Ratings based on 25 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Shetland

Lovely old English pub hotel.

Posted Jul 14, 2016
Pros: Character of the building, friendly helpful staff, free off road parking. Local Music and the old pub atmosphere.
Cons: They were a bit short staffed, but this did not adversely affect our stay in any way. The lady manager? did everything, cooking, bar, very efficiently
Location: Uppingham, wool shops! Walks and cycle tracks around Rutland water. We were visiting family so were not really looking for things to do.
This hotel is a lovely old English pub/inn. The building is old and full of character, low beams, wonky floors and steep sloping stairs. The room was immaculately clean and the bed firm and comfortable, ensuite with shower was everything expected. Really enjoyed our two night stay, staff were extremely accommodating and helpful. Loved the friendly pub atmosphere and had the added bonus of a band playing one of the nights we stayed! Would definitely stay again and recommend to anyone.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from S

Cosy retreat Rutland

Posted Jun 27, 2016
Lovely, welcoming staff helped us arrange a taxi to the wedding we were going to. Very accommodating and much recommended!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from y

Posted Mar 22, 2016
Pros: Friendly staff anc comfortable ambience.
Pleasant hotel in the center of Uppingham. Exceptionally helpful and cheerful staff. Comfortable and clean room and superb breakfast. Deserves to be better known.
3 out of 5
by Jan

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 12, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Helen from Ashby de la Zouch

Posted Oct 28, 2015 on Hotels
An excellent pub B&B. The owner was welcoming & friendly. Great quality beds and an excellent breakfast.
5 out of 5
by Alasdair from Leeds

Just right!

Posted Aug 13, 2015 on Hotels
Perfectly situated in UPPINGHAM which is a beautiful little place. Quaint & very old inn. Parking out the back. Owners looked after me superbly especially when requiring a late night drink!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice and friendly

Posted Jul 22, 2015
It was a nice place to stay for a short time. Great staff and a good room. Only issue was noise, as its above a pub, which is to be expected so can't complain.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 25, 2015
On arrival there was no record of any booking for us so not a good start we ended up in a double room instead of a twin we had booked in February so have no idea what happened . room very clean . bed comfy. Breakfast good .
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Far better places to stay for similar price

Posted May 23, 2015 on Hotels
We could not stay Room had been painted and very strong smell. My partner and I could not breathe properly
4 out of 5
by hexhamlass from hexham, northumberland

Nice stop in traditional pub

Posted Jan 28, 2014 on Hotels
Lovely pub, nice atmosphere, room well equipped with toiletries, water, fruit, tea, coffee & biscuits. Good food, nice breakfast. All good quality ingredients. Other places close by to eat if you want somewhere other than your accommodation to use. Would definitely stay again.