comfy rooms Nothing is too much trouble. prices very good for the quality of the room and food
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 28, 2015
Set in a beautiful area, with some ancient stone built cottages and mature trees as a backdrop, it was a refreshing change to the standard hotels we've also stayed in. The hotel structure and atmosphere is very old world and the staff extremely helpful. The Granary Suite was comfortable and spacious, with all the usual facilities: Flat screen TV, tea making facilities and a largish bathroom, although the shower was quite slow to get to temperature. Our full English breakfast in the morning was of high quality, with all the ingredients home grown. We even bought a jar of homemade jam before leaving.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect little village 5 miles from Rutland water

Posted Aug 1, 2015
Best food and really nice and helpful staff. I would recommend it to everyone
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brisbane, a

Great hotel in a quiet village

Posted Jul 12, 2015
Pros: Very comfortable, excellent staff, great food.
Location: Rutland Water and all its facilities is nearby and Oakham museum is worth a visit.
When we booked we thought the hotel was in Oakham but it is several miles out - ok if you are travelling by car but we were cycling. However, the reception and assistance we received from staff was second to none and we got some extra exercise cycling to Oakham.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sussex

Conveniently pleasant B&B

Posted Jul 7, 2015
Pros: The property was a quirky pub with rooms at the rear, and which served excellent meals.
Cons: It was inconvenient that the pub closed for dinner on Sunday evenings. We and friends had to take 2 taxis, 5 miles to eat. Not simple in rural areas.
Location: Located in a small pretty village not far from Stamford, a beautiful town which contains the stately home of Burghley House. Rutland Water is close by
We were staying for a couple of nights to celebrate a 50th wedding anniversary party that was held in a house virtually opposite our B&B, which was incredibly convenient. Rooms were relatively simple, but clean, comfortable and with room for a sofa. Staff at reception, dinner and breakfast were friendly, helpful and efficient.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Visiting Rutland for along Weekend

Posted Jun 29, 2015
Pros: Food but not forgetting the staff and accommodation. Good selection of well kept real ale. A landlord who knows how to look after beer.
Cons: Nothing springs to mind
Location: A must visit is Rutland Water
Visiting for a wedding. The Kings Arms was recommended by the Bride and Groom. A convenient central location from which to visit the area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kent

So much going for it

Posted May 11, 2015
Pros: Amazing food Really friendly caring staff
Cons: Hot water on tap
Location: Beautiful countryside all around
Such a lovely area A beautiful village A great village pub, fantastic food, with ideal rooms on site Just No hot water at 8am when you want shower, and I mean nothing coming out of the tap! Such a shame, sure it wouldn't take much of a fix
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Burlington, ON

Country Pub with Rooms and great food

Posted Nov 30, 2014
A rural country pub with both rooms for rent and a focus on locally sourced food. We stayed one night in the Damson room which had ensuite bath and shower. Heated towel racks, which are another plus. Comfortable queen bed, couch and TV in room. Wifi was included which always gets a high ranking from me. Breakfast was an additional 10 pounds per person and very good. Lots of parking.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Kings lynn

Quiet rural area.

Posted Sep 11, 2014
Pros: Great locals in the bar and good range of proper beers!
Cons: Consistency of the food standards and start to look at and offering interesting veggie options.
Location: Perfect for all of Rutland Water, sailing, walking bird watching
Granary small but ok. Bathroom tight and plumbing interesting. Great menu if you are not veggie! No veggie option on the al carte menu. Veggie lasagne was over rich and too much tomato purée . Disappointing! Meat dishes were great! Breakfast could not have been cooked by the same chief. Over cooked and very disappointing. Not worth the extra £10 per person.