Ratings based on 35 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bedford

Old fashioned 17th century in good location

Posted May 30, 2017
Lovely old worldy pub/inn, loved that every room was different with its own character! Beers were kept alright, food was alright (not expensive either!) and breakfast in the morning was good too. The landlady was very accommodating, really couldn't fault her as she booked our taxis for us, gave us a choice of breakfast times (even towards noon on Sunday which was good after a heavy night before!) and Fudge the lovely pub dog but I don't think she actually lives there, she was just a dog in a pub. The only drawback was the pub was so well built being 17th century that as soon as you step into the building, phone signal disappears and the wifi signal didn't make it to our room...but a tiny grumble for what was a lovely stay
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nottingham

Lovely hotel for great price

Posted May 29, 2017
Lovely hotel for great price. Very friendly and helpful landlady who went out if her way to assist. Very flexible in terms of checking in as well which I was grateful for. Would definitely stay here again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Basic bed and breakfast

Posted May 23, 2017
A basic bed and breakfast - clean, quiet and reasonably priced. I'm not sure I'd go back though.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Trafford, PA, USA

Small Village Inn, Right in the Heart of Town

Posted May 7, 2017
The staff were super nice and friendly. The room was small, with 2 twin beds, but it was super cozy and comfortable to be in there when we were. In the heart of Uppingham, RIGHT around the corner from the Town Centre and Marketplace, with pubs, restaurants, shops and bus stops within a few minutes walk. We were in town visiting family and friends who live a 10-15 minutes walk from town centre, so we were constantly on the go, so this Inn was right where we needed to be. I will definitely be trying to book with The Crown Inn again next time I go visit Uppingham!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Friendly and accommodating for special diet

Posted Apr 20, 2017
Very impressed with the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff. The landlady made sure I had lots for breakfast despite needing it to be gluten free. Very flexible with check in and check out times. Thank-you for a lovely stay!
4 out of 5
by Gary

Maybe priced a bit too high !!

Posted Feb 12, 2017 on Hotels
Very nice for such an old building.. Great service and lovely breakfast.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Would definitely stay again.

Posted Sep 22, 2016 on Hotels
Very nice stay and well priced. Comfortable bar with a landlady that couldn't do enough for you.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kent

Lovely old Pub.

Posted Sep 12, 2016
Pros: We had a nice evening meal and a delicious breakfast. Everyone was very friendly.
We had a great stay. The staff were really friendly and extremely helpful. They had a band playing in the evening which was great.
5 out of 5
by Lin from Uppingham

Birthday

Posted Jul 16, 2016 on Hotels
Booked to attend Burleigh Prom for 21st.My son and his girlfriend loved there stay in this beautifullv17th century public house.Owners let them book in early was shown to room .Slept beautifully.The. Breakfast was lovely will be recommending a lovely place to stay in Uppingham and reasonable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Shetland

Lovely old English pub hotel.

Posted Jul 14, 2016
Pros: Character of the building, friendly helpful staff, free off road parking. Local Music and the old pub atmosphere.
Cons: They were a bit short staffed, but this did not adversely affect our stay in any way. The lady manager? did everything, cooking, bar, very efficiently
Location: Uppingham, wool shops! Walks and cycle tracks around Rutland water. We were visiting family so were not really looking for things to do.
This hotel is a lovely old English pub/inn. The building is old and full of character, low beams, wonky floors and steep sloping stairs. The room was immaculately clean and the bed firm and comfortable, ensuite with shower was everything expected. Really enjoyed our two night stay, staff were extremely accommodating and helpful. Loved the friendly pub atmosphere and had the added bonus of a band playing one of the nights we stayed! Would definitely stay again and recommend to anyone.